We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medina of Fez

Medina of Fez
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.36*
and up
Private Tour: Fez Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The city’s ancient quarter is an intricate maze of streets lined with open markets, shops and mosques.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better than Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Walking through this working medina is like stepping back in time 500 years. Watching the craftsmen work using techniques handed down through generations is a sight to behold. The quality of merchandise is fantastic. As crazy as it is it's not quite as intense as the medina in Marrakech - and thats a good thing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,679
    1,614
    400
    131
    97
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Daunting at first, but exciting and worth exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

London and Paris both may have used to resemble it, but the Fes Medina is truly the only place in the world where it still is as it was hundreds and thousands of years ago. Where the New Town is "only" 700 years old and fresh fruits and vegetables are available around the corner. It's glorious.

You can see it in a day, but I'd recommend a couple of treks spread out across a few days. One day you can take in the holy sights, another the smells and delicious eats. Finally, a day to simply wander and get lost for a few hours. It's not so large that you won't find an exit after an hour or two.

A word of warning for the easily pressured - avoid any attempts to see the tanneries by local children looking to provide a friendly service. Sure, you'll see the tanneries. Actually, you'll smell them first and then you'll see them. And then you'll be in the middle of a leather shop. For those already with leather hides this won't be a big deal, but some may find it uncomfortable, so I thought it bore mentioning.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nschneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ancient Medina of Fez”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Walking through the narrow corridors was like being in a move; except this is every day life in the Medina of Fez. The donkeys carrying the wares through the winding paths; sights, sounds and smells that cannot be described. It was an adventure that we are still trying to process and absorb. We were with out tour group and highly recommend that you be on a guided tour; you could easily get lost. We were not particularly fond of the tannery as the smell was overwhelming on a warm September day, but the history and the culture were everywhere. We truly enjoyed our visit to Fez.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everyone Needs to Experience the Fez Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

There is nothing like the Fez medina. Over 10,000 streets in the medina with much of life still working the same way it did centuries ago, it is amazing. No cars, mopeds allowed. Only people and donkeys. You can't miss it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
345 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful, get a guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fez Medina feels very much like you are seeing real life, not tourist life. At each gate is a food market, with fruits and vegetables, spices, sweets, and real butchers - no cellophane here - and the streets are narrow and very confusing if you don't know your way well. We had a guide the first day, highly recommended as he took us to the different craft areas to see the people at work in the tanneries, carpet shops, metal workers etc, and also to museums and madersas. We never would have found them on our own. Having said that, we braved it on our own the second day, and as long as you are not in a hurry, getting lost is an interesting part of the experience. People are friendly or they ignore you, we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Fez also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Medina of Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing