We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a small tour of Morocco. This was our first riad and we loved the uniqueness of it. Walking in by way of winding passageways was fun. Upon entering we were offered mint tea which gave us a chance to admire the public areas, which are beautiful. Our room was up two floors and we enjoyed a quiet, restful sleep with a great bed. The green tile bathroom was a bit dark, and the shower had a patch which made it feel as if one's foot might go through. I agree with other reviews that the shower was a bit unhandy and the tub had a really high side to climb over. Breakfast was in a pretty room and was very good. We loved the small tagines containers containing dates and sweets upon entering the first night. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    127
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
387
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Riad Fez does not disappoint but it is important not to have expectations which are based on European experiences of Relais and Chateaux. Before confirming check if your room is high up as you may prefer not to climb up to 60 stairs every time you forget something! The staff were courteous and helpful and the food was good. Breakfast was fine although freshly baked bread would have been even better. The Riad decor is tasteful and the courtyard lovely. The location is good if you want to be near the Medina but be prepared it takes time to orientate and be grateful for offers to lead you out to the main streets!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUW0X7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with a few minor quibbles. It would be good if the swimmimg pool was heated over the Christmas period. The hotel wi-fi doesn't work well in the rooms. Some of the corridors to the bedrooms are very dark and so you spend time grappling with key and lock.....

You can see none of these are overly serious and I'm struggling a bit to find fault because the rest is superb. The hotel is wonderfully stylish yet comfortable. Our suite anyway was substantial though some are not so it's worth checking what you are getting when you book.

The food is excellent and imaginative and as with the best of Fez restaurants - with Moroccan and French influences. The service attentive and problem-solving. Reception and concierge - charming and helpful.

All-in-all it was a great place from which to explore the world's largest Medina - a UNESCO heritage site - and to spend Christmas under blue skies and pleasant 18C temperatures. A far cry from what was going on in London at the time!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were booked for two nights at this riad as part of a tour and enjoyed our stay very much. The riad is magnificently designed and appointed although this is not evident from the street. The public rooms are beautifully designed and decorated although a little chilly in early December. Our room was large and luxurious. Front desk service was efficient and helpful. The dining room offered a wonderful breakfast--a buffet on Sunday and table service on Monday. One dinner proved disappointing with the meal being expensive and not very tasty. The riad is right in the medina and well located to explore tha fascinating alleys and monuments of Fes. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at Riad Fes for 3 nighst on a recent trip to Morocco and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great spot in the medina and was an oasis of peace and quiet after a day navigating the chaos of the souks. The riad is beautifully decorated and has a fantastic roof top terrace with a great view over the medina of Fes. Our room was clean, comfortable and luxurious; we even had fresh bottled water in our rooms every day. The included breakfast every morning was great with a good selection of breads, pastries, jams, cook-to-order eggs and crepes, and freshly squeezed juices on offer. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the food was great. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and very professional. Overall we would highly recommend Riad Fes if you're planning a stay in the city of Fes - this was easily our favourite hotel in Morocco!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everything you might expect from a 5-star hotel, in a perfect setting. Breakfast is divine, service was impeccable and the rooftop view is a bonus. The fitness center is a modern one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the first Riad we have stayed in and it was in the middle of the old city or Medina. The rooftop gave a great view of the city and surrounding hills. Bar service up there was a bit slow but very gracious. Their fitness centre was open any time we wanted it and even in the dark at 5am the front desk staff escorted my wife with a flash light to it. The hotel had quite a number of half steps that were hard to see and my wife twisted her ankle on one of them which caused a problem for the rest of the trip - it would be nice if they marked them with some visible means to prevent that. The room was especially nice but it overlooked the bar which was a bit noisy until about 11pm. Turndown service was great and again, other than all the invisible steps, there was no proper shower in the room and I had to tie the hand held to the towel rack to create one. It made a bit of a mess which we felt sorry about but it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower and not overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Fes_Manager, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Lyle K,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us.
I am glad that Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux was a nice introduction to Fez Medina.
First of all, I am very sorry for what happened to your wife. I hope she is feeling better now. We will check with our interior designer how to make the steps in the patios more visible in order to avoid any inconvenience to our guests.
Regarding the shower, we will start by next week a renovation in some of our bathrooms. Following our guests remarks and suggestions, they mostly prefer showers to bathtubs.
It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our Terrace Bar that has been opened during that week for a trial period. That is why the service was slow and I deeply apologize for that. Now, all the equipments including the service lift are on spot and the service is smoother.
Our goal is for all of our guests to be incredibly happy and satisfied during their stay.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we certainly hope to welcome you back at Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux.

Best Regards
Mrs. Awa DIAKHATE
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#14 of 98 in Fes
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing