We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with exception craftsmanship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Exceptionally high quality hotel sitting inside the medina. I was greeted with hot mint tea and snacks while waiting for check-in. The interior design of this hotel is breadth taking with a great view at the top floor over the city. My room was a very cute twin bed room with two floor, upper for the bed; was quite unexpected. The spa, swimming pool and the deck resting areas are all super nice. It is on the high end of the price range and certainly well worthy of the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 730 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Through little alleys you arrive here and as you walk into the hotel you are just amazed it is so beautiful. We had a lovely room overlooking central pool. Friendly staff. Great food. Close to the Medina.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great experience from top to bottom. Friendly staff. Good service. Rooftop has spectacular view of the city. Perfect location from which to see the Medina. Would come back and stay in a heartbeat. Not a bad value for price....food very solid

Room Tip: overlooking one of the courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Fes. The first impression when you walk through the long pathway in, is one of “Wow”. The lobby or main seating area is gorgeous, excellent, discreet service. The check-in formalities are taken care of while you sit in this stunning space admiring the intricate mosaic tilework (zillij) in the columns and walls.
Pros:
• Superb, beautifully maintained/renovated historic building with grand interior spaces, several beautiful sitting areas and outdoor spaces.
• I can’t find the appropriate superlative to describe the panoramic view of the Fes medinas from the roof terrace (although the furniture is modern and blah). Great place for a drink during the day.
• Drop dead gorgeous bar area with an indoor/outdoor area, water fountains, old world tile-work etc. One of the finest bars I have ever experienced, with excellent bar service.
• Great service all around, very helpful staff.
• Liked the standard room with excellent furnishings (I want that armoire!) and good size, but understand the rooms are a bit tired. See bathroom comment below.
• Superb breakfast and top-notch restaurant on site. We had a gourmet dinner one evening, best meal during our three days in Fes (but see comment below).
• Fantastic pool area with a full size pool and beautiful plant wall.
• At around USD 275 during March, a good value for what you are getting.
Cons:
• The standard room bathrooms were not nice. The lighting was just terrible (two small recessed lights in the ceiling, nothing around the mirror), although bright sunshine during the day helps. Badly designed in terms of shelf space to put your stuff, shower water tends to overflow due to poor drainage, yet has towel warmers.
• We were shown a “superior room after complaining about the bathroom, but it was incongruous, completely modern like any upscale hotel room in say London or NYC, defeating the entire purpose of staying in a Riad (however, I would have taken that bathroom), so beware of the modern superior rooms.
• Wifi in the rooms and some common areas was spotty, often did not work at all, yet consistent strong, fast wifi in the grand lobby area.
• The restaurant serves excellent food, but we were seated in the same area where breakfast is served, which is a modern, bright space, not conducive to an expensive Fes dining experience. The odd part is they have a beautifully decorated dining room (only five tables) just off the bar with a direct view of that stunning courtyard, but designate it the smoking area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful visit to the Riad Fes; not only was the hotel beautiful and historic, but also the service was superb; the staff was warm and friendly and eager to help. Our room was amazing; luxurious and with beautiful architectural detailing. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant; the food was excellent and well-presented. The rooftop patio is a wonderful spot to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset over the city. The location in the Medina is perfect for exploring the markets and the hotel arranged for a friendly and well-informed guide to show us around. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here two nights whilst visiting Fez. Highly recommend if you are seeking friendly, quiet luxury in the midst of the souks of Fez. We were allocated a superb room on the first floor overlooking the central covered courtyard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leshelend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this Riad where we had a lovely time.
It's in the Medina, but not far from a car park/access road. There are signs from the car park though a young lad was summoned by our taxi driver and refused to take any movey for showing us the way.
You come out straight into an alleyway and have to be brave and dive straight into the Medina. I wasn't sure at first but we braved it and only briefly got lost!
The wi-fi issue people talk about in other reviews - well my iPhone worked fine in our room but my husband's iPad only worked in the lobby. But we didn't mind this as it meant we'd go and sit there on comfy seats and have a drink while he caught up.
The roof terrace was fab - but a bit cold in Feb to stay up there long. We had a drink & nibbles until we got too chilly - the view is fantastic and listening to the call for prayer is amazing.
Our room was so peaceful - it looked over one of the courtyards - the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was fine - with lots of lovely toiletries that smelled gorgeous.
We felt the service was great, we booked a guide for a walk to the tanneries and he was brilliant, and generally couldn't have asked for more.
Just wish the weather had been better to sit outside at the bar or on the roof or use the pool!
We didn't use the spa or fitness centre but they looked good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#6 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $209 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing