We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Wassim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wassim Hotel
Ranked #95 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

In Europe the Wassim would be rated 1 or 2 star, so don't be fooled by the '4 star' category. It's a circa 1970s building in need of renovation and redecoration. Having said this, it's in an excellent central location with cafes and restaurants nearby, the staff were very helpful and the room was clean. Can't say we rated the breakfast (coffee, bread, jam and watered-down orange juice), but for £36 per room per night, it was still a bargain. Make sure you ask for a room on one of the higher floors - even the receptionist admitted that noise from the nightly disco in the basement (opens at 12 am, closes at 4 am!) can be a problem.

Would we stay there again? Yes, but 2 nights would probably be enough...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travellightdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Wassim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 84 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2007

The Wassim is in the new town and as such is in quite an isolated location (in terms of restaurants etc.).

The hotel is a rather dull 1980s affair which although is comfortable enough is rather depressing.

The rooms were a reasonable size and were clean enough. The food in the restaurant was pretty poor but due to the location it was hard to find anything else to eat.

The bar was the epitome of the 1980s and was somewhere to avoid.

The hotel staff were friendly enough but few spoke any English.

Not awful but there must be better.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful. English is not a primary language in Fes but all the desk staff was fluent enough to give directions and care for our needs.
It is located convienently in the modern part of town, about a $1.50 taxi ride from the medina, two blocks from the taxi stand, 3 blocks from the state handcraft shop ( a good place to get an idea of price and quality before heading to the medina) and easy walking distance to resturaunts.
The evening buffet is way overpriced, skip it, but we did breakfast included and were very pleased. There were bottomless pots of coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, milk, tea, hard boiled eggs, olives, sliced tomatoes, cheese, a couple types of jam, light pasteries and crusty bread.
My room, on the 7th floor, was relativley quiet. I had a small balconey with a view of a private garden and the main avenue , which is beautifully landscaped and provided exceptional people watching.
My overall experience was very good for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This hotel has its own club. Great if you want to party - to cheesy hits that is. Bad if you want to sleep between the hours of 12 and 4am. We stayed on the second floor and the first night (Sat) thought it was a party nearby. The staff in the morning told us it was their own club! We were stunned actually because the bass music was so loud we couldn't sleep a wink. We asked if there would be more music the next night and being a Sunday they said no, but come midnight, unbelievably it started up again. I got up to see if they would turn it down but the manager was more interested in keeping his party punters happy than hotel guests. They were also full and couldn't put us somewhere else. For the second night in a row we watched BBC tv 'cause there was no point trying to sleep. At least a staff member was helpful in removing a really large COCKROACH from our bathroom.
Breakfast was poor, you'd get much better value from a cheap 'cafe' in the medina. The coffee was tepid, the crepes were good if you could get them, but that was pretty much all they had on offer. In general buffet food in hotels is best avoided!
We left feeling more stressed than rested thats for sure.
When we returned home I laid a complaint through the booking service, I wanted my money back. The hotel manager (Nabil) eventually replied claiming no complaint was ever made, by anyone and no action would follow. Unbelievable!! Anyone who has stayed there, at the least on the first and second floors would have heard the music, there must be many guests who have suffered the same hell. AVOID THIS HOTEL.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank badrobotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

It is definitely no 4-star. I would mark it as 1 or 2 in European standard.
Most staff are very friendly. Some speak limited but manageable English.
The senior receptionist (Nabeel) can be very rude with any customer (I watched and he was behaving similarly with everyone) by suddenly ignoring you in the middle of a conversation to speak with another receptionist (unrelated to your conversation) another customer or answer the phone (which rings every 30 seconds) while you are still standing patiently. And, if another customer comes towards the reception then you should also expect to be suddenly suitably ignored in the middle of your sentence while Nabeel is attending to the second customer then without any warning ignores that customer and comes back to you.
Staff generally are very friendly but it is very obvious that they were plucked off the streets without any formal training.
It has a simple though nice entrance.
There has always been a stinking sewage smell near the lifts (at all hotel levels) although there were no toilets in the vicinity. Sometimes the stink is less evident but only when you smell the unmistakable spray of deodoriser
The towels are a bit tatty and smell of a faint putrid odour. I work in a hospital where towels smell exactly the same and I know that this does not mean that they are not clean.
The blankets did not seem to have been cleaned for sometime (something like a dry human secretion on one of them) but the white sheets are very clean and spotless.
There is a small fridge in the room.
Telly has BBC-World channel.
Breakfast is from 7 to 10 am and is very basic: Pastries and croissants, baguettes, Msamman (which is a very delicious Moroccan pastry but unfortunately here was always stale and not as nice as the fresh ones you eat in shops outside), nice olives, wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice, jams, butter and hot drinks.
If you are a late riser then do not expect that the tea or coffee is still hot. When we requested the cold tea thermos to be replaced with a hot one we got a new thermos full with tea which was as cold. They managed to provide us with a proper hot one at the end.
Every night and in the early hours of the morning, a couple of male staff regularly have a loud chat outside at the hotel entrance which can keep you in the rooms above awake because of badly insulated windows. The Moroccan men have a tradition of speaking very loudly and I found these chats much louder and more annoying than the busy street night traffic noise. Once it rains, the couple move indoors and then you can have some sleep.
On one occasion, the bath water was not hot but that was immediately corrected after reporting to reception.
It is in a good location, on Rue Liban, off the beautiful mile long King Hassan II Street which has a gorgeous wide central reservation and many shops.
Internet café is only 2 minutes walk without crossing any roads: Take left out of hotel, then another left walking along King Hassan II street, then first left.
The trip to old Fes is 15 min by a red (Petit) Taxi costing only £1 (15 dirham). A white (Grand) taxi can take you on excursions lasting all day and costs 500-1000 Dirham (£30.5 - £61). much better and perhaps cheaper than renting a car.
The much better and only slightly more expensive 5-star hotel of Royal Mirage Fes is only 2 blocks away. You can have an awesome buffet dinner there for 200 Dirham (£12.20).
In the nearby Royal Mirage Hotel, here is always a nightly belly dancing in its "Moroccan Restaurant". You can have just a tea (30 Dirham, or £1.80) and enjoy the whole night. But they do the best Bastilla in Fes at only £7.30 and an excellent bottle of wine there is only £9.75. Service is first class.
The Royal Mirage is only £14 per night more expensive for a double room, but you will be pampered in a really nice 5 star hotel that has swimming pool and very professional and well trained staff. That is where I am going back next time.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S9KSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

On our tour we stayed two nights in this hotel.. It is situated on a side street but close to a mainavenue and shopping area.
The rooms are clean, but the airconditioning was not working. During the first night the noise from the disco kept us awake, the second night was a Friday, so luckily no disco
The dinners and breakfasts were good with a lot of choises..

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

Situated in Ville Nouvelle and close to the train station the hotel is in an OK location. You will need a petit taxi to get to the interesting parts of town though and decent restaurants.

The staff are cheerful and helpful and tried hard despite their limited English and my limited French. As in the previous review though, the guide selected did take me to many shops under the guises of berber houses etc. But you don't have to buy and frankly you get the best view of the tanneries from the terrace of a leather shop.

The room was sparse by European standards, but was clean and did have a good shower.

The breakfast included baguettes, and some dry pastries, as well as boiled eggs, cake, and salad. OK, but nothing special. But overall for the price paid over the internet for the room and breakfast it was quite a bargain. I would probably stay elsewhere next time purely to be in a different part of town rather than there being anything wrong with the hotel. I would say it was 2-3 stars rather than 4.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#92 of 100 in Fes
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
#88 of 100 in Fes
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#40 of 100 in Fes
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel l'escale
#86 of 100 in Fes
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 100 in Fes
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassim Hotel

Address: 11 Boulevard Hassan II | Rue du Liban, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wassim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wassim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wassim Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing