We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mabrouka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad Mabrouka
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead,Surrey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. An oasis on the outskirts of the medina. Beautiful rooms and lovely garden area with splash pool. Excellent food, great hospitality and service - especially Fatima and Ibrahim. The ryad has a licence and had a lovely wine list - the owner is French so maybe not surprising ! Just be aware that alcohol is not served in any of the eateries inside the medina. We ate in every night, and the food was delicious !

Room Tip: All rooms are huge and individually styled. Not all have a bath - so if this is reaqlly important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywuzyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
101
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this beautifully restored Riad and felt like we had stumbled upon a secret palace. It is an incredible feat of restoration and the attention to detail and craftsmanship is wonderful. The location is great and the food is wonderful - so much so that we didn't venture anywhere else. The staff are attentive and really friendly and happy to help you arrange for guides, trips, taxis or meals elsewhere. The roof terrace provides spectacular views and the garden courtyard with pool is lovely to relax and eat your evening meal in. All in all a wonderful stay. Karen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently visited Fes for 7 nights and had the good fortune of staying at Ryad Mabrouka. It was wonderful - exceeding our expectations in every way. For starters, the Ryad is impeccably restored. It is located just a few minutes walk from the Medina and conveniently situated near a petite Taxi car park. The winding alley leading to the Ryad is mysterious by Western standards. But completely safe. When you arrive into the Ryad's atrium, you step into another world. Halib is there to quickly bring you some mint tea after your journey, Pierre Marie & Caroline are on hand to answer all your questions in English or French (or German), and Fatima is on hand to cook wonderful tangine dinners in the evening. The garden is magical with a lovely small dipping pool below the profusion of bougainvillea's and palms. Our room was completely unique - like no other room we've ever stayed in. 20 Foot doors and ceilings, hand painted designs on ceiling, large antique wardrobes and furniture with old berber rugs.
My wife loved the Argon in the shower for her hair and the French milled soap from Marakesh. The king sized bed was very comfortable, the sheets and towels immaculately clean. The staff will even iron your clothes for you.
After a morning or afternoon exploring the shops and alleys of the souk in The Medina, Ryad Mabrouka was our oasis of luxury and serenity. The other guests were all very interesting and compatible -- French, Australians, Belgiums, Germans, English. We had a wonderful time getting to know them as well as the owners, Pierre Marie and Caroline. We hope to go back to Mabrouka again sometime soon. Mabrouka made a introduction to Fes special.

Room Tip: Each room has a name and it's own key. Ours was Mer and we loved it. Don't forget to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As it was our last night in Morocco, we wanted to splash out a little. We found this place through Lonely Planet book.
We arrived too late for dinner, but were greeted very kindly and warm with fresh mint tea and biscuits. These were served to us outside in the beautiful courtyard garden.
Our double room was exactly what we needed big comfy clean bed and a room full of cool old antique furniture and by the looks handmade rugs lining the floor. Bathroom was clean and included genuine Hamman soaps and scrubs. Fantastic environment to relax, yet minutes away from the hustle of the the old Medina streets.
Recommended to ALL.
Word of warning.
(for budget travelers)
Make sure if you wish to take a Grand taxi from here to airport pay no more than 120DH. To do so find your own and don't book through the hotel.
convenience option.
be prepared to pay 170DH.
Taxi 150 + baggage porter 20 )

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRONZLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well located -Fes medina is a short walk away - helpful and welcoming staff and above average food for Morocco. Our room was interesting with the bed up a small wooden staircase, still inside our room, so you slept a full room height above the sitting room and bathroom. Great if you never feel like getting up in the night, but quite scarey if you do. I am of the scarey persuasion , so slept with the light on, but this Ryad would still get a plus from me, but only for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three nights at Ryad Mabrouka in Fez in late March 2013. We stayed at several riads during our trip and this one was BY FAR our favorite. Some of the best food I have eaten in a long time (best food in Morocco, hands down) and the staff could not have been more welcoming, kind, helpful and warm. They made sure every detail was perfect for us and our two children. The staff helped us plan a day trip, including organizing a driver for us to take us to the nearby ruins at Volublis. The driver they hired was wonderful - an excellent driver and spoke English, which was a big help given our total lack of an ability to speak French or Arabic.The riad itself is gorgeous -- the garden, the small pool (cold but our kids did not mind in the least, and is typical of pools in Morocco) and the rooms are beautiful, restored and decorated with beautiful antiques. The location was also ideal. In Fez you need a good location because it is so easy to get lost. We were always able to find it easily upon returning from a wander or a meal in the medina. The staff made our young children feel so welcome and loved. Our kids still talk about the staff at this riad and ask when we can go back to visit them! We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It is far superior to any others we saw in Morocco. We were sad to leave this wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spend one night at the Ryad Mabrouka in December 2012, as part of our road trip of Morocco. The Ryad itself was beautiful, in a convenient location - although it did take us a while to find it, but that was more down to my navigational skills than anything else...
The hosts at the Ryad were very welcoming & very helpful - they couldnt do enough for us.
Our room was enormous & the bathroom was huge.
We were served beer & canapes in our room before we ventured out to explore.
Breakfast was served on the mezzanine floor & was plentiful & delicious.
I have nothing but compliments for the Ryad & our hosts.
Well worth a visit & very reasonably priced!

I didnt however, like Fes particularly. Of all the places we visited on our roap trip, I felt least safe exploring the souks in Fes. The vendors were very pushy, so you have to be firm with them. There were very few tourists around when we were there & i felt vulnerable - especially as we were looking for the cash point machine!

Room Tip: We stayed in a huge suite on the ground floor. It was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#10 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#20 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#23 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mabrouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mabrouka

Property: Ryad Mabrouka
Address: No 25 Derb el Miter | Talaa Kbira, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#16 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Mabrouka 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryad Mabrouka, is a traditional riad with a arabo-andalusian garden and a pool, it is located inside the walls of the olf town, 5 mn walking from the main pedestrian street of the medina.The riad offers an exceptional view from the terrace and from the dining room. It is located only 150 m from an easily accessible car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad Mabrouka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mabrouka Fes
Ryad Mabrouka Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing