We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful riad with amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Ranked #38 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful riad with amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My partner and I just returned from Fes. We stayed at Riad Numero 9 for four nights. The riad is a beautiful oasis of calmness and serenity in such a hectic city. We stayed on the third floor, which is absolutely palatial. High ceilings, beautiful mosaics, big comfortable bed, and a separate bathroom suite with its own separate sitting area, two funky barber chairs, and other charming furnishings.

The staff is friendly and attentive, and goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. We needed to purchase train tickets to Tangier. I asked the housekeeper Atika how to go about doing this, and she said that she passes the train station on the way home, and offered to pick up the tickets for us. I told her what day and time our train was leaving, and she completely took care of securing a porter for our luggage, and a taxi for the drive to the train station.

One evening, we chose to have dinner at the riad. Of our ten days in Morocco, the dinner at the riad was easily the best meal we had on our trip. Breakfasts were lavish, with a variety of breads and pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea (of course), and fantastic local jams and preserves. i find myself still craving the lemon pancakes that were served at breakfast. On two of the mornings, we ate breakfast on the roof terrace. The breeze was lovely, and the view over the medina was wonderful. Unfortunately, we missed the grand re-opening of Resto 7, the riad owner's restaurant, by one day. If the food at the restaurant is anything like the food we had at the riad, then the restaurant's success is assured.

If you're a cat lover, you'll enjoy Ruby, the cat who resides at the riad. We missed our two cats at home, and having a sweetheart like Ruby accompany us at breakfast was great.

I cannot recommend Riad Numero 9 highly enough. Splurge for the room on the third floor if you can.

Room Tip: The room on the third floor encompasses the entire floor. Splurge on this one if you can. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
181
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stuck away in a narrow street you will find the entrance to a beautifully renovated dar. Comfortable interior decoration making you feel part of a classic film or a book of Tin Tin because of all the object of voyage. We had drinks on the rooftop when the evening prayer starts, which is an experience. The staff is very helpful with good advises, they will help you with everything. Many thanks.

Room Tip: The room 3rd floor is with nice day light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fox_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were here 3 nights in May 2014. The room was huge and the bed big and comfy. Atika and Emid were attentive to our every need. The breakfast was plenty of food, delicious and served on the exquisite roof. Two of our nights we were too tired to go out and Atika and Emid prepared luscious meals for us at a reasonable cost. Whatever our question or concern, Atika was there to solve it. The view from the roof is unbelievable and must to one of the highest points in Fes.
Stephen has done a wonderful job of restoring this beautiful riad from the floors to the ironwork to the exquisite ceilings.

Room Tip: We were upgraded upon arrival to the top floor which we had all to ourselves. Don't expect to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The riad is just what you hope for...tucked away in a small alley, we were collected from the airport and taken there with no fuss.The usual non discript door on the street takes you into a lovely riad inside,very original,with some quirky touches. We booked the small room,but on arrival found it a little too dark for us, so switched to the top suite ( no hassle).A really nice room with a huge bathroom along the way.(the one with the barbers chairs) Breakfast on the terrace was stunning! and changed each day. The weather was cold and wet the last two days,so we ate inside. The star of Numero 9. is Attica. who runs the riad, she was fantastic and could not do enough for us,love also to Ruby.. The cat...Our only crit is that the lighting is not great in the rooms so make up/ contact lens are a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csnlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Riad Numero 9. From the beginning of the booking process Stephen was incredibly responsive and helpful, and very kind when we met him in person. Atika and the riad's other staff were also lovely and helpful. The riad itself was beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, very comfortable and well located, with a fantastic view over the medina from its roof terrace. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Numero 9 to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylesjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fes was our last destination in Morocco. By the time we arrived at Riad Numero 9, we had stayed at riads in 2 other cities. Riad Numero 9 was not only more attractive and intimate, but the attentiveness and service made us feel like royalty. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Exquisite riad. My girlfriend and I have just spent a wonderful time in this jewel, wonderfully decorated, and offering an excellent view on the Medina. Special attention shall be drawn on Atika's warmth and sence of hospitality. A place you'll definitely to stop by to take advantage of Fès as it shall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariane2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#31 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#9 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#7 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Property: Riad Numero 9
Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing