We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sara to your Saves list
Riad Sara
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 186 Fes B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slice of Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights..simply amazing. To be given the chance to stay in a Riad is a must.. its history surrounding you with oppulence of the time.. the service, the breakfasts, the rooms.. simply amazing. Would stay again and again... x

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the outside or getting here... there are always hidden treasures..x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Krakow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The place in which this Riad is located doesn't look great, but it is in fact a nice, calm area.

I liked rooms, which were nicely decorated. The breakfast was quite ok as well.

The only one issue I has was that the staff wasn't very interested in me after another, big group came.

Overall it is a nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

With my parents and two friends in town, we took them to Fes for the weekend and stayed at the Riad Sara. The riad itself was exactly what you picture a riad to be, with rooms much bigger than I had seen in the past. The breakfast was not quite a Denny’s-style buffet, but it was more than just croissants and coffee. And the location, just two blocks from Place Batha and the start of the medina, easy to find (once they sent a guide to meet us at the parking garage).
The one complaint: The staff was friendly and welcoming, but once we got settled in, it was hard to get them off of internet chat rooms; then again, once you are settled in, what else do you need? They weren't rude, they just weren't around.
If you want a great location, gorgeous riad, and a good, solid breakfast, but without all the pesky smiles of a doting staff, I’d recommend Riad Sara.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Riad Sara for one night. The location was good and the riad itself was very nice. However, the service was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and tried to force us to pay for our stay in cash. Miss Ouidad offered to send a taxi to pick us up at the train station so we "wouldn't get ripped off". She charged us 100 dirhams for the pick-up. We got a taxi on our own to return to the train station and it cost 9 dirhams. Don't fall for her scam!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgl9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Whilst the overall aesthetic of the Riad is lovely and charming, the appalling lack of service and worse attempted fleecing of guests makes this one of the worst accommodations possible in Fez. The Riad itself is charming and lovely, with good attention to detail paid to the furnishings and outfitting of the rooms. However, where this Riad falls terribly short in are the staffing and service levels received.

I thankfully only stayed at this Riad for one night, but that in itself was sufficient. When i arrived around 4pm I enquired if i could settle the bill in Dirhams or Euro and was told that either was not a problem. However, at around 7pm there was a knock on my door and I was asked to settle the bill immediately in Dirhams only. Not having sufficient Dirhams and only euro and USD, I asked if there were any money changers or ATMs nearby to change or withdraw more cash. At this stage, one of the staff of the Riad offered to change my currency for me, and suggested a rate that was 30% lower than the exchange rate. When i queried this, I was told that I was mistaken about the exchange rate, despite having changed some currency earlier in the day. Anyhow the staff of the Riad changed some currency for me, at a lower exchange rate (which was expected), but then also charged a 10 euro service charge. In addition, at every opportunity I was short changed after that. After asking for water, which was complimentary in the afternoon, I was charged for another bottle in the evening, and when i paid, was not given change as they had run out of change. I asked if I would be able to book a cab early the next morning to catch the train back to Marrakech and was told that I could find a cab somewhere outside in the morning. Overall, the service of this Riad was so appalling that i would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason_ian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Riad Sara is the perfect place to wake up to in the morning. A nice breakfast in the central area will energize you for a day wandering in the Medina. It is also a great place to come back to and regroup from all of the sensory overload of Fez! On our second day we had them set us up with a tour guide. Beware - tour guides are more like brokers. Yes, they know many things about the city, but they also bring you to the tanneries, carpet makers, fabric makers, etc., and they make a cut of what you buy! The staff at Riad Sara was very helpful. We left at 1 am to go and catch a night train, they organized a taxi for us and even gave us breakfast to go! The room was gorgeous and spacious. One afternoon we took advantage of the rooftop terrace to look out over the medina and relax in the sun. It has a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here 1 night after 2 nights in another Riad in Fez, this one had comfortable furniture a much nicer breakfast.
We needed a bit of a rest and enjoyed the lounge area, the staff got me drinks, and we needed a early breakfast before our flight , which was waiting for us when we got up. Not much english spoken here , but this was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#51 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#12 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#13 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sara

Address: 17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sara 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - FROM SEPTEMBER 2015!! Riad Sara is a beautifully restored 14th Century read that has been running as a guest house since 2002. Now operating under a British-Moroccan management team, the Riad Sara staff are trained to address the needs of each guest on an individual basis. From providing a calm base for a city-break, to organising a pan-Morocco adventure - we cater to the needs of our clients. Located in an easily-accessible street, just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand in the public square at Batha, Riad Sara is perfectly located to be both quiet, but at the same time convenient. The main entrance to the medina, Bab Boujloud, is only a 5 minute walk from the riad, taxis to the new town are a 2 minute walk, and there are multitudes of restaurants and bazaars within a short walking distance. Our tour desk can organise day trips to nearby sites, as well as longer treks to farther afield places. Hammam trips are arranged daily, and massage and henna painting can be arranged at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sara Fes
Riad Sara Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing