We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The property is elegant--inside and out, with a lovely garden. Terrific views out over the Fes Medina. The food in the European dining room (the only one we tried) was excellent as was room service. However, the best part of the hotel is the gracious and helpful staff, especially the concierge staff. The chief concierge went above and beyond the call of duty to resolve issues we had with a purchase in the Medina. Thanks to him we have only pleasant memories of our stay in Fes.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost to have the view out over the Medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    170
    80
    40
    22
See reviews for
124
279
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a standard room, which was fine for our purposes, as we didn't spend a lot of time in it. We especially enjoyed breakfast overlooking the beautiful gardens, pool and the Medina. This property has a terrace/bar also overlooking the Medina, which is a great spot to unwind after a long day. But after three nights, the property felt confining. Although we had a guide and driver during the day, we didn't find it easy to scout other restaurants in the evenings. The restaurants at the hotel are good, but the menu at the main restaurant seemed limited. We did have a relaxing Spa experience and booked the Hammam treatment (co-ed). Our room (Medina view) was wifi-challenged. The tech support person came right away to set up a router, which I greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

While certainly needs some renovation specially in the rooms, this hotel is a very good choice for Fes-el-Bali given its great location.

The swimming pool and restaurant are very nice. Check in was excellent and most staff very friendly. The hotel has a good group of guides to show you around (definitively needed if you are going for one day as I did, so as to make more productive your stay). Internet is decent.

The only (stressful) problem I had was that I had an early flight at 6:05 am and I did not get my wake up call. When I got to the lobby staff were sleeping. The hotel does not have taxis outside, and the staff did not have the number of the taxi driver that was supposed to be there (!). The taxi ended up arriving 30 minutes late and I made it.

Not sure if it's something cultural but if you stress about getting on time to your flight avoid the 6 am flight or take the matter into your own hands and get a driver.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mariano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was great, the staff were great, the food was excellent, the gardens were amazing, but the part we loved the most was the view of the city from our six floor balcony. I would say that is a must.

They have two pools one for kids and one for adults; however the kids pool was in the shade was we had to take out daughter in the adult pool (which is all 'deep end'). The great part of that experience is a staff notice and brought us a floating duck that our daughter could sit in. It completely made my day and my daughters day.

One lesson we learned the hard was regarding laundry. For one bag of laundry, mainly consisting of my daughters clothes (she is a year and a half), and some underwear that bill came to 2,700 DH or ($300 USD!!). The manager did knock of 20% and we really should have looked at the priced before sending our laundry down to get down. This is a lesson we will never forget. I hope by writing this down other travelers do not make the same mistake we did (as that bill certainly was not in our budget).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Typical Sofitel quality and value. Rooms and bathrooms are good size. Breakfast service, variety and quality was very good. Had dinner one evening in the international restaurant both food quality and service very good.hotel is inside medina walls.

Room Tip: High floor with pool view also provides great view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

A beautiful old palace which , although it is good, needs some renovation... the rooms are clean and beautiful , we stayed in a suite in the palace proper which needed some makeover... The service and the staff were courteous and impeccable... breakfast on the outside terrace was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay wuth us at sofitel Fès Palais Jamai
Our staff xork exceptionallu hard to make sure that every guest feels special
Thank you so much for staying with us
We hope to see you in near future

Sincerely,

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

It depends what you are looking for.

They both have a good central location at the edge of the medina, have 5* amenities and friendly staff.

Riad Fes is a small riad composed out a three large houses and some additions. The rooms are really large, especially the suites with very high ceilings.The lounge, the courts, the terrace are really beautiful. The restaurant is just fine, nothing special, but the staff is really serviable. The pool is beautiful but small and has sun only during few hours a day.

Sofitel is much less exciting. It was renovated about 20 years ago and we can see it.Now it is at the limit of 5*. Its only advantage is the large, sunny swimming pool. And the tennis court, but is it really useful in such an exciting city?

Clearly, we preferred Riad Fes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitrisTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai on your visit to Fès
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay
We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel
We share all the feed back with the management and staff .
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Fès.

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#19 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#30 of 98 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Property: Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#31 Family Hotel in Fes
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing