We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous old space, one less friendly staff member than some places” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Sara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Sara
Ranked #17 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old space, one less friendly staff member than some places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This space was truly beautiful. The authentic tile work and carving were spectacular. The ceiling in our room was so beautiful. The room was really lovely, in general.

We had warm water and the heat in the room was adequate in Late Dec., which were two really important things to us since the previous two places we had stayed did not have those two things. The room was clean and nice,

The staff member who helped arrange an English speaking guide for us was really nice and she spoke excellent English. she was not always around, however, and was the only person who spoke English. (there was a young man who was there some who spoke a little English as well). The female staff member who greeted us and was the main person we interacted with did not speak English and would not seek out another staff member to help us when we needed to communicate. She was not exceptionally friendly and acted mildly annoyed at our presence. I assume she is probably the reason for the 'not great service' reviews on here. overall the service was fine. They made us coffee when we asked, let us store our baggage after we checked out, were prompt with a nice breakfast, arranged for a restaurant to come and fetch us for dinner.

Our room was right on the ground floor, so there was just thin doors and windows between us and the guests & staff in the courtyard. That was a little weird and we felt like we had to kind of whisper in our room because there wasn't much privacy and we could hear the comings and goings of folks in the evening when we wanted to relax in our room. It wasn't terrible, but the upstairs rooms would allow for a bit more privacy.

The location was fine. We would have gotten lost finding any Riad in the Medina, so of course we had to pay a young man to help us find it, but that would be the case with any place in the Medina.

this was the most expensive place we stayed in Morocco, so i am not sure i think it is worth it (you can find as good or better service other places). I think mostly the cost paid for the beautiful space, as most everything else was about equal to any other of the cheaper places we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Our room was downstairs and it was not very private. We could hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
48
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Charged 150Dh for a load of washing. Charged 70Dh to use a credit card when the ATM down the street was out of order so could not pay for the room with cash. Double the price of similar style riad in Marrakech. Surly owner who was completely unwilling to help in any way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmyee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights..simply amazing. To be given the chance to stay in a Riad is a must.. its history surrounding you with oppulence of the time.. the service, the breakfasts, the rooms.. simply amazing. Would stay again and again... x

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the outside or getting here... there are always hidden treasures..x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The place in which this Riad is located doesn't look great, but it is in fact a nice, calm area.

I liked rooms, which were nicely decorated. The breakfast was quite ok as well.

The only one issue I has was that the staff wasn't very interested in me after another, big group came.

Overall it is a nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

With my parents and two friends in town, we took them to Fes for the weekend and stayed at the Riad Sara. The riad itself was exactly what you picture a riad to be, with rooms much bigger than I had seen in the past. The breakfast was not quite a Denny’s-style buffet, but it was more than just croissants and coffee. And the location, just two blocks from Place Batha and the start of the medina, easy to find (once they sent a guide to meet us at the parking garage).
The one complaint: The staff was friendly and welcoming, but once we got settled in, it was hard to get them off of internet chat rooms; then again, once you are settled in, what else do you need? They weren't rude, they just weren't around.
If you want a great location, gorgeous riad, and a good, solid breakfast, but without all the pesky smiles of a doting staff, I’d recommend Riad Sara.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Riad Sara for one night. The location was good and the riad itself was very nice. However, the service was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and tried to force us to pay for our stay in cash. Miss Ouidad offered to send a taxi to pick us up at the train station so we "wouldn't get ripped off". She charged us 100 dirhams for the pick-up. We got a taxi on our own to return to the train station and it cost 9 dirhams. Don't fall for her scam!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgl9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Whilst the overall aesthetic of the Riad is lovely and charming, the appalling lack of service and worse attempted fleecing of guests makes this one of the worst accommodations possible in Fez. The Riad itself is charming and lovely, with good attention to detail paid to the furnishings and outfitting of the rooms. However, where this Riad falls terribly short in are the staffing and service levels received.

I thankfully only stayed at this Riad for one night, but that in itself was sufficient. When i arrived around 4pm I enquired if i could settle the bill in Dirhams or Euro and was told that either was not a problem. However, at around 7pm there was a knock on my door and I was asked to settle the bill immediately in Dirhams only. Not having sufficient Dirhams and only euro and USD, I asked if there were any money changers or ATMs nearby to change or withdraw more cash. At this stage, one of the staff of the Riad offered to change my currency for me, and suggested a rate that was 30% lower than the exchange rate. When i queried this, I was told that I was mistaken about the exchange rate, despite having changed some currency earlier in the day. Anyhow the staff of the Riad changed some currency for me, at a lower exchange rate (which was expected), but then also charged a 10 euro service charge. In addition, at every opportunity I was short changed after that. After asking for water, which was complimentary in the afternoon, I was charged for another bottle in the evening, and when i paid, was not given change as they had run out of change. I asked if I would be able to book a cab early the next morning to catch the train back to Marrakech and was told that I could find a cab somewhere outside in the morning. Overall, the service of this Riad was so appalling that i would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason_ian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#10 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#10 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#5 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sara

Property: Riad Sara
Address: 17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Sara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - FROM SEPTEMBER 2015!! Riad Sara is a beautifully restored 14th Century read that has been running as a guest house since 2002. Now operating under a British-Moroccan management team, the Riad Sara staff are trained to address the needs of each guest on an individual basis. From providing a calm base for a city-break, to organising a pan-Morocco adventure - we cater to the needs of our clients. Located in an easily-accessible street, just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand in the public square at Batha, Riad Sara is perfectly located to be both quiet, but at the same time convenient. The main entrance to the medina, Bab Boujloud, is only a 5 minute walk from the riad, taxis to the new town are a 2 minute walk, and there are multitudes of restaurants and bazaars within a short walking distance. Our tour desk can organise day trips to nearby sites, as well as longer treks to farther afield places. Hammam trips are arranged daily, and massage and henna painting can be arranged at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sara Fes
Riad Sara Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing