We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity restaurant is so devoid of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pity restaurant is so devoid of character”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Riad Fes consists of five old houses joined together. The central hall is a magnificent chamber in the local style. However when you pass to the restaurant the setting becomes anonymous and modern. There are not even local objets d'art to relieve the bland decor. Despite the Relais et Chateaux cachet, there was mechanical disco music pumping through the restaurant throughout our meal. The fixed price menu at 45 euros costs almost twice what is charged in other excellent Riad restaurants nearby. But the food is not twice as good and the setting is dreary. The appetizers are delicious - an array of subtle salads, making good use of local spices and vegetables. The main courses, however, consist of unadorned hunks of lamb or beef without originality or special flavor. The deserts are dull. It is as if the restaurant and the cuisine were designed by a committee which could not quite make up its mind what style to adopt - modern or traditional. Pity, as the Riad itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: The hotel sounds exquisite but the restaurant is expensive and disappointing for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    128
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
388
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I didn't realise that this Riad was a Relais and Chateaux, otherwise I wouldn't have been surprised at how
Luxurious this place is.

I cannot fault the service or location and they are treating me like Royalty.

The pool is stunning and everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Beautiful place, excellent service, delicious food, this is by far the best hotel I've stayed in. You must see it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our General Tours trip to Morocco booked us into this riad in Fes. We were warmly welcomed in the lovely ornate hotel lobby with a plate of goodies and a staff member who served us mint tea. Our room overlooked the central open courtyard and pool, and a complimentary bottle of wine was in the room. There were a wide variety of options at breakfast and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel meets all expectations of authentic morroccan architecture. The rooms are facing an enclosed morrocan tiled courtyard. The bedrooms are large and dark, and - for the most part, grand, however, stuffy due to lack of air. Oddly, the bathrooms are small and separated only by a glass swinging door to and from the room. The hotel is very clean; the staff courteous, (but not real friendly or happy looking); the food is very good. I suspect this is the finest hotel in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluehorizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Fez was my wife and my last stop on a 10-day tour of Marrakesh and the Sahara Desert (Merzouga Dunes). After a six+ hour drive from the desert, arriving at the Riad Fes was like a long drink of water. We found the rather hidden entrance to the Medina nearest to the riad thanks to helpful local drivers. A porter met us at the Medina gates. The entry to the property is somewhat oblique and you have to go through a cool hallway and then an anteroom before the soaring, ornate inner courtyard of the riad opened up to you. It was so wonderful to be greeted by the manager and have her sit us down for tea and to be checked-in. Very civilized! We were taken to our room off one of the four different courtyards. It was perfect and we had been upgraded without even asking. The room was spacious and quiet. The bathroom was modern with a wonderful shower and amenities, including Moroccan slippers - a nice touch!

After moving through several different riads across the country, we really appreciated that the Riad Fes incorporated modern stylistic elements into the ancient designs. For example, two of the four courtyards were "Moroccan modern," meaning they were not the traditional tiled courtyards, but were a modern, organic interpretation of the old style. It fit in beautifully and was not at all jarring. The same was true of the main restaurant where breakfast and dinner were served. It was a modern space but still let you know you were in the ancient imperial city of Fes. To us, it did not feel de-natured like a hotel that could be anywhere. We thought the design gave a strong sense of place, particularly as it was juxtaposed next to the traditional design elements of the entry courtyard.

Our fellow travelers at the hotel were a varied bunch: Americans, French, German, Australian, Middle-Eastern, etc. Given that this is a Relais & Chateaux property, the group was, as you might expect, quite chic! More importantly, the food was wonderful (both breakfast and dinner) and the service was top-notch. We have stayed at several Relais & Chateaux properties around the world (we actually seek them out due to their high standards) and this one is among the best.

I would say that the only thing we didn't love was the pool. There was a nice lounge next to it, but it felt very enclosed and not private, in that you could look down on it from the restaurant. This is a common problem for most riads, due to simple space concerns, and is not unique to the Riad Fes. Most people probably don't mind, but we actually ended up not using the pool. Again, I simply want to emphasize that this is a matter of personal preference, nothing more. I supoose if you want a separate pool area, you can always choose a more typical hotel (rather than riad) experience.

The other amenities, like the soaring, on-site hamam were great. The front desk was always ready to help with organizing city tour guides, changing money, etc. We found the service and housekeeping to be unobtrusive, excellent and helpful.

We also loved the location of the Riad Fes. Close, but not too close to the busiest parts of the Medina. Overall, we would recommend this property to anyone seeking a riad experience in the old city of Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandRebeccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our trip to Fes was enhanced greatly by our stay at the Riad Fes. Our Junior Suite was quiet and comfortable; the restaurant was terrific; and the pool very refreshing after a morning in the Medina.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing