We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les merinindes beautiful view but rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Merinides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Merinides
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Les merinindes beautiful view but rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My girlfriend and myself went to Les Merinindes to see the view over the oldest medina in Morocco. The view was indeed magnificent. We ordered a bottle of rosé and waited to watch the sun set. There was duet playing and singing popular songs and it was very enjoyable. However, at the end of the evening the waiter that served us was very rude and was muttering to himself and gesturing annoyance at us.

We did not leave a tip.

However, the view was worth putting up with the rude waiter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
39
75
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portage wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a very attractive and well maintained hotel/restaurant overlooking the city of Fes. I didn't stay at the hotel but met a local here for lunch and respite in their air conditioned space. The menu is pretty Westernized - club sandwich - but the environment was relaxing, the service was prompt and it gave us a chance to see the city. Was perfect for our needs to just be comfortable - next time, I think I might check it out for lodging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of a group. The hotel is beautifully located, high on the side of a hill, with a great view out over the Medina. The hotel is at a guess 30-40 years old. The open lobby areas are spacious and attractive. Check in was speedy and efficient. The rooms were fairly standard but clean, with tired poor quality bedroom furniture in need of a refurb. Similarly the bathrooms were underwhelming, 1990's marble, and you should take your own amenities. That said, the shower pressure was great and the beds nice and firm.
Breakfast was an unremarkable buffet, with coffee service at the table, and an omelette station.
The concierge was very helpful, a real resource.
All in all average - there are better choices in Fes.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room overlooking the Medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanosporumandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Likely the best view of the city there is, the terrace lounge was the place the be after touring the medina, buying carpets and seeing how the leather is dyed. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Many of the rooms faced the road but I did walk through a suite facing the city and it was lovely (not sure of the price difference - would have been much nicer - so check it out if you go). The breakfast was good but the dinner buffet not. I would have rather gone out or eaten elsewhere in the hotel such as the large Moroccan restaurant in the hotel. But no-one was in there. The menu on the terrace was international and limited but okay. The lobby was grand and impressive and the service very good. I would stay again but would look to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the price for a suite facing the city over the regular rooms - would be much nicer and quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Fez for our 4th visit and decided to try a different hotel, following a road sign we came across this hotel, as we were only staying overnight we wanted something special and we certainly found it. On entering the reception area it was clean, cool and very comfortable, lots of comfy sofa's , a pleasant and traditional feel. We walked outside on the terrace and all said wow !! the view was amazing, high up over the old medina, enticing us to go and explore.The bedrooms were comfortable, clean and very nice, well appointed bathroom, no balcony though. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast , eat as much as you like service, the staff were very friendly and just what you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel. We will definatley be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited this hotel for one night on a recent trip to Morocco.
The situation is fantastic, the reception, terrace and pool areas were impressive and as you walk out onto the terrace the view over the Medina is spectacular. The hotel is well situated for visiting the Medina (it would be possible to walk but is a steep climb back), we had a car and it was only a 5 minute drive to Bab Guissa where there is plenty of free parking space.
The hotel room was large (as was the bed!) with plenty of room to spread out. The room had an entrance lobby containing plenty of wardrobe space, off which was a good sized well appointed bathroom.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of pastries and omelettes made fresh to order.
If there are criticisms it would be that the bedroom decor is a little tired in places, there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms and the restaurant does not open until 19.30.,
these however do not detract from a fantastic stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and would certainly stay there on any future visit to Fes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were on a 2 week trip all over Morocco, so my comparative ratings are based on Moroccan experiences. Beautiful location overlooking old Fez, but not close to much if you want to walk. Very large, attractive lobby and public areas. We ate one night in the restaurant, with a varied buffet, and another night ordered from the lighter bar menu (it was too rainy to go out). Breakfast buffet also very good. Comfortable room. Wi-Fi better from the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a few overlooking the city, and will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.7 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#30 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
2.6 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#66 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Property: Les Merinides
Address: Borj Nord, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing