We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in town”
Review of Riad l'Artiste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad l'Artiste
Ranked #65 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
1 review
“Best Riad in town”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent choice. Rooms and the whole maroocan house / Riad - very nice, look like a maroocan fairytale. Very helpfull/friendly staff - owner. Provided a remarkable visit to hamman. Nice rooftop, in good location in medina ( quieter part ).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RomanaOd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place is stunning and really became a highlight of our Morocco trip! My sister and I really enjoyed our stay here, and regretted that we only could stay 1 night. The owner Said is hilarious and absolutely personable. He was a great host and our only host in our entire stay in Morocco that would gladly slam the door to the pesky boys who followed us to our accommodation. A hero in our eyes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Family-friendly, authetic riad, on the southern border of the media. Perfect starting-point for walks through the medina. Ideal as a calm place to relax from the vibrant life in Fes. Dinner on terrace (roof) with view over the medina and the hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We bumped into Riad L'Artiste accidentally and we were really lucky. This Riad literally is an oasis within the busy city of Fés – both because of the house itself and its owner Said. The rooms are spacious and without too much icky scenery, the roof terrace is a nice one. Located near Bab Jdid, it is a good starting point to explore the city. Said is a very friendly host, always addressable and a valuable source for tips of any kind.

Room Tip: 1st (middle) floor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this riad on our journey around Morocco, and it was definetely our favourite one. Riad is very nice decorated, with a lot of small details that makes you feel really like at home. Our room was also very nice with perfect bathroom decorated with small tiles like mosaic all over walls, floor and bathtube. Everything was very clean, with clean sheets and towels. Breakfast is nice and it's served in the courtyard in the middle of the riad. The highlight is definetely Said, the owner, you don't meet everyday so warm welcoming and so helpful host. We enjoyed talking with him and learn a lot of about Fes and Morocco from him. I really really recommend this riad, and for sure you won't regret if you book your room here, I would do it again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalib0rko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only stayed at The Riad three nights, a really short stay to completely feel the magic of Fez and the Riad itself.It was located southside of the Medina in a residential area, where you could enjoy the peace and silence. Both the rooms and the whole Riad were clean, finely restored and minutely decorated,-we loved the glass mosaic windows and doors; and our room space( "Persanne", on the groundfloor ) was perfectly balanced among the bed,seating and relaxing area and bathroom (upstairs).What we adored the most was the rooftop terrace: breathtaking view of Fez, and all the treats we were offered ( mint tea and typical moroccan cake).You could always chill out on the wonderful chaises longues, and admire all the colorful sunsets Fez gives you.You can have breakfast at anytime you like; we had yogurt, homemade cakes and bread and any type of drinks; We also had dinner one night there: for a very little price( 12 Euros per pax) we had 5 different kinds of appetizers, taijin, pastilla and fruit as dessert, everything was delicious and perfectly cooked. We had the chance and luck to meet Said the owner and manager, who was extremely helpful and provided us with major tips to get the utmost of our stay;helped us to get settled , how to cope with everything as well as managing our purchases and eating.He was more than kind to set our transfer to the airport and also spent some quality time with us sharing his life experience as a French-Moroccan.We are very keen on this Riad, for sure are going back there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Said L, Propriétaire at Riad l'Artiste, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre gentillesse, C’étais un grand plaisir de vous recevoir au riad. J’espère vous revoir bientôt

SAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the ground floor room, and may be a bit picky when it comes to cleanliness. But the bathroom being upstairs was more hassle than novelty - and the odor of the bathroom was quite strong, possibly due to poor ventilation. We also booked dinner here because of an earlier review saying it was delicious and only 12 euro/person - We were charged 20 euro/pp and could hear our food being microwaved, which was quite odd and a turn off to the meal.. who knows how long they've had the food in the fridge. So i wouldn't recommend dining here for dinner. BUT besides all that the owner/manager Said was more than hospitable, helping us get situated, hiring us a guide for the Medina, and setting up airport transfer. I'd hate to give a bad review, so because of the owner and price I'd say it's a great value for what we paid for the room, but definitely not for the meal. So very good for service and value

Room Tip: Don't book on the ground floor room Persanne. It's right in the dining courtyard and can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#24 of 216 in Fes
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Chrifis
Riad Les Chrifis
#63 of 216 in Fes
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar El Mathaf
Dar El Mathaf
#54 of 216 in Fes
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 216 in Fes
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#4 of 69 in Fes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Artiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Artiste

Property: Riad l'Artiste
Address: 108 Bouajjara | Bab Jdid, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of the Medina, this typical Moroccan riad offers air-conditioned suites and a large courtyard with a fountain and two shaded terraces overlooking the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad l'Artiste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing