We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar el-Ghalia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
47
29
13
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
29
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered courtyardcentral courtyardmazefountaintaxisuiteroyaltyhammamgrandeuralleyinteriorriadmustafarooftopaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 95 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the most satisfying stay in this riad, nicely decor, great rooms, nice friend staff, antique furniture all around, the place is well kept and maintained. The restaurant there were excellent, all food were prepared with tender care, professionally served. Price are fair and portion is big.
I tried few dishes from the menu, and they are all great, specially the soup were really fantastic.
And I end up dinning there every nite. We rented a suite which got 3 rooms. Just perfect for us (5 people in total). And each of us got a good impression of this riad.

I will stay there for sure if I ever come to Fes again. Highly recommended for traveler of any type, business or leisure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights over the New Year and it was most definitely one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. The Ryad is stunning and everywhere you look there's a picture, mosaic, piece of antique furniture or something that makes you stop and stare. The staff are wonderful and cant do enough for you and the food is out of this world. If you can afford to stay for longer do, but I highlight recommend treating yourself to at least one or two nights here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed beautiful. we stayed in a standard twin which was perfect!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely old Riyad in great need of money invested on its building and staff training!Very few of whom speak English,the service is not great we had our starter and drink order forgotten one night and only our main course served when we enquired they asked would we like them after main course!!The food was average and expensive for what you get ,they asked us on the 1st day if we wanted a guide and we said yes ,but out of the 6 hours he was with us 5 hrs was spent him dragging us from one shop to the next which was annoying to say the least !on occasions the hot water was not on and one had to ask them to put it on,you are not shown around ,but have to explore your self and breakfast is a selection of different breads with juice and tea and coffee,which was not good enough really considering the price The most bizzare thing was that upon our arrival we were asked to pay the 5 days upfront ,which has never ever been asked of us anywhere in the world before!!.All in all a very so so stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culturebuff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

For the first time, i got scared with medina with tiny crazy streets. Dar el ghalia provides a kind help of staff which came to us in train station.
Rooms r good but little dark, no problem for old traditional palace.
Ahmed always contacted official guides for us, and let us in safe. Sweety Mustafa and Alamin made us feel like family. I miss them. Cook available, good food on time, the way we want, anytime. Me, my mother and friend really thanks for staff. I recommend. Samia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Although this riad is on the pricier end of what you can find in Fes, you definitely get what you pay for. The building is absolutely beautiful, and the staff are very friendly. The view of the old town from the rooftop patio is amazing (I wish we had stayed longer just to enjoy this view more). Breakfast was good, although their promise to provide a gluten free option was not fulfilled. Staying in the Medina is a bit of an adventure, as well, and can be trying. Don't make the mistake of showing up after dark - it can make finding the hotel in the maze a bit intimidating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_W89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews