We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Medina of Fez
from $50.00
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $344.10
More Info
Reviews (8,003)
Filter reviews
3,409 results
Traveler rating
2,180
837
215
94
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,180
837
215
94
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow streets official guide shop owners leather tannery google maps step back in time local guide leather goods old city every corner for sale blue gate oldest university unique experience buy something maze tanneries
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,409 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

1. Take a map, but know that you will enjoy getting lost.
2. Enjoy the largest and oldest medina in Morocco.
3. No roads, no cars, only people and mules and donkeys
4. Don't get too annoyed by offers of "help" to find your way.

1  Thank Normann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

This a chaotic but fun place to spend a half day. It is very important to get a guide because you would otherwise easily get lost. However, it is also important to get a guide to take you on a non-buying tour. It was very annoying to stop into shops and have an aggressive sales presentation.

1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The Medina off Fez is large. The Souks are just a piece of it. It is hilly mazey and interesting. The souks are organized if you can a Souk can be organized. There is a street of meat, one of spices, one of leather, one of dyeing, one of vegetables etc. the merchants are less aggressive than in Marrakesh.
I want to stress the hills. A lot of ups and downs. If you have heart or knee issues be prepared and plan accordingly.

What I found the most interesting was that most of the consumers of the Souks were the locals. Yes there are tourist shops but we walked through a section where we were the only foreigners. Great place to spend several hours.

2  Thank wma229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What an amazing place! I strongly suggest you get a guide as the streets are one giant maze. Very interesting and unbelievable.

1  Thank lluly0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Wow! This really is the Médina of all Medinas! We recently spent a full day at the Médina in Fes and we barely scratched the surface. This Médina is immense and will cure even the biggest shopaholics of their affliction! There are literally miles of narrow winding passageways lined with shops of every description.....but beware, one could easily become hopelessly lost in this place.....it’s a good idea to go with a guide.

1  Thank Nanato5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a wonderful guide named Hagi. She spent a lot of time explaining the culture and everything to us and showing us the life style in the Medina. Well worth the tour.

1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

What an amazing riot of color, textures, smells and sounds. I would return here in a heartbeat, but you do need a guide - someone with local knowledge to take you to the best shopping spots. There are so many to choose from. Got an amazing blue leather coat here - it was custom made to fit in an afternoon

1  Thank Wi-FiNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

great to see. you get some mentha against the smell. Many leather products for sale. People are not verry friendly. They will try to force you to buy somethng. The price they ask is also to high!

1  Thank JeffreyRabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Sahara Atlas Tours organised a good local guide to introduce us to the Medina in Fez.
Certainly a good idea as it would be easy to get lost here.
Once we had sorted how it worked and the two main alleys we were able to enjoy exploring this great medina.

1  Thank AngelaR5078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

It can be overwhelming to walk around but it is not so bad. If you look carefully, you can see signs everywhere pointing to the R’Fic place which happens to be where we came from. The shop keepers were nowhere near as agressive as I was led to believe.

1  Thank Jean-Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews