We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended, very helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar el Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar el Bali
Ranked #12 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our baby Fox. It's a beautiful place, tastefully decorated and the owners are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Really appreciated their patient help with some ambitious travel plans on from Fes. We were helped with our bags on arrival and dropped at the train station on departure. Highly recommended! Also recommend Clock Café for lunch.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FightingPrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your message !
We hope that your stay in Morocco took place well.
Do not hesitate to come to see us next time with your adorable and cute little boy Fox.
Bye !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    30
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
114
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel: Wonderfully renovated inner-city house. Beautifully renovated wood carvings. Roof terraces with a great view of the city. Very nice room with a lot of charme. Very clean, big bathroom.

Service: Excellent. The owners came to pick us up when we arrived. Very personal, friendly and helpful in all matters, e.g., they helped us to plan our future journey, book hotels, recommended nice cafes etc. Wonderful breakfast.

Location: Perfect for seeing the medina. Relatively easy to find. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Room "Arabesque" is on the ground floor. The room is large, friendly, beautiful, clean. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are delighted to learn that your travel in Morocco and in Fes passed well.
A pleasure to help you in your researches, we are for that there.
Do not hesitate to return to Fes !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

good location well cared-for with respect to tradition sophistication in details clean & spacious rooms/place memorable hospitality & friendliness.

some people can find it a little expensive, but if you can afford it, it's money worth spent.

Evi and Kostas from Athens Hellas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your memorable message.
We are happy to have welcomed you in our house as first Greek customers !
Thanks to you to have chosen our house as your stay.
See you soon for your second passage in Fes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Dar El Bali in the beginning of January for two nights. The riad is run a by a very nice and welcoming family and is very well located in the Medina of Fes. If you are arriving by car (as we did), you can conveniently park nearby. Our hosts had organized a parking solution before our arrival to make sure we would not have any problems. This was very appreciated. We booked the Chefchaouen room, very nicely decorated and spacious, and with windows, which can be a plus if you are not a fan of the traditional riad room with windows only on the patio. We left with a very pleasant memory of the place, received very good tips by our hosts on food, what to visit in Fez and elsewhere in Morocco. They successfully manage to provide a "home" feeling to their guests while remaining discreet, with little extra touches such as the possibility to borrow DVDs or to take the time to share a glass of wine with you and go through maps and guidebooks to plan the next steps in your trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your impressions and your comment on our house, which assures the link between Dar el Bali and you.

We hope that the continuationof your travel in Morocco passed well and that you keep for pleasant memory of this country.

Thank you for your confidence and for a next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are an italian couple and we've been in Riad Felloussia in the first week of December for one night.
The Dar is managed by a couple of 2 Belgans, for first one of them brought us directly from the square to the Dar, then they called a guide that showed us the medina of Fez.
When we arrived we've found a really nice place, the room was clean, large and in true Morocco's style!I love the furniture of this Dar!
The owners and their daughter were very kind and helpful, they brought us to the bus station for buy tickets and the day after at 6 AM brought us again to the station to get bus!
The dinner was cooked by the daughter of the owners and very good!!
They stay with us for the rest of the evening and we could understand how they love Morocco,
so if you want to share the joy of being in Morocco, go to Dar el Bali!Excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you infinitely for your contribution via Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure to share these moments with you and we are happy to know that your stay in Fes and to Dar el Bali stays a good memory for you.
We are happy to share with our customers our experienceand our love for Morocco. Goodbye and Thank you very much for you kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very decent hosts. Excellent hospitality. It is a once in lifetime experience. Highly recommended. The Raid seems to have been lovingly restored with very good taste. Our French and Arabic was basic which can be a disadvantage in Morocco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your contribution via Tripadvisor.
Thank you for having chosen our house for you travel.
Thank you for your kindness. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

dar el bali is like an oasis in the chaos of the medina. the rooms are charming with plenty of detail and character. the staff was exceptionally hospitable and helped make the stay really memorable. it's a fairly small, intimate property that allows for a nice, quiet escape after a day's worth of adventure. cat lovers will enjoy the presence of an adorable "princess" cat (and the owners are conscientious of its whereabouts). wifi signal in the room was inconsistent, but plenty strong in the common areas. but who needs to surf the internet while in fes, anyway! book with full confidence and be excited about staying at this place!

Room Tip: the arabesque room was great! it's on the main floor next to the inner courtyard, but was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your opinion Tripadvisor, one thank you for your compliments on the house, the service and the staff.
We are happy to learn that you keep an excellent memory of your passage in Fes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#10 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#7 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Bali

Property: Dar el Bali
Address: 46, Derb Tadlaa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar el Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and discover the beauty of this house built in 1905.House restored according to fassie tradition. Five bedrooms or suites.Maroccan living room.For your comfort, warm and cold air conditioning in each bedroom, additional heating and hair dryer in bathrooms.Terace and solarium.Moroccan breakfast, wich is included in the price, contains bread, cheese, pancakes, and homemade jam.Our cook will prepare traditional meals,depending on the market products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Dar el Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing