We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Fes Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Roumana
Ranked #10 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Fes Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent a lovely week in Fes, staying at Dar Roumana the entire time. The riad is beautifully appointed and the service is first class. We also dined there several nights and each time had a wonderful meal (including one specially made for our queasy stomachs). Well done Jen, Vanessa and Vincent and staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    25
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
212
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Dar Roumana is exquisite. Our family of six arrived after two nights in the desert and a 10-hour drive. To say that it was an oasis for six motley and weary travelers is an understatement! The dar opened in 2006 after painstaking restoration by its American owner; no detail was overlooked. We took three of the five rooms, each of which was beautiful and luxurious. Two of them overlooked the beautiful center courtyard. Manager Vanessa couldn't do enough for us. She welcomed us warmly and was a font of information. The dar is located in a quiet section of the old Medina, a short walk from the main souks. We stayed four nights, and each day we looked forward to returning to our beautiful refuge after the intensity of the Medina. The rooftop terrace has a jaw-dropping view of the Medina. We loved having breakfast there as well as a glass of Moroccan wine before dinner. I am very particular about where we stay when we travel; believe me, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Vanessa and staff for an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Every room is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Sawan, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

A night in the beautifully and painstakingly restored Dar Roumana, with elegant rooms and some of the best service we have ever received, is something everyone should experience!!!
Manager Vanessa is warm, friendly, professional and a fountain of knowledge about Fes and local culture. The Moroccan staff feel like part of the family and whilst you arrive feeling like Moroccan royalty in the plush surroundings you'll leave feeling like old friends.
If relaxing in your sumptuous room, decorated with astute attention to detail, isn't enough you can relax in one of the many communal spaces. Enjoy a mint tea by the fountain in the courtyard, cuddle up by the fire, retire to the TV room, curl up with a book in the library or enjoy the calls to prayer ringing out over the ancient medina from the roof terrace. High end budget-wise but worth every penny. We can't recommend this place highly enough- and we haven't even mentioned the amazing breakfast or the French chef!
We really loved this place and can't recommend it enough. I felt like a princess! Wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Dar Roumana, I knew we'd made the right decision! We walked through a rather ordinary door to find the most extraordinary Dar, restored beautifully throughout and every bit the Moroccan dream I'd hoped for. Our ground floor room was vast, beautifully decorated, super clean and luxurious. I was completely blown away and then we made it up to the rooftop - the view left me speechless! It must be the best view in Fez!

The service, wifi, breakfasts and atmosphere was the best we had in Morocco, if not our entire 3 month trip through India, Turkey and Morocco. That is quite something!

What made our stay most memorable though were the hosts Vanessa and Vincent. They are warm, welcoming and go beyond what is expected of any hosts. Vanessa taught us so much about the region and recommended countless experiences, restaurants and places of interest that we would never have discovered without her. So not only was our stay in Dar Roumana fabulous, but every time we stepped out to discover the area, our experience was beyond what the normal 'traveler' might have seen. For that we were incredibly grateful!

I'm honestly counting down the days until we get back, as Dar Roumana feels like a 'home' in Fez that I will continue to revisit.

Thank you to Vanessa, Vincent and all the staff for making our stay so exceptional!!

P.s. You absolutely MUST eat at Dar Roumana one evening... You could serve Vincent's food anywhere in the world and be in awe of how creative, fresh and delicious it is. By far the best meal of our trip!! The secret seems to be out though so make sure you book in advance :-)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with a sitting room and stairs to a small single bed room. It was huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the first contact with Vanessa one is made to feel as if this visit will be something special. The property is well situated within the historic medina and becomes a welcoming refuge after busy, action filled experiences. We only had three days to explore and Vanessa helped us book and schedule some activities that allowed us time to wander, meet local food and art practitioners and enjoy daily life in Fes. Dar Roumana is itself a large part of the enjoyment. The hotel feels like a private home and each suite is unique and filled with beautiful objects that make one feel at home and nurtured. Every need is satisfied and the fragrances of the locally made toiletries allow an entrance into another place and time. From the first moment you enter, you are made to feel welcome and cared for. Relaxing on the roof with a bottle of wine or enjoying tea in one of the sitting rooms, you always feel as if ordinary life has vanished and you can refresh your spirit.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. The photos posted on the website are very accurate. I preferred upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have travelled in 30 countries and have never stayed anywhere as wonderful as this. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and this was a perfect choice. From start to finish the care and attention provided by Vanessa, Vincent and their team is amazing.

The Riad is spectacular, but the details and service are equally as good. From afternoon tea on the terrace, to the excellent bathroom products, to the laundry service, you are taken care of. We stayed in the Tamarind Suite on the first floor which was huge and very beautiful with a lovely bath and good light. I would choose it again for location and comfort.

Vanessa has a gift of making you feel like a friend while still remaining completely professional and taking care of all your travel needs. On arrival she gave us confidence that we would have no trouble navigating the Medina on our own with her tips and she was right. She also arranged a driver to take us on a day trip to Volubilis and Meknes (without a guide) which was excellent. They even provided a packed breakfast for us as we wanted to leave at 8am.
I have written a separate review of the restaurant, but we highly recommend eating here as the food was superb.
We really enjoyed Fez and would go back again just to stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor open onto the central courtyard which is used for breakfast and dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0adfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teillots, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our stay at the Dar Roumana was special; an unforgetable and beautiful experience. Once escorted through the Medina and through the front entrance, one enters a place of serenity and beauty. Rooms are not simply 'hotel rooms', they are spacious, luxurious and serene, contrasting with the mayhem of the Medina outside. It is that very contrast which makes the experience so different, so special. Much care has clearly been taken to restore the building and the overall impression is stunning. Dinner was also special. Vincent has talent and experiencing the food, accompanied by the trickle of the fountain and the light of the lanterns, made it a life-time long wonderful memory. Thank you.

Room Tip: Just be grateful you've GOT a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Property: Dar Roumana
Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing