We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserver top rating on Tripadvisor!”
Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Ranked #49 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well deserver top rating on Tripadvisor!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've chosen this riad based on the Tripadvisor rating and we weren't disappointed at all! Great decoration, friendly service, delicious food and a rooftop terrace with a wonderful view over the city. We've stayed in other riads before, but this was definitely the best experience so far. Would recommend in to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfrusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
180
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Located in the centre of the walled old city, this Riad is a wonderfully restored 19th Century house with a beautiful courtyard, bedrooms with interesting and somewhat idiosynchratic decor and a roof terrace with wonderful views across the town and surrounding hills.
The host, Steven, and his staff offer very friendly and flexible hospitality, together with meals in the courtyard setting and on the roof. And they are very ready to help with assistance and recommendations for where to eat, where to shop etc etc.
All in all, highly recommended and a great place to stay in Fes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dss707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My brother and I stumbled upon this chic riad and felt so pampered and welcome. Owned by a worldly American, Stephen, we found ourselves taken care of even before we arrived. Our driver was contacted by Stephen during our journey through the Atlas mountains, to set up a meeting point and time in what can be a daunting arrival in Fes. The local contact was awaiting us and immediately took our bags, threw them into his wooden cart and proceeded to guide us through the ancient center of Fes at a frightening pace, skirting donkeys, food stalls, and pedestrians, until somehow we landed in front of an anonymous doorstep on a quiet side street. Greeted by Atika, the charming housekeeper, we entered one of the most beautiful and well preserved riads in the medina. Our rooms were across the central courtyard from each other and both were decorated in medina chic, down to the last detail of plush robes and soft lights. Stephen offered us excellent coffee and maps of the city along with interesting stories of local customs and tales of how his magnificent riad came to be. Recommendations on places to eat, places to pop into and others to linger in, his advise proved most valuable during our brief stay. The breakfast was superb, the best we had in all of Morocco- full of homemade treats. Given our early departure on the last morning, we opted for a lovely meal set up in one of the intimate corners of the riad, with herbal soup and fresh fish and vegetables. Stephen and his staff were accommodating, discreet and available at all times. Our two days were pure bliss and we left with a deep understanding of this fascinating city.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms in this riad, so not much choice, The rooms we stayed in had lower ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 833default
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you decide to stay at the gorgeous Riad 9, you have instantly 'made' your trip to Fes. This incredible home is complete with a delightful owner and team on hand - you could not get more perfect for a long weekend break to a fascinating city. The location is picture perfect, from the roof terrace, over a mouth wateringly fresh breakfast, you can literally pinpoint all the major sights and set up a plan of action for the exciting day ahead. The owner Steven is on hand (when you need) to show you the anti-tourist route around Fes, noting salvage yards to visit, local market stalls to grab a bite and some great background knowledge on a city that can seem overwhelming. Then, it's out and about, getting lost, up and down......until the dreamy Riad calls you back for some r&r. As you enter, the noise becomes a distant memory and the smells evolve to the scrumptious flavours of the chefs menu for the evening - with a glass of wine in hand and an arts book in the other, time melts away until you are tucked under the dinner table, candles ablaze all around, ingesting the sweetest, spiciest yumminess! I really can't say enough good things about this Riad and its team, just go and find out for yourself!

Room Tip: Splurge out for Bedroom 3 at the top of the Riad - it takes over the whole floor, with soaring ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great service, location and overall experience. If you are visiting Fes, this is a great place to stay. The location is ideal to explore the medina and stop by to rest, a nap or lunch.
The riad has 3 different room options, I stayed in the Junior suite which has a private bathroom. I went with a big group and we rented all 3 rooms. If your budget allows, the master suit is to die for. You also have the option to have the riad's chef prepare excellent, true morrocan dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was a wonderful trip with top of the line accomodations, I would definately stay again at Riad 9 on my next trip to Fes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Perhaps the best thing about staying here is that each guest gets to take away his/her own perceptional interpretation of the experience. Everything about Riad 9 tickles your curiosity, as an invitation to further explore. You are surrounded by decorative objects and artifacts that appeal to your sense of adventure and remind you the delights of travel. While unmistakably Moroccan, Riad 9 projects itself as a mosaic of different cultures and designs. As a guest, you would want to discover throughout and slowly savour each moment. One step outside and you are in the bustling medina, and inside you can hear the birds chirping and time whispering while you take a much needed siesta. The terrace provides quite a view, whether at breakfast or sunset, you suddenly realize that you have drifted far from home and are now part of this landscape. The owners - Stephen and Bruno - as well as the team running the place did their best to hand over the key of the castle to us during our stay. Their passion is contagious, their knowledge of Fes stimulating, and their friendliness heart-warming. We cannot imagine the trip to Fes without staying at Riad 9, this is easily one of the most unforgettable encounters of our travels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Riad Number 9 is a show stopper! The home is appointed in such a beautiful and clever manner. It is no wonder that it has been the subject of TV. shows, and magazines all over the globe. The rooms are just the right medicine to re-group after a day spent in the busy streets of Fes, they come with comfortable appointments and great toiletries! The morning breakfasts are something I will keep with me for my lifetime, the strong coffee, fresh baked pastries, fresh jams, and omelets, along with the view of the entire city make it easy to fall in love with Fez. The staff and owners make it certain with their helpful and thoughtful manner that they love what they do, and they love this city. Take the advice of a confirmed world traveler, go to Fez, and stay at Riad Numero 9!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinj718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Biehn
Le Jardin des Biehn
#36 of 99 in Fes
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karawan Riad
Karawan Riad
#17 of 99 in Fes
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#8 of 216 in Fes
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Property: Riad Numero 9
Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing