We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad but some iminor ssues”
Review of Dar Al Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Al Andalous
Ranked #60 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad but some iminor ssues”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The staff and owners were very gracious and welcoming. Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted with mint tea and sympathetic ears to an unfortunate incident we had in Rabat. They even upgraded us to a room with a terrace. The rooms are clean and come with a heater. There was also a safe, though I never could get it to work. The courtyard really showcased the intricate-ness and details that took 2 years to renovate. The staff were attentive and helpful, giving advice on how to explore the medina. Its location is a few minutes walk from the Bab Bou Jeloud, outside the medina.

The cons are, the riad was located down at the end of a long dead end alley, with 2 security guards stationed outside the door, which makes you wonder why those are even necessary.
We also had dinner one night there but be aware that the dinner is quite expensive per person - sure the ambience in the courtyard is incredible but it was much more expensive than even a dinner at Cafe de la Poste in Marrakech, a high end French restaurant. I guess we were broadsided by how much it costs, though maybe it was our fault for not asking. We just didn't think it would be that much. Also, lastly, there was a breakdown in communication. we had an arranged private driver through a 3rd party agency to drive us to Merzouga on checkout, who had actually come by the riad twice days prior and even called to let us know of an earlier departure time for that day. This message was never passed onto us. The driver said it may have been intentional because they would have rather had their own hired driver take us.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This riad is absolutely lovely - a very Moroccan inn. The location is great - we were able to walk to many places, but it was hard to find. A word of advice to first time travelers to any larger Moroccan city: get a detailed street map in advance (Googlearth is not enough)!

The weather was cold and rainy while we were there, and although each room had space and wall heaters, it was still a bit too cool to be comfortable. All the more reason to enjoy the mint tea!

Breakfasts were delicious and the service was outstanding.

We traveled with our two teenagers and had a very spacious suite - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a sitting room.

Lots of stairs, so if you are weak in the knees, ask for a ground floor room. Overall, I would recommend this riad highly!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank jexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 days at the Dar El Andalus The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before.It was so lovely.Very confortable rooms.Excellent ,just few meters from medina door.Quite and confortable.And Zadra (the manager) was absolutely friendly and professional.Our daugther (3 years) was happy for all days.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggiconbambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Zahra and the rest of the staff gave us such a warm welcome and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We really were made to feel as though this was our home from home. The hotel's courtyard is beautiful and our spacious room was gorgeous, with sofas, a four-poster bed and exquisite zellij (tiles). The bathroom, too, was lovely. Because the temperatures were unusually low during our stay, the room was a bit chilly, but Zahra gave us an extra heater which improved things immediately. We had a delicious evening meal at the hotel, too, and both of us made the most of the hotel's hammam, enjoying a superb Turkish bath, including massage. The Dar al Andalus is well placed just five minutes walk from the Bab Bou Jeloud and the Medina. A minor quibble is that perhaps some of the little salons off the main courtyard could be lit more softly with candles. Overall, though, a really special place to spend a few days. You won't be disappointed. Stuart and Anna, London, UK.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff - beautiful interior
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claphamstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This riad was the highlight of our stay in Morocco. From the spectacular traditional Moroccan interiors to the outstanding four course dinners our expectations were surpassed in every aspect.

The riad is very centrally located - no more than five minutes walk to the souqs - and the kindness and hospitality that we were shown by Kadiri Mohammed and his staff was overwhelming. We highly, highly recommend staying here.

For more photos visit the website: [----].

  • Liked — Outstanding service
  • Disliked — The breakfast might have been a little more interesting
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MichelleElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We selected this riad based on the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. An excellent location. Beautiful venue and superb food. We were made warmly welcome by the helpful staff and had a fabulous time. The food was superior to the Maison Blue and to be frank the venue was better as well. I'd recommend booking a meal here even if you decide not to stay.

  • Liked — Staff friendly and helpfulness
  • Disliked — No external courtyard - but the internal courtyards made up for this
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shdema
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We just returned home from a wonderful trip to Morocco that included a two night stay in Fes. We stayed at the Dar Al Andalous Riyad in the old city of Fes. In a word it was the highlight of our trip!
The hotel itself is elegent and inviting. The suties had their own baths, canopy beds, and elegant furnishings all in the classic Moroccan style. The lobby and common room/dining room were breathtaking with all the elegent design that the highest level of Moroccan interior design and architecture has to offer.
On top of this, the service was outstanding. The doorman, the waiters, the maids, and especially our concierge, Zahra, were the most hospitable people I have ever encountered on any trip. They really made us feel at home in our elegent and exotic surroundings. In addition, the owners were very much a part of our experience and included our children in every way. In fact, they even gave my daughter, celebrating her 12 birthday at the time, a special present and special attention during dinner.
The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, served beautifully in the typical Morccan fashion. Nothing was left wanting. This included all fresh fruits jiuces, yogurts and pancakes among many other things. We also ate dinner there and the food was unbelievably delicious. We had special dietary restrictions (vegetarian and no sea food) and everything we needed was offered and given to us in plenty, always with a smile and gracousness.

I don't think I could compare my stay and the Dar Al Andalous to any other hotel or B&B that I have been to anywhere else in the world - it was really in a class of its own!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shdema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#29 of 99 in Fes
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#37 of 99 in Fes
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Layla
Riad Layla
#27 of 99 in Fes
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#12 of 99 in Fes
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Andalous

Property: Dar Al Andalous
Address: 14 Derb Bennani | Quartier Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#36 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Al Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dar Al Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Andalous Fes
Dar Al Andalous Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing