We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little decadent with lots of charm.”
Review of Riad Maison Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Maison Bleue
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A little decadent with lots of charm.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fez was our last stop on our trip, and in terms of riads was probably the most dissapointing experience. The Maison Bleue held lots of promise for it was the priciest hotel on our trip, but what we found was a somewhat decadent and mistreated property with surly money hungry service. We could see the charm of the riad, and could see its potential ... though what we got was by far the least charming, simpathetic, touristy experience in our whole trip - and all at a VERY high cost. Avoid this property if you are looking for a friendly and authentic experience in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMaisonBleue, Front Office Manager at Riad Maison Bleue, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor reviewer,

We are really surprised with this review because of several incoherent facts :

First of all, we, in fact, received a guest from Brazil having your same name for the same period whom we contacted directly and he formally denied his relation with this review ( we keep the emailing from the true guests that we can share if you ask for ).
Second we noticed that the account from which the review was posted was created on March 25th and it has over 30 reviews concerning the four continents in 02 days.
Third, the photos posted with the review are quiet old and not coherent with the said period ( October 2012). We have proceeded consistent renovations on January 2010 which do not appear in the posted photos ( we can send you a recent photo if you ask for take it from the same angle)
Finally we assume this is a "fraudulous" review thank you for deleting it.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    37
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
107
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a lovely guest house in Fes. From the time we checked in, until we left 24 hours later, the staff made us feel at home. The room was very handsome and well-appointed, and the staff very friendly and attentive. Also, the restaurant was very good. It is also in a very good location, as it sits near the "Blue Gate" entry into the medina, or old city. Near the end of our stay, we had a couple of hours to kill, while waiting for our transportation to our next destination. The staff made sure that we felt welcome and comfortable while we waited. Strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here three nights in large suite with modern bath and warm surroundings.The rebuilt but authentic riad is inside the ancient wall of the medina (old village). Walk to the souks (shops), and maybe even get lost in the winding, narrow streets and alleys of the old medina. Part of the fun. Or hire a guide to walk you thru.

The staff is very friendly, with good English spoken. Breakfast was extensive, not just a continental. Eggs cooked to order.

The facilities are in good order with heat and air conditioning plus modern bath.
Enjoyed our stay here far more than our brief stop in Rabat Sofitel, a fancy and expensive hotel where breakfast will cost you 30 Euros.

You don't need a car. In fact, you don't want one here. Use taxi. Ride the Hop-on Hop-off bus for an overview of the old and new areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMartinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Unlike many of the better riads that seem more like small hotels, at Riad Maison Bleue you actually feel like a house guest. The staff quickly gets to know you, and your preferences down to how you like your omelets done and what you like on them. The rooms are comfortable and the courtyard spectacular. The house wines are quite good and the food well prepared and generously portioned. And any request to the staff is attended to promptly.

If you have any issues with stairs, however, this is not the place for you. Narrow and steep staircases will keep you in shape and there is no simple way to get to the dining area and bar without a short workout.

In an excellent and quiet location, it is a short ride to the Medina and all other areas around Fes. Highly recommend Riad Maison Bleue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2love2hike
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This Riad has nice rooms with comfortable beds. The decor is quite elegant. There were some flaws in the bathroom, but its not the 4seasons. The chicken Tajine was the best we had in morocco. Local Cabernet and Sauvignon quite good. Chardonnay not so much. The breakfasts were cooked to order and very good. Because this is a small Riad the building goes up. LOTS OF STAIRS. it took us 2 days to figure out it was possible to cut across the top of the Hammam to get from the terrace restaurant to our room. The stairs were a bonus because the bread was very good. Lots of appetizers served with cocktails. We did the Hammam and massage. Fabulous! Don't miss that!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdventureForward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The riad is beautiful. Everywhere you look is an example of exceptional Morrocan artistry. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable( soft beds and soft pillows).
The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
Our visit here was a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornashriro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

One of the best riads in Fes with excellent service and very friendly management. We had a very nice suite with direct access to the pool. The suite was really big and the whole room was very nice decorated. The bathroom was also nice and big. We recommend a Dinner on the roof terrace or in the restaurant. The food and the service was also excellence. Definitely one of the best riads we had on our journey through Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Bleue
La Maison Bleue
#64 of 99 in Fes
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#23 of 99 in Fes
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maison Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Bleue

Property: Riad Maison Bleue
Address: 33 Derb El Mitter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Fes
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#27 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Maison Bleue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel consists of three interconnecting houses, which creates an intimate and romantic atmosphere. When exploring the routes connecting the houses guests feel as though they are negotiating the laneways of the ancient Medina of Fez. The 18 suites, comfortable restaurant, private spa and hammam, well-equipped gym and intimate bar exude an air of discreet luxury. Throughout, timeless Moroccan style is merged with more modern touches, resulting in elegant interiors and luxurious comfort.Discover the new launched Maison Cordon Bleue our cooking school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Maison Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maison Bleue Hotel Fes
Riad Maison Bleue Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing