We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful but expensive Riad”
Review of Riad Fes Baraka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Fes Baraka
Ranked #27 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful but expensive Riad”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Spent 4 nights here a few weeks ago, was a lovely place to settle into Morocco and Fes. It's located just outside the Medina, which meant you could get away from the hubub of the main souks. The owners are very sweet, very quiet and happy to do anything for you. Rooms are lovely and clean - we had A/C, en-suite and tv, and it was a perfect place to chill in the heat of the day, especially with it's own pool in a shaded courtyard. Only drawback of this place is the price - we paid €100 a night and I think that was too much. We managed to find cheap options for around €25 a night for the rest of the trip that weren't that much worse. Would highly recommend though if it's within your budget, and you're looking for a more comfortable Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafebum_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    71
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
119
133
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Well,at first sight the riad is awesome,with this small ,beautiful tiled patio with the so called pool in the middle;so in the middle that is a lttle obtrusive if you can reach some of the rooms in the ground floor.
We were there three nights in the Suite Arabesque in winter time,three days raining without stop, and is in these moments that you ask for a little comfort.The suite is beautiful,with a very high ceiling,antique furnitureperhaps overset,but the warmer is not enough to heat the room,the lights are clearly insufficient,it`s impossible to read anywhere in the room,nor in the bed or in the sofa.The bed is an uncomfortable thing,the mattress is not good and the bed linens almost a joke.The tv and his table broke the harmony of the room,is a mammoth one,but you can see almost a hundred arabic and muslim channels and only a couple of french,a very bizarre thing,but interesting to pass the time.The bathroom is,like the suite,all inconveniences : cold,a tub without screen that guarantee a wet floor,towels that are only a piece of old cloth,no amenities...
The breakfast was un uninspiring and poor affair taken in the reception area that changes in breakfast room that changes in staff quarters,clearly the people working there only want to get out of this thing quickly.
The staff were only two young men,not rude,but neither accomodating and only see the very shy girls in the mornings.
Location is excellent,with the medina at your steps,and very near one of the few places to catch a bus or a taxi,good if you have luggage.
Maybe in summer or in tourist seasons,with more guests and a staff with more dedication this riad is another thing,but in the lonely winter rainy days is the opposite of a cozy place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is a nice enough riad situated only a few minutes walk from the medina. A little on the expensive side considering we have paid the same in Marrakesh and stayed in nicer rooms. However, the room we stayed in was spacious and although the decor wasn't to our tastes, was nicely done.

The major let down was the state of the pool. This was filthy when we visited in March '09 and totally unusable with no signs of this changing in the few days we stayed.

Overall slightly disappointing as this has the potential to be a great riad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

A beautiful riad, with a nice terrace and pool. Good location in the heart of the medina. In our taste the rooms we're a little too expensive for the quality and service we've got. Nevertheless a very comfortable place to stay.

M and T,
The Netherlands

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank tesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This Riad is in a somewhat obscure location, but it's beautiful inside. We were served really delicious mint tea and little Moroccan cookies as soon as we arrived. The staff only speaks French (and probably Arabic), but they are very friendly and extremely hospitable. We felt like we were guests in their home. It's quiet, comfortable, and located within walking distance to the Old Medina. The breakfast is simple but tasty. Staying here made us feel like we were really embracing Moroccan culture. We can't say enough good things about this place and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — wish we could have stayed longer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed at this riad for two nights. It is located very near tot the souks, only a ten minute walk, which is excellent. The people were friendly and the room was okay. The only inconvenience was that the bathroom was on the other side of the stairways.
We als had our meal there, the night we arrived which was also fine. The owners are young people and the women speak excellent French. Good value for money!

  • Liked — the beauty of it
  • Disliked — the fact that the bathroom was on the other side of the stairways
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Me and my husband have just returned from Fes. We spent just one night in the riad Fes Baraka and we liked it very much. Everything is decorated with taste, you really feel like in the fairy-tales of "One Thousand and One Nigth". The stuff was very friendly and treated us with big care. Something happened to elecricity in our room, so the conditioner and light in the bathroom stopped working and they said that they were very sorry and they put us in the suit for the same price! It was great! We had opportunity to see the room and the suit to compare. But both were super! We adored so much the beauty of the riad! And the pool was very clean and we swam in the night, it was wonderful!
We recommend everybody this riad, especially people who want to find themselves in the atmosphere of the Arabian fairy-tales. We want to thank the people working there for care and attention. It was a wonderful night there!

  • Liked — Beauty of the riad
  • Disliked — I don't know what to say, everything was ok
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Silya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#52 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes Baraka

Property: Riad Fes Baraka
Address: 16 Derb Bennani | Douh - Batha, Fes 30100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fes
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Fes Baraka 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riad Fes Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Baraka Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing