We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad, food and room less so.”
Review of Riad Rcif

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Rcif
Ranked #6 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Riad has been beautifully decorated, service from helpful staff good. Could be great but the negatives brought it down. Getting to the place is a hassle carrying luggage but worthwhile to be staying within the Medina. I asked for instructions to get there which they should provide on the website rather than requiring a telephone call once you are near. Food for breakfast was very basic and only two proper tables - plenty on the roof but that was only used for dinner, which annoyingly was only served at one sitting 9pm.

I stayed in Yacout room, unpleasant mezzanine level room dark with very low ceilings about 6ft with the shower area and entrance to bathroom 5ft 8. The shower area was so dark and poorly lit I needed to use a torch to see. The website photos must have used powerful professional flashes. Also no cupboards, drawers or any hangers for clothes. The bed was not comfortable - extremely firm - like tightly compressed straw.

I would recommend the hotel but certainly not the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peripatetic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRcif, Directeur général at Riad Rcif, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear traveller, we are sorry you were disappointed with your room and didn't bring up these issues whilst you were here so we could have rectified them.
In regards to your arrival, we endeavour to meet guests at Place Rcif and walk them to the riad with an offer of a trolley or someone to carry luggage. The map with clear directions is being uploaded to our website, however we email this to guests once we know how you are arriving.
Breakfast is abundant with at least 4 options of croissants, crepes, cornbread, sweet buns, speciality breads and baguettes as well as juice, yoghurt and spiced coffee.
There are two tables in the courtyard and two in the adjoining salon for guests.
Dinner is served from 7.30pm and in summer from 8.30pm on the rooftop.
The Yacout room is the cosiest and least costly of the 8 and is now fitted with brighter light globes, hangers for clothes and an optional soft layer for those guests who don't like firm beds (interestingly, most do).
Any issues brought up during a visit are always dealt with immediately to ensure your stay is a pleasurable and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Riad Rcif
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

The inside of this Riad is absolutely stunning. The common area for dining as well as the room we stayed in were works of art. The food they serve is very good, and the staff are very friendly. Definitely our favorite place to stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jong84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in a number of riads in Morocco. For sheer style, opulence and exuberance this beat the lot. A lovingly and painstakingly restored palace, this is a work of art. You can sit and stare at the walls here and never get bored. The work is simply breathtaking.The friendliness of the welcome and the helpfulness of the staff is also deserving of mention. You can always tell a good place by how they deal with something when it goes wrong. We had the most minor issue involving another guest which we were just going to let go but other staff reported it to Aysha and the tact and charm with which she handled it was exemplary. Overall we enjoyed this so much that it pains me to say that there is one point on which to improve: the food. Breakfast is little more than a selection of bread and jam and dinner, while good, ddn't match what we had elsewhere. But don't let my opinion of the food put you off. This is without doubt the must-see and must-experience riad in Fez.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRcif, General Manager at Riad Rcif, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your response and feedback, we value this in constantly improving our guests' experience. Breakfast is actually an abundant offering of at least 3 sorts of 'breads' from fresh crunchy baguettes, cornbread baked each morning onsite, homemade crepes, brioche rolls, Madeleine cakes, 'millawi' traditional layered bread..... This is all accompanied by butter, jam, cheese, olives, freshly squeezed orange juice and spiced coffee.
Most guests are overwhelmed by the variety and generosity of the offering. It is a traditional Moroccan breakfast which consists of predominantly 'bread' like selections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived tired after a long journey from Merzouga and were
immediately greeted by friendly smiling faces. We were served with tea
and biscuits and then dinner on the terrace overlooking the old medina
of Fes. Amazing view and food
The riad is beautifully restored and decorated in the Moroccan style.
Unfortunately we stayed for only one night. highly recommended!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Before arrivel the hotel mailed us information about how to get there. We booked a taxi from the airport. We've got a warm welcome with Morrocan mint tea and sweets. After an extensive introduction, they gave us a tour of the hotel. What an amazing room we had!! The hotel is very beautiful, with a good eye for detail!
The staff is very friendly and sincerely interested in your experiences. After a long day in the medina it felt like coming home! We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at Riad Rcif at the beginning of the month and of all the places we visited in Morocco this place was the best. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was the best. My wife got sick the second day we were in Fes and the hotel manager Aisha walked with us to the pharmacy and helped us get her some medication. The hotel owner Hussean called even before we left to check-in and see how she was doing. We'll always remember how great all the staff at Riad Rcif were and well they treated us. Hussean if very passionate about Fes and did everything he could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.
Everyone at the hotel also spoke English. The owner used to live and study architecture in the USA and the hotel manager Aisha recently immigrated to Morocco from Australia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riad Rcif was the most gorgeous place I ever stayed in Fes. The riad is a real palace where you can live there as a king! Every inch of the place was absolutely beautiful. The riad is beautifully restored (March 2012) and full of mozaics, colours and atmosphere. The location is excellent in the medina of Fez. Route map to find the Riad in the Medina is provided ar arrival. When we arrived we were offered the local must, mint tee. Free wifi. The view from the rooftop is great. The decoration everywhere is beautiful. Our room was also stunning (with very firm mattresses!) and the shower was surprisingly powerful and hot for morocco! The family and staff was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. Its definitely value for money (E 49 for double room). Our stay was very pleasent and if we would be in Fes again we would book Riad Rcif again. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raw_Desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rcif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rcif

Address: Avenue Mohamed Ben El Alaoui | No. 1 Takharbicht Laayoune Rcif, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $88 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rcif 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house Riad Rcif is located in the nicest district of the old Medina of Fez, in Morocco, at a very short distance from Bab Boujloud, the famous blue gate of the Medina. The riad benefits from its easy access with a free parking just on place, at the riad's door. This charming riad in the heart of Fes has been completely renovated in 2012. Rcif offers 8 bedrooms with air conditioning and heating, with luxury features : A panoramic terrace with a stunning view over Fez and its entire Medina.-The guest house offers free Wi-Fi in the all riad and satellite TV.-An attentive staff will ensure your well-being & comfort. A cook is at your disposal to prepare the best local specialities.-A true art of living in Moroccan style, a land of peace in the heart of Fes Medina, will ensure you an unforgettable stay in Riad Rcif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Rcif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing