We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Dar Al Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Al Andalous
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I traveled to Fez a few days before the new year. The riad is very conveniently situated close to a main entrance to the medina. It is also really accessible to the main road, which makes getting a taxi and shopping in the city very easy also. A Carrefour and mall are a short taxi ride away, and the train station is maybe a 7 minute drive from the riad. The owner and staff were very accommodating and welcoming. We arrived in Fez around 7am, which is very early for the city and too early to check in. However, the owner let us freshen up and store our baggage until a room was available to check into that morning. We had breakfast there most days, and also had a lovely dinner there one night. The internet was great in our room and in public areas, which was helpful when having to deal with cancelled flights. Our room was at the top of the stairs and our private bathroom was a floor below. While the rooms were beautiful, this did make getting to the bathroom at night a little tricky. Nevertheless, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If accessibility is an issue, choose a room on a lower level. All rooms are beautiful though.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Dar Al Andalous
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Riad is located in a great location for tourists. The Riad is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. The owner helped us arrange a tour guide, which was the best way for us to see the Medina. We also had dinner at the Riad which was the best meal we had on our entire trip. I would recommend the Riad highly. The only warning is the amount of stairs needed to get to our room. It diffierent bother us, however their were several slights of stairs that were narrow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Full of character and charm. The owner was extremely helpful in many ways and staff were friendly and polite but not intrusive. They organised a taxi to pick us up from the train station (not included in the price but very handy & cheap) and also organised a couple of day trips for us. Located in the medina in a quiet alleyway with vehicle access and only 100m to the cafes and souks. Effective wi-fi too.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

coming from a business meeting in Rabat, and staying in a conference hotel there, I had just two days on my itinerary for a visit to Fez. Staying at Riad dar Al-Andalus proved to be a great choice. One is greeted by a charming hostess: Zahra makes you feel at home the length of your visit. She was also very good at recommending a capable guide for our visit to the medina and arranging a reliable taxi to take me for a very early morning flight when I left.The room at my disposal was clean and spacious, and the food prepared was delicious, both evening meal and breakfast. Even for a non-Muslim, this is a "home away from home", and worth the detour to Morocco. It beats staying at a standard hotel, and is an all-around excellent value.

Dr. Edward Tiryakian

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiryakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staff is wonderfully attentive and accommodating. We arranged to arrive at 2am in the morning due to our train schedule from Marrakesh to Fes and the service from the staff was superb even at that hour. The place is a classic riad + roof patio. A delicious Moroccan style breakfast is included and Zahra (our guest liaison) offered very useful advice on where to go and how to make the most of our time. There is a choice in whether or not to do the dinner at the riad... We took a chance and was pleasantly surprised by the high culinary level. Overall top notch ~

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KingGarsonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I had no idea what we were getting into when I booked our holiday to Fes. We are both seasoned travelers but this was our first venture to a Muslim country and being from The States we weren't sure how welcome we would be.....well the staff at Dar Al Andalous welcomed us with open arms and the love never stopped until the day we left! Our room was amazing. The room, itself, was the size of 5-6 European/American hotel rooms. We had a king sized bed with a 4 post frame. And there was stained glass on all the windows which only added to the beauty. The staff was amazing; Zaheera, who was the assistant manager, was as nice and accomidating as one could ask for. Hassan who was the waiter/porter/all-around great guy was happy to help with any and everything we needed. And then there was Fatima who was the Chef de Cuisine. She was the sweetest woman and a fantastic cook. Her Pastisse is something that should not be missed and her different variations of Tegine and cous-cous dishes were amazing! The Dar, aslo, has a wondeerful rooftop that looks over the city and lower Atlas mountains. It's location is only a 5min walk to the "Blue Gate" that leads you into the Medina and only a $2 taxi ride to the Acima(supermarket) and the "New Town" of Fes. All in all I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Fes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This delightful place is a must if you visit Morocco .Fez is a fascinating city and so is this lovely converted Riad . The rooms are superb as are the dining facilities including , so importantly , the food . The latter comments can apply to any number of hotels in the world but this place is different . The layout of a riad ( a traditional Arab house ) with it's open-to-the-sky floor plan is wonderful . However it's the staff, especially the manager, Ziza Alami that makes it even more special .Don't miss it if you can .

Room Tip: The place has all excellent rooms .
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kidman255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Marjana suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#26 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 100 in Fes
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Andalous

Address: 14 Derb Bennani | Quartier Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#37 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Al Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Al Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Andalous Fes
Dar Al Andalous Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing