We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris meets Fez”
Review of NUR Restaurant

NUR Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 209 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $78 - $78
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: NUR Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Fez Medina: the cradle of Moroccan gastronomy. The medina is filled with local markets offering a cornucopia of seasonal flavors. From wild local mushrooms to the hallmark mint and coriander, lean chickens and camel's milk, it boasts a feast for senses on every level. The goal of NUR (Arabic for "light") is to shine a light on the potential of Moroccan gastronomy.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paris meets Fez”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This restaurant is absolutely superb. We (a group of 5 friends) all enjoyed our evening there very much. The food was really delicious – and so fresh! French dishes but with a Moroccan twist. The desserts in particular were out of this world. I also loved the way the owners (Stephen and Bruno) have decorated it, Moroccan but modern - mostly black and white. Stephen and Bruno also own Riad Numero 9 which is just around the corner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ132012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    30
    16
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A welcome retreat from the craziness of Fes.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Great coffee (and I'm not a Starbucks fan so I only like real coffee) it is worth a trip here just for the coffee.

We ordered croque monsieur which was lovely and came with a delicious pea salad and a morrocan soup.

The decor is a striking black and white concoction with a water feature to the side. It works very well.

The staff bend over backwards to help you and although they don't speak great English they definitely speak enough to get by and an impressive amount for a third language (after Arabic and French).

Should be on the to do list whilst in Fes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden, but well worth discovering”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If Numero 7 were a bar, it might be up there with some of the coolest in the world. The monochromatic interior gives you the impression you have quite literally walked straight into the 1920s whilst the jazz soundtrack and the location in the Medina only reinforce the notion that you've stepped back at least a few centuries. Of course, most important is the food, and it did not disappoint. We had a Moroccan salad to start followed with salmon for the main course and did not feel in slightest as though the meal was overshadowed by our surroundings. The chef, Bruno, comes straight out of Parisien culinary scene and there is definitely a taste of the city in each dish, however the does not detract from the distinctive Moroccan flavour imbued in everything we tried. A fantastic restaurant for a beautiful night out in Fes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hugocampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Place Is a Gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I were enjoying an idyllic vacation at Riad9 in Fes, Morocco when we decided to try the new adjoining restaurant, Restaurant Numero 7. Recently opened by the riad’s owners, Stephen di Renza and Bruno Ussel, Mr. Ussel is the Chef with an impressive culinary pedigree from years working in Paris.

The restaurant’s beautifully designed black and white interior is full of surprises. A waterfall makes peaceful background sounds, My husband had the lemon veal chops which were tender and succulent. I had pink atlas trout which was very fresh and extremely well-prepared. For dessert we shared a dark chocolate and orange tart which was memorable. If you’re in this part of the world, do not miss this gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaughWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

An incredibly stylish restaurant in the heart of Fez Medina, where Moroccan tradition meets new and blends perfectly. Everything is black or white. Incredibly, the cutlery is solid silver - so stylish!

The food was wonderful. I had a delightful pea salad with artichoke.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FarnhamJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NUR Restaurant also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to NUR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing