We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Fes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Riad Fes”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just returned from 10 days in Morocco and stayed at the Riad Fes for 2 nights. It was fantastic! A great location within the medina old city walls with a restaurant, pool, great staff and wonderful rooms. The furnishings are beautiful and the food in the outdoor restaurant was wonderful. Would strongly recommend it when staying in Fes.

Room Tip: We had a room right outside the city wall with a balcony that overlooked the outdoor restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveanimals_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    127
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
387
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is an amazingly beautiful riad inside the medina. We had an amazing room on the roof top of the hotel with our own private deck. The room was beautifully appointed. We were greeted with mint tea and snacks. Our guide had arranged a wonderful lunch on the roof top deck. The dinners in the interior courtyards were stunning with live music drifting through. Table were far enough apart for privacy. The bar is fantastic and the service friendly and efficient. There was good wine advice. The lobby of the hotel is amazing. There is a nice pool where you can have lunch and a wonderful spa. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet style in the breakfast room. All amenities were perfect. I would return any time.

Room Tip: The roof top rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019David_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The main hall is beautiful when the sun shines in...have a mint tea and just admire it. We stayed here for two nights. We had asked for communicating rooms which they did not deliver on, which with young kids was a nuisance. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and the new extension for the spa is very tastefully done in a more modern style, They have an outdoor pool...which no one was using because they don;t heat it and it was simply too cold (a bit of a short sighted economy in such a high end hotel). The breakfast buffet was very good (try the moroccan pancakes), Restaurant is far from cheap, There is a rooftop terrace bar, nice for relaxing with a book. Wifi everywhere. We had a bit of a row at checkout as they tried to screw us on the exchange rate. the hotel is inside the Medina but they will come and get you if you phone ahead. Overall a beautiful hotel, which could be great if they tightened a few things up.

Room Tip: We had a quite room facing the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Fes_Manager, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Martin M,
Thank you for having stayed with us and also for sharing your feedback about our hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the restoration of Riad Fès. Indeed, we spent years and years in renovating our five houses and your remarks lifted our hearts and raised our spirits! Thank you.
Nevertheless, I would like to outline some points to enlighten the other travelers in order to avoid any misunderstanding. You booked through Expedia two (2) Standard rooms. You asked for communicating rooms and we do not have in the hotel that possibility in the category you booked for. Therefore, we had upgraded you in two Deluxe rooms that are next to each other. You were in the Andalusian section with views of the inner courtyard as mentioned in your review. To confirm that, please check on our website and you will notice that we do not have Standard rooms in that section.
Giving you the best accommodation was our aim, as we are very keen on our guests' comfort.
Secondly, you booked through Expedia and wanted to pay with Relais & Châteaux gift certificates. All the bookings made on Relais & Châteaux website or directly with us can be paid with Relais & Châteaux gift certificates. But, we made the exception for you, as we do not like to say no.
Regarding the gift certificates, we have the right to apply OUR exchange rate according to the fluctuation of the currency. In order to avoid any disturbance to you and also to the other guests that were at the desk, the owner ordered to the receptionist to apply the rate you wanted. We always want our guests to leave the hotel satisfied. Again, I am very sorry that you had that opinion upon the check-out, but we like transparency.
In addition, we are aware that we had to heat the swimming-pool. We do recognize that inconvenience and are still studying the possibility to solve it. When we planned to do that extension that you described as "very tastefully done in a more modern style", we did a huge investment. The main purpose was to have a heated pool, a fitness center and the spa. But, there was one point that we did forget: the Medina with its old installations! Therefore, the electricity could not support the intensity of the machine. We had to choose between leaving the rooms without hot water or electricity and a non-heated pool. So, we chose the second option for the comfort of our guests. Now, the solution would be to use a machine with gaz that could be too noisy. For the safety and the comfort of our guests, we prefer to take the necessary time to study the pros and cons with our architects and engineers.

Once again, we always do our very best to offer to our guests the most charming, the most enjoyable and the most memorable experience during their stay in the Medieval city.

We are always questioning ourselves, listening to the guests and striving to improve our ways to be the number one in Fez with a top notch service.

I remain at your disposal for any other information you may need and look forward to welcoming you next time with a heated pool.
Best Regards
Mrs. Awa DIAKHATE
Maitresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Exceptionally high quality hotel sitting inside the medina. I was greeted with hot mint tea and snacks while waiting for check-in. The interior design of this hotel is breadth taking with a great view at the top floor over the city. My room was a very cute twin bed room with two floor, upper for the bed; was quite unexpected. The spa, swimming pool and the deck resting areas are all super nice. It is on the high end of the price range and certainly well worthy of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Through little alleys you arrive here and as you walk into the hotel you are just amazed it is so beautiful. We had a lovely room overlooking central pool. Friendly staff. Great food. Close to the Medina.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great experience from top to bottom. Friendly staff. Good service. Rooftop has spectacular view of the city. Perfect location from which to see the Medina. Would come back and stay in a heartbeat. Not a bad value for price....food very solid

Room Tip: overlooking one of the courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Fes. The first impression when you walk through the long pathway in, is one of “Wow”. The lobby or main seating area is gorgeous, excellent, discreet service. The check-in formalities are taken care of while you sit in this stunning space admiring the intricate mosaic tilework (zillij) in the columns and walls.
Pros:
• Superb, beautifully maintained/renovated historic building with grand interior spaces, several beautiful sitting areas and outdoor spaces.
• I can’t find the appropriate superlative to describe the panoramic view of the Fes medinas from the roof terrace (although the furniture is modern and blah). Great place for a drink during the day.
• Drop dead gorgeous bar area with an indoor/outdoor area, water fountains, old world tile-work etc. One of the finest bars I have ever experienced, with excellent bar service.
• Great service all around, very helpful staff.
• Liked the standard room with excellent furnishings (I want that armoire!) and good size, but understand the rooms are a bit tired. See bathroom comment below.
• Superb breakfast and top-notch restaurant on site. We had a gourmet dinner one evening, best meal during our three days in Fes (but see comment below).
• Fantastic pool area with a full size pool and beautiful plant wall.
• At around USD 275 during March, a good value for what you are getting.
Cons:
• The standard room bathrooms were not nice. The lighting was just terrible (two small recessed lights in the ceiling, nothing around the mirror), although bright sunshine during the day helps. Badly designed in terms of shelf space to put your stuff, shower water tends to overflow due to poor drainage, yet has towel warmers.
• We were shown a “superior room after complaining about the bathroom, but it was incongruous, completely modern like any upscale hotel room in say London or NYC, defeating the entire purpose of staying in a Riad (however, I would have taken that bathroom), so beware of the modern superior rooms.
• Wifi in the rooms and some common areas was spotty, often did not work at all, yet consistent strong, fast wifi in the grand lobby area.
• The restaurant serves excellent food, but we were seated in the same area where breakfast is served, which is a modern, bright space, not conducive to an expensive Fes dining experience. The odd part is they have a beautifully decorated dining room (only five tables) just off the bar with a direct view of that stunning courtyard, but designate it the smoking area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#14 of 98 in Fes
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing