We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two faces to this place”
Review of Riad Nassim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Nassim
Ranked #187 of 212 Fes B&B and Inns
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“two faces to this place”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

About the riad. Situated at the edge of the medina close to a luxury hotel but still not that easy to find at first. The taxi dropped us off at the main gate and immediately the touts flew in. Do not use their help, try to find the instructions from the bellboys at the Palais Jamai (luxury hotel). During daytime it is possible to hike down the streets and find your way into the heart of the Medina, wouldn`t reccommend to do it or to come back to the hotel in the dark using the small streets. Taking a cab from the Blue gates for example was cheap, just settle the price beforehand. 7 dirhams or so seemed reasonable. It was relatively more calm and peacful to rumble the streets during morning and lunch hours as the locals are more busy with running their businesses or sleeping.
We booked the suite in Nassim, the price difference was not that big and the room was really nice. Loads of space, big bed etc. Bathroom was regular size. No windows or view though as it is situated on the ground floor. Breakfast was served where you wanted it to be served, so practically everybody had it at the rooftop terrace. During the evenings the view from the top was really nice, a good place to enjoy your evening drink or snack.
At the time of the visit the riad was under construction, they were painting and redoing the lobby etc so once they finish it will probably look stunning.
The other side. I read through some of the other reviews here and a couple of them talked about similar issues. It seems the place has changed ownership at some point as all the wonderful people mentioned in some of the previous reviews were not present anymore. I didn`t ask about them but it was obvious that they had left. The people present were friendly but very weird. It seemed as the parents had left for a weekend and the kids were having a party, as the place was crowded with local people all the time. In the beginning with the constructions it seemed as the place is totally shut down (even the room was not ready and set up when we arrived) but then other guests appeared as well. During daytime it was noisy with all the crowd hanging and watching TV and smoking in the lobby, the front door was open 24 h, as it seemed bashed in or something. Really couldn`t trust any travel tips about Fes from them as they didn`t seem to know anything. We didn`t plan to have dinner at the place but it was obvious that there is no restaurant at the premises so do not plan to eat there anything else besides breakfast. So at the beginning it was a bit disturbing but in the end it worked out well.
Once they have finished the reconstructions and sorted out the staff issue then it could be a really nice place to stay with a wonderful view from the top overlooking the Medina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassimati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    18
    9
    40
See reviews for
7
52
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

To put it short, this Riad is part of a vertical scam!

My friend and I were misled by the "guide" who brought us here. The "guide", who called himself Mohammed, spoke to the staff there sternly when we arrived, as if he were giving them instructions.

The dead giveaway that this place was in on it, was when we first stepped into the place, one of the staff turned to exclaim, "You must be the Singaporean!". No one other than Mohammed and his accomplice Ali whom we met on the train to Fes knew I was Singaporean.

While this place might bedazzle you with its grand entrance, the room that was shown to us on the roof was small and dingy. The toilet was unacceptably equipped and small. And the staff behaved strangely, even smoking weed in the presence of guests!

The "dinner" that we "ordered" was cold chicken and chips. We suspect that it was bought from the outside and served to us.

If the owner of the Riad we were suppose to stay with hadn't call me, we would have stayed. And we would have had our things stolen from our bedroom while we were conned at the shops with the "guide".

DO NOT STAY HERE. THIS PLACE AND ITS STAFF ARE VILE.

Room Tip: Go to airbnb.com and look for better Riads with credible reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keithy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,359 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,989 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Life inside the Medina of Fez is a powerful and strong experience ... Riad Nassim is a cozy place where you can really feel at home, like Omar immediately will remember (perhaps even in your language!) Of course, as indeed in the rest of the Medina, you have to keep your eyes wide open ... Omar manages to get you everything (really everything!) and advise you the best places to have a lavish dinner or a quick lunch. The staff is quite friendly and is even fun to communicate with a puzzle of different languages ​​.... The breakfast is good and plentiful (especially "lu pan salee," the corn bread). The rooms are very nice, romantic and richly furnished, windowless although because of the structure of the riad. Cleaning is not always flawless. You sleep well. There is hot water and the air conditioner. You can smoke ... and not just tobacco. Very nice terrace with a view of the city full of contradictions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atepais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed in this Riad for three days, during my visit in Fes. It's located in Medina, not far from Palais Jamai, famous hotel located on the main road. When I came from Train Station, taxi driver just dropped me in front of Palais Jamai, but one staff from the Riad, named Omar, was already there to pick me. At the beginning, It was so confusing to remember how to get the Riad. There are many small streets with the same looks. But, after two or three times, you would get used to. Omar gave his mobile number to me, in case if I get lost, he could come to pick me.
It has very nice living room, with beautiful coloured tiles and paintings on the walls. It was really Moroccan Style.
The bed room was small, it was a little bit smelly of smoke. It has no ventilation to the outside, but it's equipped by air conditioning. But, since I just stayed there for three days, and spent most of the times outside, It didn't bother me so much. It has roof top terrace where I could see whole Medina from the top.
The staffs were incredible friendly, especially Khalid and Omar, which never hesitate to assist guests anytime. They helped to arrange the guide, and atmy last night, they prepared very nice dinner. It was incredible stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nurul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spent 2 days in Fès and it was just awesome to stay in Riad Nassim. The facilities are Ok, the decoration has a genuine and beautiful Moroccan style, but the best is undoubtly the staff. Khalid is a really nice guy, extraordinary host and can prepare you a spactacular dinner. I have much to thank him for the nice journey I've done.

Not that hard to reach from outside the medina (really close to Palais Jamaï), you'll be frankly surprised.
Make sure you visit the terrace, it has a great view and is just powerfull at night.
P.S.: If you do need a guide, just ask for Amit! :D

Great trips!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent a couple of days exploring Fes and had a small room in Riad Nassim, which is also known as Riad Doha. It is a lovely small hotel with lovely staff and excellent food. You cannot get more value for your money. On top opf the hotel there is a very nice outdoor terrace with a lovely view to the Medina. The only reason which could NOT make you happy in Riad Nassim would be if you are sociophobic, because you are close to real Moroccan life. Any other person must be happy in this hotel. The atmospere was pretty cosmopolitan, as there were other hotel guest from Israel, South America, Spain. Most of the staff speak very good English and Spanish, and, of course, French.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW-RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This riad has a very nice lounge/common area and the rooms have some very interesting decorations, especially the suites. Our group of 4 stayed in two different regular doubles (different nights) and one of the suites. One of the doubles was very small and dark, the other was a more reasonable size with a cabinet and a window to the outside. But both bathrooms were ridiculously dark and the stench from the drains soon became almost unbearable unless you left the door open and let the smell waft into the room. The suite was very nice, although very dark throughout, but it had windows that open on to the lounge and windows in the bathroom which limited the smell somewhat. Khalid and the others were very welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was good. The roof terrace was another bonus. The location had some pros and cons - fairly close to the most interesting areas of the medina (tanneries, etc) and Bab Jamai (where you could get taxis) but also down a confusing maze of alleys with absolutely no signage (not even at the door) and lots of really sketchy young guys hanging around watching for opportunities. Some people would not be comfortable walking around by themselves here. All in all, loved the hospitality but there were some serious downsides. Just a little bit of work would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 98 in Fes
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Sondos
Dar Sondos
#89 of 212 in Fes
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad La Source Bleue
Riad La Source Bleue
#169 of 212 in Fes
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Al Ouali
Riad Dar Al Ouali
#126 of 212 in Fes
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 212 in Fes
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Bab Guissa
Dar Bab Guissa
#51 of 212 in Fes
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nassim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nassim

Property: Riad Nassim
Address: Riad Nassim 11, derb El Miter, Quartier Zanchfour, Medina Ancienne, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Nassim 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Nassim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing