We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major renovations next door.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Anata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Anata
Ranked #5 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Major renovations next door.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here to be surrounded by beautiful decor. ..

Our host took us to the roof terrace but failed to tell us much about the riad, location or layout.

Kind of confused as we were left to our own device as we were told dinner had to be prepared.

Before we could get settled. ... It started.. The cement drilling of walls, chiselling, commotion yelling and screening of the workers renovating a rather large riad come restaurant hovering above our riad.

Have to be honest. .. Was tempted to politely advise our host that we'd like to leave. .. The peace and serenity we sort was definately not there.

Talk into staying by my wife. We requested a map and hit the square nearby.

Came back late to avoid the renovations.
Our lovely host arranged a guide for the next day and we took of early.

We visited a number of risfs during this trip. . Sorry to say this feel short in comparison.

For some reason we felt a void here. .. Really can't put our dinner on it. . Perhaps we got off to a bad start eith the drilling and hammering. .. word had it is a 5 year project so hope it doesn't impact Anata's business.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tancsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie J, Propriétaire at Riad Anata, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Kylie,


Really sorry to read you came the worst period as indeed my opposite neighbor is doing some big works next door -( They should be done anytime soon as hey started already a long time ago.

That said, i am really sory about it and hope you still enjoy Fes and your stay with our team :)

Best regards,


valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
149
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I really enjoyed Staying ta Riad Anata! People working are just like family, beds are wonderful and the cook is really amazing! Valérie did a great job... Looking forward to coming back next year. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What an excellent choice for Fès! Stayed at Riad Anata for 3 nights in the orange room. Both room and bathroom are beautiful and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast and marvelous dinner served in the terrace with great views!
The staff was great! Simo and Samira are very kind, helpful and always available whenever we needed anything!
Gorgeously decorated!
Great location near Bab Boujeloud!
I truly recommend Riad Anata!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jsaraiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie J, Propriétaire at Riad Anata, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Joana!!

We are really pleased to read your email! We are already looking to having you back in Fes, you are some other nice Portuguese people :)

Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Belgique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I visited Fez for several times now and the only thing that makes my trip complete is to be able to stay at Riad Anata. The house and rooms are so cosy and nice, the staff so warm and attentive, the food very good and the location of the riad is perfect. It is in the old medina but in 3 minutes you can walk out of the medina and take a taxi to the new town, it has all the comfort you might need, but very intimate with only 5 rooms.I am going back in june!

Room Tip: I stayed in all the rooms except the white one, and the were all great. The red one a d blue one ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank circassianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad Anata V, Propriétaire at Riad Anata, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Google Translation
Merciiiii!!! Quel magnifique message qui nous va droit au coeur :)

On espère vous accueillir à nouveau au pays de l'hospitalité...

Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in the ground room and it was a bit small but great and incredibly quiet, even if it was next to the "lobby" or main room. The bathroom was large, comfortable, good hot water, great amenities, hairdryer, towels and typical products (rhassoul shampoo and black soap...a definite plus!).
If I were to be picky, I would have loved a closet in the room (it has some hooks to hang your hangers on the wall, although I saw this style in many riads) and maybe some bench to open your suitcases (we had two armchairs in a corner...maybe it's best to put a luggage bench instead?). Even so, the decor is modern and cozy. I loved their taste!
We had dinner twice here and it was nice and the breakfast is very good (always in the terrace, which was excellent!).
Location is very convenient: far enough for it to be quiet but close enough to walk everywhere.
A very good riad choice.

Room Tip: We had the ground room and it was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faraway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad Anata V, Propriétaire at Riad Anata, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and great advise!

I am really happy to announce you that we took it seriously and the we have replace the two armchairs in the corner by a luggage bench instead :)

Thank you for your suggestion and hope to have you back in Fes:)

Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebbeke, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very friendly staff, ultra clean and lovely rooms, delicious diner & great travel service! You can ask anything and they will help you with a smile on their faces! Very cosy and nice decorations!
they even have a docking station for your iPhone/pod!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BewaertL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is simply amazing! If it weren't for this sanctuary, we would have left Fes the day we arrived! (Thanks to repeated and aggressive harassment by street touts in the Medina).

The Riad is tastefully decorated and our room (Green Room) was perfection ... With a beautiful soaking tub and soft fluffy bedding!

We ate dinner at the Riad both nights and the food was sublime! Fresh and very tasty!
As was the case with breakfast...

Our only complaint is that the Riad allows guests to smoke inside and on our last night, we had the unfortunate displeasure of sharing the dining room with a "chainsmoking" patron ... He must have had 16 cigarettes over the course of dinner (1hr)... Unfortunately this soured the evening for us a little and left us and the whole Riad smelling like an astray!

Overall, we highly recommend this Riad!
One last note ... Be sure to hire an official guide if you plan to explore Fes Medina. They will keep the touts at bay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoBB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad Anata V, Propriétaire at Riad Anata, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you So much for your comment and help on improving our services.

I have decided to forbide smoking inside the riad as it has always been the case in rooms...It´s true that for non smokers it´s hard to have to Share a table with a big smoker as you mentionned and as we can´t limit it...

I am also happy to read you enjoyed our riad and food:)

Looking forward to having you back at Riad Anata!

Valérie Janczewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anata

Property: Riad Anata
Address: Derb Hamia 16b | Close from Place batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Anata 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad AnataFez, one of the four Moroccan imperial cities, UNESCO world's heritage, has the world's largest medina (old city).Fez the intellectual, Fez the spiritual... Its gastronomy and crafts will touch your soul!Come and discover an elegant, cozy contemporary Andalusian - inspired home just 25 minutes away from Fez-SAIS airport; totally restored by Audrey Vermeersch - interior designer.Anata Riad's modern comfort inspires relaxation in a magic place. The place's style and energy accompanies the traveler in his quest for serenity and spirituality. Everything was thought of and executed to offer the guest the freedom to get fresh ideas and relax with a glass of fresh mint tea. The lounge (patio) has got a well-supplied library where you can enjoy your reading and spiritual exodus.Each of the five rooms is a haven of peace... you will enjoy high quality beds, hearty breakfast, faultless service and a top roof terrace overhanging the medina (old city).Breakfast or dinner will be served at your choice on the terrace or in the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Anata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing