We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location.... friendly Manager”
Review of Hotel Mounia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mounia
Ranked #67 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Mounia in December 2013. We arrived on my birthday and they had arranged a little cake and a simple upgraded room for us, which was very sweet. The location of the hotel isn't excellent.... The area around the hotel is "rough".... we had an altercation with what I assume was a homeless man.
The manager at the hotel, Mr. Mohammed, was so so sweet and beyond helpful! He felt horrible about the incident and offered us a nice dinner and did all that he could to help us rectify the situation.
The hotel itself was clean and quiet, the bar was decent and most of the staff were very friendly.

It was annoying that you had to pay a fee for wifi however... which was only accessible in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here because we got into Fes late one night and it was an option close to the CTM bus station. We are giving it such a low score because the service and amenities are far below what you would expect for the price. The staff were ok although they made my partner and I feel uncomfortable about sharing a bed. The room was clean but was shoddy with power plugs that didn't work, a clunky and loud air conditioner, loud buzzing noise in bathroom that didn't stop even when everything was turned off, we could hear the dance music downstairs quite loudly when we went to bed, breakfast was pretty average and they charge extra for wifi which could only be used in the lobby. Room was advertised as having satellite tv but only got two fuzzy channels. This room was the most we have payed in morocco and we thought we would splash out on a fancy hotel night, but it has been the worst place we have stayed so far. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessieandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

In details on the lobby walls and ceilings are amazing. My bedroom on the second floor was quite roomy, but I could hear people talking on the road. Breakfast was too simple for my liking; a variety of bread, scramble eggs, juice, tea and coffee. Wi-Fi is available for free in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

They do, and that's quite sad, since they place was very pretty, but you don't expect to pay extra for this if the hotel is expensive enough, we had to get the free wifi from a nearby hotel. The breakfast was good, but the whole reception smells like smoke, since it is allowed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DonCesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a good tourist class hotel well located in Fez.

The customer service of hotel staff is very poor, they don't get Western expectations, but that's OK, just deal with and move on.

The rooms are simple, but clean. The breakfast is adequate.

We were there for NYE and they put on a good night complete with entertainment. I thought it was a good effort.

NB: smoking is ubiquitous in Morocco and it drifts into the rooms from the bar which is a bit awful.

Anyway, this is not 5 star but more than adequate for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Front desk staff not terribly helpful. Breakfast - well they ran out of cups for tea with still an hour to go until breakfast finished. Poor heating systems and they clearly don't trust their patrons as they keep the reverse-cycled air con/heating at the front desk, not helpful on a cold winter night when you need to heat the room! While they had cards stating that the hotel had been renovated and refurbished, it's a relative term. As for wanting to purchase items of their decor - forget it.

But hey, it was clean enough and you have to be flexible and just go with the flow and adapt when required. Not everything's the same as home, otherwise, why come!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this fun spot while in Fes - By far the nicest place we stayed in Morocco. I am rating this excellent for Moroccan standards, not American or European. We thought Mounia was quaint, comfortable and beautifully decorated with a nice buffet breakfast. If you are an open-minded, adaptable traveler in search of authentic experiences in charming venues you will do beautifully here. If you are more fussy or are expecting luxury you probably should go someplace else and leave this darling little place to the rest of us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which was nice. It was fun to watch the street life from our windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiperAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#85 of 101 in Fes
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#91 of 101 in Fes
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zahrat al Jabal
Zahrat al Jabal
#78 of 101 in Fes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#79 of 101 in Fes
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#75 of 101 in Fes
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arena Fes
Hotel Arena Fes
#70 of 101 in Fes
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mounia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounia

Address: 60 Rue Zerktouni, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mounia 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mounia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing