We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Faracha Fes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Faracha Fes
Ranked #3 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vidreres
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Undoubtedly the best in Fes. It is not a big, luxiourious, five star resort and we were very happy about that! This is the place you want to stay if you are looking for the nicest staff ever, yummy yummie meals, a cosy, clean, classy room, and a place that feels like home. I am a vegetarian AND I avoid carbohydrates and no problem at all! we loved the food. Close to the Rcif square and conveniently a little bit further away from Bab Boujaloud. We will definatly repeat. Don't think about it twice. Book. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha17411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
122
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

After spending a week in Morocco and staying in several different riads, this was definitely our favourite. Down a tiny road in the medina near the Place R'cif, the riad has been lovingly restored with historical charm as well as a contemporary touch. The bedrooms have wonderful colored themes, the terrace is fantastic with several levels, and there is even a pet turtle! The night we ate dinner in the riad the food was very well prepared and as good as anything we'd had in a restaurant (you can order wine as well) and and the service was delightful. The riad is well located for visiting the medina and is also near the large food market at the place r'cif, making it easy to pick up a snack or a quick street food dinner on the way in or out of the hotel. Joelle has really made the place her own, and met us at the place r'cif on the way in as well as arranged and took us to the taxi at 4am for an early flight out of Fes. She knows the area well and when we were walking to the hotel greeted all her neighbors on the way, which contributed to the welcoming and friendly vibe of the place.
Next time I'm in Morocco, I'm definitely coming back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank evvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

As soon as we booked the place, superior customer service started! Joelle ensured we got everything we needed, explained inter-city transport, pick up from train station, etc. Already then I felt welcomed!
It was scary arriving through medina after the sunset, but walking into Dar Feracha was breathtaking! The stay there - superior: quiet rooms, clean space, delicious food, and excellent location! The rooftop was enjoyable even in February!
The only regret I have is not booking this for the end - since other stays couldn't live up to Joelle's Dar!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamraTurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 in 2 rooms upstairs, as everyone has stated it was a lovely place well hidden even our tour guide had to come with us as he was not sure where it was.
We stayed 2 nights and had a great in house cooked meal, Joelle and her staff could not do enough for us for our short stay.
Would recommend you get a guide if it is your first visit as the place is like a maze especially at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

You simply cannot be disappointed by going to Dar Faracha. I liked visiting Fes, but Dar Faracha was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. What did we like? The Riad is recently renovated, it is beautiful, a true oasis of peace in the Medina of Fes. The rooms are beautiful, the terrasse is amazing with sunbeds to enjoy an afternoon nap in the shade...The employees are kind and it was a real pleasure to chat with Joelle who tells many stories about Fes and Morocco :) The food is great too: kudos to the cook Loubna: we didn't find a better place for diner! Mostly, we felt at home, in a peaceful and friendly environment! I highly recommend it. Thanks again Joelle and Dar Faracha !

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Some can accomodate more than a couple - but I ma sure you will get guidance ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We got in on the super late train, and we had arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the train station. I'm not going to lie -- having Joelle walking us through the medina, I didn't know what to think about where we were sleeping. But then she opened up the door, and we were in heaven. The place is beautifully restored. The team was VERY accommodating and so sweet! We ended up having them cook us dinner on our first full night, and it turned out to be our best meal in Morocco. We had an entire chicken smothered in a type of olive puree and lemon confit (I'm sure I butchered it, but whatever it was -- it was fabulous). Joelle also set us up with the BEST tour guide…one of the highlights of our trip…Abdullah! If you've never been to Fes, just pony up the money and have someone show you around. The medina is too confusing (must more so than Marakkech), and he's incredibly knowledgeable. I feel like we walked all 10,000 streets of the medina, although I know it was probably close to 2,000 that day. We were exhausted by the end of the day, but it was absolutely amazing. Merci, Joelle!

NOTE: If you have mobility issues (i.e.: wheelchair, etc), staying here may be a problem. The medina has some insanely narrow streets, and there are lots of stairs to get to the hotel and to get to the upper rooms. I'd recommend checking with Joelle first before booking to see if she has a solution.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This Dar, hidden deep in the Medina of Fez (you will find it hard to believe a passageway can be so narrow) is beautifully decorated with a talented and helpful staff. Unless you are familiar with Fez, arrange for someone to pick you up at the airport or train station. By all means take any offer of meals to be cooked by the chef Loubna. Absolutely the best food we had in Morocco was cooked by her at the Dar Faracha - it would not be a mistake to have all your main meals in the Dar. The proprietor Joelle is always ready with help, suggestions, and connections in Fez, and she loves to chat with her guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated. It would be hard to choose any one over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillsh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Faracha Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Faracha Fes

Property: Dar Faracha Fes
Address: 16 Derb Lamkouass | Laayoun, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dar Faracha Fes, we hope you will enjoy your stay and come back! You can rent rooms or all the riad. Some rooms are made for 3 or 4 personns. In each room: you will find: bathroom, toilets, queen size bed, wifi, egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Faracha Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing