We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Rbab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Rbab
Ranked #75 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was the first time for us in Fes and my husband and I stayed in Dar Rbab. It's a beautiful raid with a restaurant on the ground level and bedrooms overlooking the courtyard on the second floor. It's very quaint with beautiful hand painted doors and every morning, the cook prepared us a wonderful breakfast to start our day.

Our hosts, Ghizlane & Mark, are wonderful hosts that truly made our stay a memorable experience. Ghizlane is a very gracious and she made sure that we were looked after in the Souk with a proper guide taking us around. We never got hassled by the hawkers and had a wonderful time exploring and taking pictures. This was really helpful as the streets are extremely narrow and intricately interconnected that without somebody showing you the way, you will probably get lost. Thankfully my husband is an excellent navigator and after the first day, we could explore the city independently.

We also had the good fortune of being invited to an authentic local wedding and it was one of the most interesting experiences we ever had! Thank you Dar Rbab for a wonderful stay and we look forward to the next time being able to stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beeboplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Mark's riad is the perfect place if you want to fully immerse yourself into the sights, sounds, and tastes of Morocco. Located right in the heart of the biggest medina in Fez, it is a well kept family home filled with charm, color, and personality. Mark and his family are wonderful people to get to know, and he is more than helpful when you need travel tips and recommendations in his city.

Room Tip: The guest room we stayed in had an en-suite bathroom; however, there was a steep set of stairs leadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cheech16392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were in Dar Rbab last February and Mohammed and Mark make us feel like at home. Their breakfast is amazing, with orange juice, bread, eggs...and they cooked a very very good dinner for us, the tipical Tajine. They resolt us all the questions about how was the best choice to move around the medina, and offer us people who show us a lot of lovely places there, even the desert, and was incredible. The room and the bathroom was spacious, and very clean. I reomended Dar Rbab all the people, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Two of us had a lovely stay with Mark and his family at Dar Rbab back in August 2011. Beautiful place, very friendly staff (especially Mohammed who showed us around Fez) and delicious food. Perfect package for a stay in Fez.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephen_wright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hands down the best breakfast we had in 3 weeks in Morocco! The cumin-dusted hard-boiled eggs and semolina toast are amazing! The Riad, while rather difficult to find in the darkness of the medina, was handily located (once you got your directional bearings). The room was spacious and the bathroom, was large and had great black walls. The finish on the bathroom walls isn't paint, it's tadelekt - the traditional Marrakech finish for a hammam. Raw lime plaster, coloured with a natural pigment, mixed with egg white (really), sealed with olive oil soap (the black goo you see for sale in the medina), and polished with a flat river stone. It's quite extraordinary, mildly water repellent, self healing - and, if you touch it, very tactile. The room could use some hooks or shelving to hang towels, coats, etc. Mohammed, the manager, was readily available by phone or in person for directional or transportation questions. We met Mark on our last day and he was a wealth of information, not only on Fes, but in Marrakesh and beyond. Overall, I think that I would have preferred to end my trip in Fes, rather than begin there, as Fes can be a bit overwhelming to take in and the Riad was located in a hard-to-find, rather dark neighborhood. Mark's family was there during our stay and so travelers should know that it is very much their house (as Mark states in his intro on AirBnb), so one shouldn't expect calm and quiet as in a hotel. Smoking is allowed in the common area and does float into the guest rooms. The doors of the rooms were so beautiful I was inspired to shop for certain things in the Medina based on some of their decor choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in Dar Rbab. Located in the heart of the Fes medina, it is perfectly placed for exploring the winding dirt alleyways of the ancient city, but also virtually impossible to find the first time without a guide. (We were easy prey for the aggressive "faux guides" at Bab el Guissa, who will physically wrestle your luggage off you; unless you are über-assertive, Mark's offer of a guide and taxi from the train station is probably a good idea.)

The riad itself is charming and convivial, a great place for relaxing with a glass of mint tea and swapping stories with other guests. Our room was basic, with no natural light and a fairly rustic bathroom, although having said that there was hot water - apparently a rare luxury in Morocco.
The breakfasts and dinners we had in the riad were generous and very good. However, what made staying at Dar Rbab invaluable was Mohamed, the unflappable, friendly and attentive manager, for whom every request was "no problem". Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed two nights at Dar Rbab. Finding this place by myself was impossible so i had to ask people and they were really so kind to take me to the riad, twice! (I admit i'm not very good at finding places in Medina).

The staff was really helpful and kind, even took to all the way to Bab Guissa in early morning when i left for Chefchaouen.

The room itself is ok considering that it's 300 years old and renovated but i have to say there is a lot to be improved. At the least you need to clean the bathroom more - i had to wear my crocs to take shower each time. Also, it would be nice to have a hanger to put some clothes.

Plenty of hot water was a big plus though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#10 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#45 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rbab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rbab

Property: Dar Rbab
Address: 3 Derb el Kateb | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Rbab is a charming, 300 year old house in the Fès Medina. It has been lightly restored to provide spacious, en suite bedrooms with air conditioning, within the framework of the existing house. All the original features remain - access to your room is by huge, gilded cedar wood doors - and the house is a warren of small staircases and interesting corners. There's an informal atmosphere - the house was originally our family home - and great food available to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Rbab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing