We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Al Bartal is Awesome!!”
Review of Riad Al Bartal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Bartal
Ranked #14 of 211 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Riad Al Bartal is Awesome!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in Riad El Bartal...
Omar and Abdul were really cool, with perfect English and a great knowledge of Fes. 'Poulet' the parrot was lovely...
The decoration in the Riad was Spectacular. We felt like we were transported into another time... The stylish inner courtyard had a magical feel.
Our split level room was small but cosy, quiet and comfortable.
The food was excellent for our evening meal, and the breakfasts were generous.
The guys arranged for us to have a tour of the medina... Abdul the guide was very friendly, informative and fun to be with. He took us to places we never could have found on our own... He even taught us some Arabic!!Highly recommended...
You will love this Riad, it's not in the centre of the old town, so you will need your hiking shoes (the medina is massive!) but the benefit is you can park your car right across the street.
You will love your stay here...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatricVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
121
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I have just got back from Fes where we stayed at Riad Al Bartal. This place is stunning. Real Morocco - the tiles and carved pillars will make your jaw drop. We were greeted by Abdul with mint tea and some local cakes/biscuits. We booked a suite on the first floor as it is more private than the rooms on the ground floor which open on to the courtyard. The rooms on the first floor open out on to the landings that overlook the courtyard. The suite was huge! It would cost double the price if in Europe. We had a massive room with a 4 poster bed, high ceilings and tons of space, a separate private lounge area and a big bathroom with the most amazing giant circular beaten metal bathtub/shower. I saw inside some of the other rooms and I think we got the best one - it is called Seffarine. You could easily use the lounge room as 2 single beds for 2 children. Fes can be pretty cold in January and the room had great heating (also aircon for summer) and patio heaters in the courtyard. Also the courtyard is covered at roof level so you don't have cold and rain coming in - some riads are open. The shower was great pressure, really good and there was plenty of hot water. Wardrobe with plenty of hangers. I took my own hairdryer and we took our own suitcase locks. I'm not sure if there is a safe in reception but we could lock our room and it felt completely secure. Plenty of towels, very comfortable huge bed...we slept so well and there wasn't any noise. Dinner is served in the riad courtyard at 8pm and the food was easily the best we ate in Fes, very very good. It is an additional charge but not expensive at 200 dirhams per person for 3 courses. You need to let the staff know in the morning before 12 if you want to eat dinner with them, which is served from 8pm onwards. Breakfast was included in the room fee and was also good; yoghurt, omelette, fresh juice, bread, toast and jams, tea and coffee. You can take breakfast at any time.The staff here will also arrange drivers and guides for you. It is very definitely advisable to use a guide advised by the riad rather than to use any you are approached by outside. The prices through the riad were often cheaper than those offered outside and we also got very competent people; you take a risk on getting stitched up by trying to find your own drivers and guides. On one of the days we had a guide called Abdul who took us in to the poorest part of the medina - an area you will possibly not find if you go alone...much better to go with someone like Abdul who can tell you what things are and navigate the 9,600 alleyways of the medina for you! You can also contact Abdul here Abdouloukili@hotmail.fr mobile 00212 661356862. He made our day, spoke great English and obviously knows his city very well. He showed us all sorts of things we would never have found if just using a guide book or the internet. He cost £250 dirhams for a half day for the two of us. We also got a driver/guide for another full day through the riad and he drove us out to the Mid Atlas to the forests to see (and feed!) the wild Barbary monkeys, to some of the small towns, to a beautiful huge lake and to visit with Fatima in her troglodyte cave home. You won't be able to do this without hiring someone. Check out local restaurant The Ruined Garden if you want a change for dinner one night and also the great hang out called The Clock just inside the medina not far from the blue gate. This is a stunning riad - loved it...and the details and furnishings are incredible. You will be blown away when you first walk in! 10 minutes walk to the medina, very easy route. Better to stay outside the medina where taxis can reach you! They can't drive in to the medina.

Room Tip: Book a suite - they are lighter and massive and stunningly elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I slept one night here and this was really pure Moroccan style. A peaceful place and beautiful interior which really surpirsed me. The door outside was simple and did not exposed what was inside.
The breakfast very good and service perfect. I have not to complain at all, I would like to go back. The price also good. The beds are too hard for me but there is like that everywhere in the world. :)

Room Tip: I had one with two floors witj steep steps, dont choose this if you have problems to ealk up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank female50year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I spent four wonderful days at Ryad Al Bartal last month. The Ryad itself is an astonishing place with a fascinating patio filled with luxuriant plants of all sorts. Our suite was both spacious and exquisitely furnished.Add to this the staff, unobtrusive but always helpful, plus Poulette, the local mascot (quite a sociable parrot!), no wonder we found it difficult to leave the Ryad after breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 903Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Riad al Bartal has a dreamy quality---fell in love with the place the moment the wooden door opened and a very friendly host invited us in. The aroma of the Moroccan mint tea was our second welcoming greeter, while the intricacies of the woodwork, plaster and tile walls, perfectly complemented by the luxuriant plants and artisan decorations overwhelmed our senses. Then Poulette, the gregarious parrot, greeted us with a perfect-pitch 'Marseillaise' fragment (its other musical hit being the theme song of the movie "Bridge Over River Kwai").

The rooms are uniquely and artfully decorated, while the interior court is the perfect setting for a relaxed, elegantly served and tasty meal---I could not stop snapping my camera. After a long day of visiting the tumultuous streets of the medina, returning to the riad and its blissfully peaceful ambiance was tantamount to stepping into a corner of the paradise.

The staff is very helpful, efficient, courteous and pleasantly engaging in conversations when asked about details and customs of the city or the history of the riad. They arranged for our airport transportation and booked for us a wonderful private guide to take us to the medina. The breakfasts and candle-lit dinners were served promptly and attentively in beautiful dishes. We loved the appetizers and the tagines. As a matter of fact, we loved everything about this place and did not feel like leaving when our stay was over. We should return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Given the high review ratings here, I must admit we had high expectations of Riad al Bartal.

The ambiance was gorgeous, a dream of a riad setting, very romantic and lovely for a special dinner.

But then, sadly, expectations were not at all met.

Our food was okay - not amazing, (for instance, not nearly as good as our dinner the night before at Dar Hatim, which was also cheaper). For the cost, which was what I'd spend on a good meal back here in the U.S., I expected more than a few small salads, a moderately good tagine, and a western-style pear crumble with far more crumble than pear.

But it was the service that really made the experience so much less than it could have been. We sat down at 8, the assigned time for dinner, and the server did none of what you'd expect at a nice restaurant -- he didn't give us choices for food, but also didn't tell us what the set meal was, or even that there WAS a set meal that would involve the following courses, x, y, and z. He didn't welcome us, or give us any sense of hospitality. He plunked down a drinks menu, and then just started bringing out courses.

The courses, already prepared for the prearranged time, then came out SO fast that there was, again, no pace or ceremony or niceness to the dinner. Now, I don't like waiting forever for my food. But this felt like fast-food, not a nice restaurant. The instant we finished one thing, the next came out, everything had clearly been pre-made, since it's a pre-set menu -- meaning that we finished a three course dinner 45 minutes after we started! If you're in a rush, that's great. But if you are looking for a nice dinner in a beautiful location that FEELS like a really nice meal, this wasn't it.

We wanted to linger a bit at the end of our meal, since the location _was_ absolutely gorgeous. So we asked for mint tea (not included in the price of the meal, but we were happy to pay extra). Guess what - this was the only place in all of Morocco that did not have mint tea! So, 45 minutes after sitting down, we left.

If the price was half what it was, I'd rate this higher. But for this price, a little ceremony, a more welcoming service, and a little better food, should be expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This Riad is a truly nice surprise in Fes. As always with Riads, the entrance is deceiving; inside there is plenty of light and you are surrounded by high columns (about 10 meters), plants and chanting birds. The atmosfer is great, personnel is fantastic. I highly recommend eating there as well, we decided to explore and give other restaurants / hotels / Riad a try but they were not at the same level (and more expensive).

Room Tip: Only little advice is on the room choice, we were in the Berber that, although very nicely decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 98 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 98 in Fes
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Bartal

Property: Riad Al Bartal
Address: 21 rue Sournas | quartier Ziat, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Bartal 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be charmed by this riad in the Arab-Andalusian architecture. the limited capacity of 5 suites and 3 rooms, allows you to customize the contacts and to take the time to settle down in an harmonious décor. the patio filled with green plants offer more intimate corners for reading. A library is available and full of books on the history and cultures of Morocco and the art of oriental cooking but also something to prepare for documenting his visits to the medina and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riad Al Bartal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Bartal Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing