We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad in excellent location”
Review of Dar el Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar el Bali
Ranked #17 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on a recent holiday and were very impressed with the interior décor (typical mosaics and carvings typical of this area around Fes). Not only was it a great looking, the hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. There are two rooftop terraces where we spent a good deal of time as well since the weather was warm, but not painfully hot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakova C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your opinion, it's a pleasure to welcome you in Dar el Bali.

See you a next time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I would highly recommend Dar el Bali in Fez. The rooms are beautiful. It is like a palace. The host family meet us a the gate to the medina and we followed him in. He explained how to got to the riad in the future and it is very easy. Just take the small alley by the carpet shop and turn left at the green fountains. While at the riad I spent a lot of time looking at the woodwork of the interior. It could be a sightseeing attraction. It is very centrally located and if you get lost just follow the signs for the gate. it was nice to be able to return easily when we needed a break. The view from the terrace was as good as any I found anywhere else. The host family was extremely helpful, even allowing my daughter to use their office when she had to make a business skype call to the United States. They told us about a pottery shop and rug shop that had excellent wares at most reasonable prices. They also helped us arrange our transportation to our next stop.

Room Tip: There are steep stairs to the upper rooms. But the upper rooms are right next to the terrace so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you, thank you and still for all your attentions,
Thank you again for your encouragements and compliments.
In the pleasure to receive you again.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautifull riad in the middle of the medina in Fez! The french family is really friendly and helpful with anything. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a terrace were you can relax with delicious minttea and biscuits after a day of walking in de medina. A great stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments and your impressions.
It was a pleasure to receive you and to prepare you a mint tea !

We hope to see again your second time to Dar el Bali !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location,host,room and service,everything was fantastic.
Dar el Bali was near the main street of medina,so I didnot lose the sight of riad.
The convenient location enabled me to enjoy shopping and sightseeing at medina confortably .
The host family was so kind and helpful.when I departed in early morning,they prepared me a beakfastbox.They also told me useful information.
The homemade breakfast pancake with some kind of jam,honey butter was simple but so tasty.
The room was confortable itself! Clean bathrom,airconditoner,cute desigined classic furniture made me relax.
My stay in fes was wonderful and fantastic for this riad!
I would strongly recommend to stay at Dar el Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamifujii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your contribution, your photos, your news by email and your japonese cookies "senbei".
Thank you for your kindness and your smile !
I hope see again for your travel in Morocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you want to discover Fez visit Dar el Bali and its host's. Fantastic and exceptionally well managed Riad. Location is superb. Family running it are friendly, professional and helpful. Terrace has a view as good as you can get in town. Interior design is fantastic. We had no concerns with heating, comfort, security or anything. A place I would recommend to anybody who can afford it. A place to stay in Fes!

Room Tip: Casablanca Room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

If you wish to discover second time, we shall be delighted to welcome you during a next stay.
Thanks to you for your kind comment and see you soon for new adventures...
Thanks !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Dar el Bali! The French host family was amazing and helpful, the rooms were very comfortable, and the roof patios were amazing to spend some time at sunrise and sunset! My favorite part of our trip to Morocco was listening to the call to prayer at sunset from the patio at Dar el Bali that overlooks the entire medina. Beware if you have bad knees or trouble with stairs, as the stairs seem to be original and are VERY steep and high. The attention to detail at this place made it very special. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Most of the reviewers already posted the key advantages of this wonderful riad: great location (although not easy to find), wonderful decor (details!!), spotless, great terrace, hospitable owners. There's really not much to say apart from: when in Fes, stay at this place! Cathie, Elodie and Michel even helped us out with some advise on where to stay in the following days of our trip (Ouarzazate, Marrakesh) - they really have some good and realiable suggestions (Dar el Nath in Ouarzazate and Riad Dalla Santa in Marrakesh), plus they made a reservation for us, arranged a car rental in the following city, etc... Very helpful hosts and once again - an amazing riad!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor is next to a terrace + has a lot of daylight (considering the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajaK_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your message, your photos and all your kindnesses !

See you soon again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#6 of 100 in Fes
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#7 of 100 in Fes
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 217 in Fes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Bali

Address: 46, Derb Tadlaa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar el Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and discover the beauty of this house built in 1905.House restored according to fassie tradition. Five bedrooms or suites.Maroccan living room.For your comfort, warm and cold air conditioning in each bedroom, additional heating and hair dryer in bathrooms.Terace and solarium.Moroccan breakfast, wich is included in the price, contains bread, cheese, pancakes, and homemade jam.Our cook will prepare traditional meals,depending on the market products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar el Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing