We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impersonal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Fes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Fes
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impersonal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

A good hotel to stay, but impersonal like all the ibis hotels. The breakfast was very complete. There was wifi and a computer for the costumers. The room was correct, we did not have any problem. However, in this hotel you do not live Fez life (it seems that you do not want to know how people in Fez lives). I prefer to stay in other hotels the other days of my trip, which were not that good in quality, but they were more interesting. It is closeby the train station, but medina is quite far...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISFES, Front Office Manager at Ibis Fes, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à ibis Fes.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame/ Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    330
    172
    53
    43
See reviews for
124
285
99
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is a normal one of Ibis hotels, but have a very special thing: its very close of the train station (the best place in this terrible city). Its cold and nothing charming, like all Ibis around the world, but you can stay free, without the hard rules of islam. Me and my husband passed only two days in Fes, but was enough for me (more than enough!). This hotel was my scape to relax a little bit in Fes like a "neutral" territory. The breakfast is good and the rates, average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContatoVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISFES, Front Office Manager at Ibis Fes, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à ibis Fes.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame/ Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed one night here coming from Rabat and heading to the airport. It has great access from the train station (100 meters) and is definitely your standard Ibis hotel. This is our third Moroccan Ibis and it lives us to the name - inexpensive standard rooms with good service. We did not use the pool or outdoor area however we did have breakfast overlooking the pool and garden. It is extremely beautiful and people were already laying out in the lounge chairs at 9 am when we had breakfast.

Rooms are standard Ibis rooms, sparse furnishing yet very comfortable. Breakfast was very adequate and reasonable priced. The hotel arranged a taxi for us to the airport, and we paid the hotel directly, which meant we did not have to haggle with all the grand taxi drivers outside.

All in all a good experience and I would use this hotel again as a way stop to the Fes airport

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISFES, Front Office Manager at Ibis Fes, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à ibis Fes.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame/ Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I arrived to this hotel after riad-hopping for a good week. I decided the open-air riads were quite loud and smokey at times and I just wanted to get a good night's rest, even though I missed seeing the nice folks that I met. It's a trade-off for me...social atmosphere and authentic Maghrib surroundings vs. sleep/energy for the next day.

My first impression came from the reception; the staff was not very pleasant. They exuded an attitude of not wanting to be there. This differs from the riads because usually it's a group of friends or a family that has started a business so everyone is in a great mood and welcoming you into their "home". That was the first large difference. In a way, I felt bad for them because I imagined coming from more humbler homes and now working in a foreign hotel where you see people all day that make more money....it might not really make one feel good after a time. But still, you should take pride in whatever job you do (the Studiotel Afoud staff in Agadir were the most amazing staff and in a similar position).

The first room was a very dirty-carpeted, musty room without Wifi which I needed to plan the next few days of travel. There is wife in the lobby where at times, there are no seats available. Not even less than a meter away outside of the lobby are you able to get online.

I requested for assistance and they were kind enough to change my room to the one room that has wifi (Room 141). It also has hard-wood floors which was better than the carpet of mysterious stains. It didn't stop a massive cockroach from coming in the room though. The 3 places I stayed in Fez all have them though...there seems to be nothing you can do about gigantic roaches here.

I slept well. No noise, no smoke. But it's an average to less-than-average hotel...the staff don't really smile or seem friendly except for the cleaning ladies. The pool was nice....my favorite part was actually the beautiful grassy area they have behind the pool. You can do stretches there, it's peaceful and quiet.

The train station is right next door which gives this hotel a huge convenience.

ADVICE for getting to the medina/food: The food in the hotel is mediocre at best. I ate the salad bar which was good but pricey at 60DHMs for the area. My advice is to head across the street, toward the mosque and on the right-hand side, there are several "hole-in-wall" eateries with rotisserie chickens on display. There is a place called Snack Brahim that is AMAZING. For 20DHMs, you can get salad, rice, 1/4 chicken, bread..a full meal.. or you can get a tajine (the Grand and Petit tajine is made with beef) for a little more but they have several other choices that include salads, lentils, for vegetarians. The food is great and I discovered it because it was the only one on that side that was full of locals. The locals know! :) I have been everyday and see the same people...now it's become a place "where everyone knows your name" type deal which is nice too. It's better than paying 80-100DHMS for a not-so-great meal at the Ibis.

In regards to taxis...because this has been a thorn in my side the whole time in Fez....during the day, you can walk toward the mosque (only about 300 or so meters) and find a line of taxis near by. Avoid the train station taxis; they want to charge 40-50 DHMS to get to Bab Boujloud when it's only 8-10DHMs and always ask any taxis to use the meter). However, be aware during rush hour (5-8pm), it's much harder to negotiate a taxi to use the meter and to find taxis near the mosque. You also have the option to foot it if you don't mind walking for a half hour. Additionally, during rush hour, some of the train station taxis might take you to Bab Boujloud for 10DHMs but you have to wait for the taxi to fill with other pax (like a gran taxi).

Getting around can be the biggest pain in the a## in regards to staying at the Ibis as you expend so much energy dealing with hagglers but if you just use your feet, you'll be okay.

Overall, the average stay was still welcoming and just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunawayRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISFES, Front Office Manager at Ibis Fes, responded to this review, February 23, 2016
It is with particular attention that we are aware of feedback following your stay at ibis Fes.Nous present you our apologies for the inconvenience encountered and we thank you for taking the time to write to us, we are very keen to offer quality services to our customers, to improve feedback we are very valuable. The hotel management was informed immediately of your remarks. She alerted the whole of his team in order to avoid recurrence of the situation. Despite this incident, we hope to keep your confidence and remain at your disposal. Waiting to welcome you soon in an Ibis hotel, please believe, Madam Sir, the expression of our feelings the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#53 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#67 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#83 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#49 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Fes

Property: Ibis Fes
Address: Avenue Les Almohades | Place de la Gare, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Moussafir Fès hotel is located a few minutes from the centre of Fès and the magnificent Médina, a universal heritage retracing the history of the Moroccan dynasties. 40 m from the railway station and 12 km only from the airport, the hotel has 123 air-conditioned rooms and a meeting room for organising seminars and conferences. Guests have the use of a garden with a swimming pool, a bar open 24/24, a restaurant and parking. Tennis courts close by. Golf 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Moussafir Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Moussafir Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing