We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost spoiled the wonderful Fes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Ranked #87 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost spoiled the wonderful Fes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

My 1st review here- I am ashamed that I didn't review the good hotels because I thought there were already more than enough favorable reviews...So here comes one lengthy BAD review...
2 nights of horror:
I stayed there with my fiancee and a group of 17 people just a couple of days before New Year's ( we were going to Marrakech for NY's ). This hotel is supposed to be 4 stars hotel - but by what standards ?? No heating (and the temperature was 4 Celsius!), lumpy beds, no light in the bathroom, the doors of the bathroom were unable to close also ( we are almost married, but a little privacy would be normal!), BROWN water ( it was brown even after a minute of running water from the pipe)...the room was sooo dirty - black hairs all over. C'mon - I know that some people shed hair more than other, but this is a hotel and not a hostel ( no disrespect to any hostel)!
Non- responsive staff (?!)- we called the reception and tried to have them change the bulb in the bathroom but to no avail (imagine this if you were a girl and you want to put on some make up!!) ! They were non responsive to all our pleads.
To top it all the female "manager" "running" the restaurant was behaving like a guard dog and we were on her private territory. If we stayed only a couple of minutes more than she seemed appropriate for us to to stuff the food in our belly ( I don't know how to call that, because I am a foodie and I enjoy food so...I am thin btw..) she would look ominously in our direction with a clear message: " Go away, we need these two seats!" I want to make clear that we didn't use the table more than it is appropriate (even less, since we were in a hurry to meet our guide and go to the Medina) and there was no need to do so because the food was so awful that we ate outside ( Yes, I am a foodie, but not spoiled at all --- the street food was incomparable to this hotel's "restaurant").
I am sure that I forgot something ( ok , the elevator wasn't working properly..but that is such a small issue compared to everything else ) and I assure you that I am not prone to complaining - to be exact - this is the 1st review I've decided to write here because I want everyone to stay away from this horrible hotel, so it doesn't ruin the wonderful city of Fes and beautiful Morocco! Cheers all!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    74
    130
    60
    51
See reviews for
40
125
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip, the hotel was clean and very welcoming. The beds where very clean and comfortable as was the bath room, we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but breakfast was ok basic buffet but very good service I requested some mint tea and that was made and brought over with a smile. All in all a city hotel in a good location with a good nights sleep. Being a travel agent we are rather fussy but this was not the dump that I was expecting infact I would return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1960Sunbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

This was part of a Cosmos group visit. The normal tour is 10 days but our group were sampling the tour in only 5 days, so we spent one night here. It's clean and comfortable, the lobby has free wifi which was very quick when connected. The hotel phone system and therefore internet went down for a few hours, but that was Morocco Telecom, not the hotel.

The breakfast choice was limited, but there was a lady cooking Moroccan 'pancakes' which were tasty. French pastries and scrabbled eggs were also offered. Coffee was hot and hot milk was available. There's a McDonalds two minutes walk if you crave western food.

I notice other some reviews say it wasn't up to scratch, but I thought it merited 4 stars by Moroccan standards. Still had a little street noise. In December there was no chance to try the aircon, so I can't comment.

As we were there only one night and the tour was fully escorted, I didn't need to worry about the location which seemed reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalcoachtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel during our touring holiday in Morocco.

pros:
- nice scenic view of Fez medina (try and get the rooms that face the city centre - unfortunately they didn't have a triple facing that side when we were there)
- spacious rooms, with separate bath and toilet - good to have when there are three of you sharing
- good restaurant
- great hammam in the hotel - much better both in terms of quality and value for money than what we found in Marrakech

cons:
- problems with the plumbing in the bathroom, but this was quickly sorted out
- buy your water bottles from the shop opposite (rather than from the shop next to the hotel)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspiring-journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

First of all, They do not have fitness club or or any similar facility. It is bullship that they have fitness facility. Do not have a meal at the restaurent. It is simply expensive and not good. Breakfast buffet will be very basic, Some breads and croassan and boiled eggs and some drinks (but orange juice was nice). I have visited 3 different local 4 star Hotel and this hotel offered kinda best room. I stayed 4night and I had a Single standard room with Kingsize bed.


Cleanliness - Average, no surprise in both positive and negative.

Service - Don't expect anything. Reception would not answer unless you specifically point out. However, It seems like all the 4 ster local Morrocan hotel reception has same problem.

Location - 12 ~ 15Dh should be enough for Medina and you can walk to city center. Safe enough and No noise. 5 ~ 7 Dh will be very enough from the train station.

Value - If you think about price it is still good

Rooms - It was biggest room that I had from 3 different 4 ster local hotel that I visited.

Sleep Quality - bed was big enough and some how they provide 4 pillows and I really enjoyed it lol.

* Unless you don't mind paying 4~ 5times more fair for a texi, naver take a texi from or near the train station in Morocco. (But even you pay 4~5 times more, it not gonna be more than 10 Euro in most of cases)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel was so dirty, maintenance is a huge problem and the staff were not helpful. In my room the air conditioning was not working (after 2 complains they managed to switch it on and it worked for 5 mins and then was off for 1.5 hrs during the 2 days i was there) in 40 degree heat that was not on. The fridge in the room was not working, the telephone was disconnected and had no dial tone and the remote for the tv didnt work so you needed to switch channels and on/off via the tv. The bathroom had mould growing out of it, there was a firm of dirt along the bath and also the vanity in the bathroom. The floor was dirty both in the bathroom and also in the room. Pls do yourself a favour dont stay there its not worth it. Stay in 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel between July 17 to July 21, 2010. The refrigerator was not working and there were no lights in the toilet. Worst was the air-conditioner that was making a loud noise. I called and asked them to fix it but they could not. I spent three sleepless nights, and only on the fourth night, they gave me another room. I tried pleading and shouting but nothing helped. The management team never moved for fixing customer service problems. Since I had paid for the rooms in advance, I was stuck and left at the mercy of the cavalier staff. I would NOT recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. KEEP AWAY.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.3 mi away
Zalagh Parc Palace
Zalagh Parc Palace
#75 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#49 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Across Hotels & Spa
Across Hotels & Spa
#70 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#90 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menzeh Zalagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzeh Zalagh Hotel

Property: Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Address: 10 Rue Mohammed Diouri, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Fes
#45 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzeh Zalagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menzeh Zalagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzeh Zalagh Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing