We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather 2* than 4*”
Review of Hotel Volubilis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Volubilis
Ranked #85 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rather 2* than 4*”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel didn't welcome us in the friendly way that is common in Morocco. The room was large in size, but failed to meet any other expectations I had for a 4 star hotel. There was neither a safe nor a fridge / minibar in the room, the amenities in the bathroom were pitiable, the shower gel came in subminiature portions. In the bathroom there was even mould on the tiles (due to lack of ventilation)! The rooms were serviced in a strange way: E.g. used towels were removed but no new ones provided, shower gel was not replenished etc.
Our room and the entire hotel appear due for a refurbishment.
Breakfast: In a 4 star hotel I expect friendly waiters (we had snotty ones), espresso coffee (not available although ubiquitary in Morocco), and a more attractive choice from the buffet.
Next time in town I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global_freq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    60
    53
    23
    27
See reviews for
34
51
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Poolside service of olives and bread along with a local bottle of white wine was a pleasant surprise. Our Trafalgar tour provided a buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant since not much is within walking distance of this courtyard hotel with rooms facing the pool. Rooms are simple but comfortable with a/c, polished floors and a tiled bathroom. Our room was on the ground floor with palm trees and flowering shrubs screening our patio from the pool. A light breakfast of breads, hard boiled eggs, local tea, mint tea, and orange juice, cheeses and ham. A woman fried up flour tortilla-like flat bread on a hot skillet in olive oil, which tasted great with the fig jam, dates and honey. There is a smoky locals bar in front of the lobby and a small gift shop that sells stamps. Sandwiches and salads, along with beer and wine are available on the restaurant and terrace facing the pool for lunch.

Room Tip: Main level has private patios thanks to the lovely landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Rooms spacious , arab style , clean, nice pool, nice garden, good location , service is good but staff is rude would recomend it sply if u want to save ur budget otherwise go for sofitel palais jamai which is fabulous

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheriemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnac, France
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Jouxting the Palais des Congrès,the hotel Volubilis takes its name from the ruins of the roman city by Meknes 80 km away.Enjoy the swimming pool and the shade of the palm trees .This hotel belongs to the tour operator FRAM company supplying tourist groups to fill bedrooms and restaurant .Food is reasonably good but buffet dinners cannot compete with Turkish abundance and variety .For breakfast ask for scrambled eggs.The Fram office in the lobby proposes expensive tours for individuals.A shop also located in the lobby sells post cards and stamps. Change is available at the front desk at the prevailing bank rate.

Room Tip: Ground floor bedrooms around the swimming pool could be also called cabanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#55 of 98 in Fes
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#54 of 98 in Fes
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#83 of 98 in Fes
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#45 of 98 in Fes
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volubilis

Property: Hotel Volubilis
Address: Avenue Allal Ben Abdellah, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Volubilis 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Volubilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volubilis Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing