We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great couple of nights in a bespoke and authentic space”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Batha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Batha
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Fes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great couple of nights in a bespoke and authentic space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. The staff were helpful and the location is perfect. The pool was a blessed relief and is a in a great position to have the sun into the afternoon. The staff did not gape or approach me on my way too/in or from the pool.
The rooms are brilliantly furnished in Moroccan style, but with mod cons - air con, extra pillows, hot running water, towels, telephone, flushing toilet. The WC has a door, but the bathroom does not, so beware of this non-couples. The bath is sunken into the floor which was interesting. The bedroom itself had green painted shutters, authentic throw, wardrobe, dressing mirror and a day bed in the corner to sit on. The room was brightly decorated with Islamic motifs.
The hotel is large, with two bars, a lounge area (with traditional Arabic decor), two patios with sparkling fountains and a breakfast area. The hotel is famous as it is the British Embassy and residence of Winston Churchill during his visit in the Second World war.

enjoy your stay, i know we did.

Room Tip: beware of road facing rooms which are a little louder. shouldn't bother anyone except the lighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishTripHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    77
    74
    42
    11
See reviews for
22
70
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Batha the very first time I came to Fes. I was travelling with a group of friends (all female) and we all felt completely at ease here. As one of the larger hotels in the medina of Fes area, Batha's secure from touts, which isn't always the case in smaller establishments.

Batha is a large hotel, so it doesn't carry with it the traditional 'Moroccan' experience that staying in a Riad does. However, it's beautifully decorated (perhaps a tad dated) and extremely comfortable.

The hotel has a lounge bar and a nightclub, and it's one of the only places in the area to enjoy a beer or two. The nightclub operates until quite late, but most rooms are far from it and the sound doesn't carry. The nightclub has a separate entrance for guests and non-guests, but you'll certainly experience the local flavour there. Also, it has a beautiful courtyard.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and I felt secure there at all times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The front desk staff are very helpful in assisting you. Everyone speaks English, just incase you do not speak Arabic or French. It is located in a very busy area, but mostly all parts of Fes are busy. A post office, bank, cafes, and convient store are located within literally 1min of the hotel. Yes the wifi or wee-fee, as they call it, is located on the 2nd floor, but a little excercise won't kill you. If you are looking for a nice/safe place to crash this is a great hotel, but if you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniboopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield,England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is well situated at the entrance to the medina.An imposing building but the rooms need refurbishment and some general cleaning and decorating.The bed covers and the curtains are old and dirty and certainly need changing.The seperate toilet and bathroom need to be decorated with some fresh paint and the walls washed down properly.The windows`frames also are dirty and need cleaning.Hot water is only available from 6 to 10 and 18.00 to 22,00 daily.
Breakfast is basic.So no fresh fruit, no omelettes, no pancakes.Dinner menu is fine but repetitive and prices are very high. Hot drinks cost 25 dirhams.I saw the male staff standing and watching 4 young Japanese ladies while they were eating their dinner which could be most embarassing.The dining room floor was never cleaned during my 7 nights`stay there.
The reception staff is friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: No door or curtains in bathroom.Insist that your room is cleaned properly every day.Beware of mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We chose to stay at hotel batha because of its proximity to the medina. It's just around the corner from Bab boujeloud, le kasbah (where we ate most of our meals), and cafe clock (5 mins walk).

We paid 33euros a night through Gala Hotels which was suggested by a reader below. This rate included breakfast and wifi. Our room had a tv with a movie channel in English, two beds, and a separate toilet and shower. The shower didn't have a door, you were literally separated just by the curtain. Breakfast consisted of some bread, hard boiled eggs, pastries, juice, yogurt and coffee.

Our only complaints were:
-it's freezing cold in the winter and the heater and extra blanket hardly do anything.
-wifi is a long walk if you're staying on the side of the wall where the 5, 6, 7 and 8 rooms are. We literally had to walk to the other side of the hotel to the back of the bar and sit awkwardly with all of the kitchen/bar staff to use our devices.
-food in the restaurant is VERY expensive, 25dh each for mint tea. You can find mint tea anywhere in morocco for 10dh or less.
-no door in the shower room.
-not enough toilet paper.
-the concierge immediately pushed tours/guides on us the second we checked in. We had just come off of a 7 hour train ride from Marrakech and really didn't want to deal with that (ps, you do NOT need to have a guide for the medina! He tried to tell us that we couldn't go in without one!)

I would stay again, but I wish I had known the above info so I would've packed accordingly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

As someone who loves visiting Morocco, I have stayed in the Hotel Batha in Fez several times, the last occasion being in June. The "Batha" Hotel is my favourite (incorporating the former residence of the English Consul) which I booked and paid for in advance, via the brilliant discount "Gala Hotels" website, for just £21 per room per night for a single occupancy (inc breakfast and taxes) or it would have been £29 per room for two people sharing (inc breakfast and taxes). It's Moroccan three star, which equates to UK two star, so don't expect luxury ! As other TripAdvisor reviewers have said, the main attraction of the Hotel Batha is its brilliant location, just a few minutes walk from the Bab Boujelou (the famous Blue Gate) which is the main entrance to the old town ("medina") with its souks (markets) and ancient medieval attractions. It's a hotel with a bit of character, as it's built round the building which was formerly the residence of the English Consul in Fez, adjacent to the Batha Museum, and entered from the square, where the Moroccan declaration of independence was drafted in 1944. Leading off the old Consul's residence building, the modern part of the hotel is set round a large, spacious courtyard, with fountains and a small pool. There are two bars, one in the former consul's residence building (very cosy in winter) and the other is part of the smaller courtyard on the far side of the old building. Given the difficulty of buying alcohol in the old town (the "medina") because of Islamic prohibitions on the consumption of alcohol, the hotel bars are very welcome after a hard day's sightseeing. The downsides of the hotel are the very mediocre breakfasts (the coffee and orange juice are pretty grotty) and the peculiar bathroom areas in the rooms, which involve climbing up a couple of steps to the bathroom level, and then the subsequent difficulties in reaching the taps on the "sunken" baths. However the rooms are perfectly adequate, with a Moroccan style and with basic air con and TV. Also the occasional meal in the snack bar of the smaller courtyard area is perfectly good. So, booking ahead (rather than just turning up) will get you a very good value deal, which you just couldn't get in any UK guest house or hotel, and a great base for exploring Fez's UNESCO world heritage sites in the imperial medieval city. And if you want an official guide(recommended), taxis, or advice on where to eat, just ask the concierge, who will be happy to oblige, for a small tip.

Room Tip: I like the rooms higher up, overlooking the square, where you can look out at the hustle and bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthlondonJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I booked a double room with private bathroom for 3 nights at Hotel Batha in Fez because if its convenient location close to the Medina.
I asked for a high floor and was given a room on the 4th floor.The elevator was functional, but most of the time I would take the stairs as to not have to wait for the elevator.
The room was very large, with big windows, and fairly clean. The furniture was a little worn though, and the bathroom needed remodelling.
The breakfast was included in the room price and was buffet-style.
The hotel is big, it has a lovely pool, and has at least a couple of shared areas decorated in the lovely Moroccan style (see attached photos). It also has its own restaurant downstairs.
However, while exploring Fez, I discovered a gem of a hotel (called Jnane Sbile) not far away, and for just half the price I paid at Batha!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pulcino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#52 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#69 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 12 in Zagora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#54 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Batha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batha

Property: Hotel Batha
Address: Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batha 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Batha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batha Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing