We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An islamic little jewel in the Medina of Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bou Inania Medersa

Bou Inania Medersa
Book In Advance
More Info
$327.58*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Fez from Casablanca
Ranked #5 of 73 things to do in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An islamic little jewel in the Medina of Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Within narrow streets of the Medina, you find this wonderful Medersa, about 200 m from Bab Ben joulud
Do not miss it!
10 dirham for the entrance

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isoladilipari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    212
    67
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
444 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Another splendid building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautiful building with intricately designed woodwork, stone and plaster. The medersa is behind a large set of doors so we actually missed the sign the first time we walked by. When you exit the medersa be sure to take a few steps to your left and look up to see the water clock and just a little further along is the land which leads you to the Café Clock (one of the best meals we had in Morocco).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
506 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Another great photo op”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful tower, interesting walls (particularly interior walls) and great photo op. Having a guide (or using a guidebook) is very important, otherwise you will miss a great deal of the background and history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth the 10 dhm entrace fee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

You really wouldn't expect this inside the medina. Very well maintained and you can barely hear the hustle and bustle outside. Very peaceful inside.

The woodwork is quite amazing for photo opp. We spent quite some time enjoying the various pattern and depending on the time of day you came, the sun hitting the wall just have such an impact to me. I don't believe the school is in session so use your imagination.

Yes you had to pay 10 dhm but I would gladly do so they can continue to maintain this for us to enjoy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful architecture and decoration. Went in with our guide who also took us round the Medina - good idea for a first visit. This Medersa us very interesting and right opposite Café Clock - also has a fascinating history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damaris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bou Inania Medersa also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Bou Inania Medersa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing