We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts in a great spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Naima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Naima
Ranked #126 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts in a great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dar Naima is a lovely small riad just inside the old medina walls of Fes, 300 metres from the blue gate and close to the western traveller favourite (café Clock) as well as the convenient upper car park. The riad is great value for money and run by lovely helpful people, in particular Hanane and her sister, who were helpful in the extreme. They bent over backwards to help us wherever they could, form organising tours to helping us get our washing done. The riad itself is small enough to be homely and one does get a sense of privacy which is often rare in riad style accommodation. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning was always a treat, which provided the opportunity to take advantage of the great view of the mountains and the medina from the rooftop. The only arrears for improvement for me would be the shower situation and the dodgy lock on the room door. The water pressure and hot water were great but the drainage was lacking and turned the whole bathroom into a bit of a wading pool. The lock on the room door was very flimsy, although we had no concerns regarding our belongings I could imagine people who were a bit security conscious feeling a little unprotected. These are small issues however and I would recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in the Dar Naima for a few days on a short trip from Barcelona. I can thoroughly recommend this Riad for the location and the exceptionally friendly staff, Hanane in particular was always ready to help guests with shopping trips, guides or taxis. The roof terrace was a fantastic bonus, though sometimes a little chilly at this time of year. The Riad is in the process of expansion and renovation so the entrance is a bit rough and ready but that was more than made up for by the daily room cleaning, towel changing and traditional internal decor. Our impression was that the Riad is really rather easy to find from the Ain Azlitten gate but Hanane prefers to meet you there as I guess its easier to find you before you get lost... Fes itself is a fascinating place with little major hassle from touts. Quite a few will try it on as a guide or to sell you something but mostly in a friendly way and there was never any aggravation. In general tourists are a minor part of Fes so are not entirely treated as cash cows. Eating out in the Medina is limited to the few overpriced tourist restaurants but the Fassis do not eat out much if at all so these restaurants are 100% for tourists. In reality it still very cheap by European standards and the delicious Pastilla is well worth the price. If money really matters buy one from a stall and feast for pennies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tour1st62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czech republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stay in this bed and breakfast for two nights. The accommodation is clean, with toilet and shower. Also they have really beautiful view from terrace on the top of the house. Breakfast is served on the terrace.
Place is difficult to find for first time. It is better to spent few dirhams for guide there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pdadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We didn´t know where we would stay in our unplanned trip to Fez. We were very lucky to find Mr. Said in the train station that contacted this wonderful place for us to stay. It was a great surprise with spacious clean rooms, wonderful views form the window and the terrace, private bathroom. Beyond our expectations in the heart of the Medina of Fez. We thank the hostess family for their kindness and hospitality. Great choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed three days here and is a renewed riad with some very nice, renewed parts of the building (old cedar door etc). It is near to the center of medina, but in a quiet part, so a good place for relax. Also have a terrace with a wonderful view on the medina.
A medium quality breakfast included.
The hosts are friendly and helpful, helping us in finding a car for rent.
One minus is the very huge, tourist prices for the food here, or in the recommended restaurants (just few meters from this riad), these are especially for tourists, around 5 times (500%) more expensive then should be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liviu6516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had one night stay at this accommodation and have already recommended it to friends who are travelling to Morocco. The family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

We enjoyed an evening meal on the terrace overlooking the city, wonderful people, amazing experience.

The location is good for tourists as you step out of the door you are straight in to the alleys, streets and buzz of Fes.

The building is work in progress but not detrimental to the accommodation at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were surpriced when we arrived because the guesthouse is not totally finished but we LOVED our stay here. The two sisters took realy good care and treated us as family. The breakfast was amazing, the best we have had in Marocco (home made jam???). If you cannot stay here, be sure you have a dinner, the price is friendly and again... the chef seems to love to cook. The room we stayed in was cheap and pretty comfortable. Please note that the hostel is hard to find so be sure that someone pickes you up or dropps you off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sammellink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#34 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 59 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nassim
Riad Nassim
#183 of 209 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 59 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Naima

Property: Dar Naima
Address: 7 Ferrane Kouicha rue Talaa Kibera, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Naima riad is owned and run by a local family and centrally located in the Fes Old Medina on Talla Kebira. It is 10 minutes walk to Bab Boujoloud, walking distance to restaurants, souks, tanneries and the famous medersa Bouaninya. Breakfast is included and served on the rooftop terrace with panoramic views over the medina and surrounding hills. Rooms -Double/Twin/Triple/Quad w/en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Naima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing