We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended, an amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Save
You added Riad Numero 9 to your Saves list
Ranked #33 of 199 Fes B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended, an amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My man and I had an incredible time at Riad 9 this September. The owner Stephen made our reservation process very easy and even had his driver pick us up from the car rental company on the other side of the city. The two wonderful ladies, Atika and her sister Kitoum, took such great care of us and made our stay even more special. The place was absolutely perfect, small, intimate, nicely decorated, very quiet. The rooftop is the best spot in the city in our humble opinion; we spent lots of time there. Kitoum makes such fantastic breakfasts that we ended up having two dinners there in three days, both so great. Even the cats are nice and friendly. The location is ideal and the ladies had a ton of recommendations for us, they were super helpful. Of all the places we visited in Morocco, we wish we could have stayed in Fes longer and will plan more days there next time we visit. And we will definitely stay at the Riad 9 again; it was such a great find, we feel truly lucky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie-anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
178
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are reading this you may be looking for a place to stay in the Fes Medina. This could be your perfect spot, it was for us! We stayed 4 nights at Riad 9. From the first contact with Stephen, the owner, we were made to feel this was the place. He was friendly, efficient and welcoming (all conveyed through email). We were picked up at the train and brought right to the front door. This alone was worth everything. Stepping into the medina was a bit intimidating and trying to find our way alone may have been just too much. We were also picked up at 4:30 in the AM to be taken to the airport when we left. The moment we entered we were welcome by Atika and her sister Kitoum. The place exuded a warm, welcoming atmosphere and the women were exceptional hosts, catering to every need. We were graciously upgraded to the master suite which was beyond anything we had occupied during our 3 weeks of travel or in previous travels. Large, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. The abundance of towels, scented soup and rosewater for bathing was a treat this traveller is not used to. My understanding from another guest is that all the rooms are equally lovely. We ate 2 evening meals and of course breakfast. Again exceptional and delicious. Kitoum does the cooking and she and Atika have mastered the art of making you feel you are sitting in your own home and being cared for by a loving relative. The food is wonderful!! The 2 cats, Ruby and Boots are very friendly and enjoy tableside views during the meals, so if you're not fond of kitties be aware. The other issue is the steep narrow stairs. They may pose a challenge if you have some mobility issues. Amazingly our luggage, which was substantial, was delivered to our room and removed at the end of our stay without us lifting a finger.
All in all Riad 9 offered a home away from home in a very different place. We are totally pleased we found this wonderful place and highly recommend you give this serious consideration for your stay in the Fes Medina. By the way Atika is very knowlegeable about the Medina and can give invaluable insight about your visit and getting the most out of your stay. Enjoy the medina! If it is your first time it is an experience you will not soon forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BE17521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My first time to Morocco was pleasantly punctuated by this genuine hospitality experience. We emailed Stephen directly to enquire about availability, and he always provided prompt responses, even warning us of the fact that they have 2 cats and some goldfish on site. We were 4 girls in our late 20s traveling together as an atypical bachelorette celebration. We arrived from Marseille to Fes and were met at the airport by the driver pick-up, which was included in the accommodation charge. After winding through the city, we arrived to the side entrance of the walled. Luckily, we were met by staff, who led us up and down, left and right, in and out, until we met the door of Riad 9. Stephen was there to meet us, and after a thorough introduction of the medina, recommendations of what times to go to which areas, we were shown to our room. The 4 of us had planned to stay together, but there was clearly not enough space in 1 room, and because we were the only guests that night, we were told that we could take any of the other rooms if we wished, free of charge! We went to Stephen's favourite cafe for dinner that evening and spent the night on the roof of the Riad: our private gateway to the fes nightscape and local sounds. Breakfast was definitely a highlight as we requested it to be on the roof, which they set up in the shaded side of the roof. It was delectably punctuated with home-made jams, teas, rotis and warm bread. A wealth of knowledge and 1 night was clearly not enough! If I am ever back in Fes, I will absolutely book with Riad 9 again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

You dream of a journey to Morocco for years ... pour over guidebooks, clip stories from magazines. Bountiful markets, lethargic donkeys, eager shopkeepers ... these promises call you.

But what haunts you most is the dream of the perfect, hidden riad. Your own little secret, hidden behind a plain, beige wall, holding calm and peace within. A respite from the dusty, bustling streets of Fez.

This was my dream, found at Riad 9. If an authentic, insider, intimate visit is what you seek, please visit Stephen and his team at Riad 9.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgoriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just a lovely and poetic place
Amazing view of the medina and hills around
The decoration of the riad is just perfect all details are charming
Service of 5 stars hotel
Steven and the girls are very helpful
I love this place
Hope to go back in riad 9 soon
Sylvie from paris

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As we stepped through the front door into Riad No. 9 we entered a place of serene beauty. Stephen has created an intimate and welcoming home where privacy is respected. It is decorated in cool blues and wonderful mixes of pink, orange, red, grey, black and cream. It glows at night with candles lighting staircases, window sills, corners of the lounge area, and the sunken dining table. It contains a rich blend of antiques, interesting artefacts, materials, art, books and textured decorations. And in the day, the roof terrace is bright and elegant with couches, tables, chairs, and latticed pergolas. It was made very home-like by two cats and a tortoise that appeared from behind potted plants.

Dining at Stephen's Riad was a beautiful experience. Atika and Kitoum provided exquisite food and service, and were very happy to explain how meals had been prepared. They are two bright gems!

Stephen is a thoughtful and engaging host. He provided information about where we were, what to expect, how to get around, and suggested where we might go after enquiring about our interests. He was very respectful in his attention to, and descriptions of, life in Morocco and in particular, Fes. This was a wonderful experience for us. Thank you Stephen, Atika and Kitoum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I don't think I can say enough great things about Riad Numero 9, which have not already been said in so many other raving reviews, but I will try. Stephen is an incredible host and has restored this grand home into an immaculate haven in Fes.
Not one detail is overlooked- gorgeous textiles abound, fantastic antiques, fabulous food and wine, even the bath soap is wonderful.
Stephen and Atika were quite helpful in making sure we knew how to make our way through the medina without missing any key spots for sightseeing, shopping and eating. But as I said before the food was so good at Riad 9 thanks to Kitoum, we rarely ate elsewhere.
I highly recommend Riad Numero 9 to anyone traveling to the magical city of Fes and desires an equally magical place to stay. Bravo Stephen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#18 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#3 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Bartal
Riad Al Bartal
#16 of 199 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Property: Riad Numero 9
Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing