We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and luxurious hotel looking over the Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Palais Farah is on a hill just above the main part of the Medina, built into a part of the wall. The rooms are exquisitely finished. Our room for three was a suite with a large living room. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Nasser was extremely welcoming but also realised that arriving late after a long drive we wanted to get settled in quickly. The restaurant has a fabulous view, but not that it only has around 10 tables on the open air terrace, so it is worth reserving. The pool is beautiful and good size, but the mosaic tiles are rather sharp and cut my son's fingers. I am pleased we took this option rather than staying in the Medina itself, in fact, we met a couple of refugees from the Medina to the calm and comfort of the hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect some rooms might be a little further from the nearby mosque and hence from the 5 o'clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 730 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Seated atop a hill and just outside the Medina wall this Hotel has a regal entry into a parking and garden area that has a magnificent view of the city, one of several delightful spaces to sit daytime but particularly in the evening for a superb view. We were surprised that not more guests did so. The lobby is generous and adjacent to a lovely inner courtyard, both with comfortable seating spaces. We stayed at Palais Faraj while attending the Fes International Festival of Sacred Music this year. The hotel supports this Festival and has complementary transportation to the main event at Bab Makina. One can obtain tickets for the Festival at the hotel, a great help. The building is just magnificent, with comparable rooms, which have all the modern facilities and separate sleeping, bathroom and living areas, most generous spaces. Our room had a bathtub with a low hand shower, which we had to learn to use. We would have chosen a room with a more conventional shower. There was a small balcony which we used for room service, and it was lovely. Everything was immaculate.
The bed was extremely comfortable and all the furnishings were very tastefully done. The pool was nice, quiet and well located. The staff was very helpful, eager to assist, particularly the servers at the restaurant and the room service personnel. The restaurant, at the top of the building was reached by an small elevator, and the breakfast area in particular had a great view together with an adjoining open outside area. The breakfast buffet was ample, offered healthy choices and was most satisfying. We had dinner at the restaurant and found it very tasteful. Taxis were plentiful just outside the hotel. We were able to walk to the Medina without difficulty, but further locations required a taxi, an easy ride. In summary, the Palais Faraj provided us with a tranquil rest after the busy visiting of the Medina and the many concerts of the Festival. It was a place of calm, gracious lodging in a most comfortable up to date and spacious setting.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a shower head that can stand above you if that is what you are used to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Enrique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Ideally located at the top of the Medina. The facilities are excellent, very clean, and retaining the character of the original palace.
The hotel is a bit far from the sites and a taxi is needed to go to most places, although they are relatively easy to catch

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatima Zahra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We took a family vacation to Fes and decided to stay here. The hotel, in our opinion was the best the city has to offer! Beautiful architecture and great, helpful and caring staff! Not to mention the roof top dining is superb with a great view. Definite recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at Palais Faraj on business. the hotel is well located outside the old city walls -- so it's quiet and peaceful, which is key after spending a day walking around the medina.
The rooms are really beautifully decorated in Moroccan style and spacious; mine overlooked the swimming pool area, but I'm sure there are rooms with views of the medina. Speaking of views - the restaurant and bar on the top floor offer spectacular views of the city - so I enjoyed wonderful breakfasts and dinners on the terrace.
the spa is good - I had a very good hammam. The staff were friendly but often had to speak French to make myself understood. The wifi connection (crucial when on business) was also good - -so overall I loved my stay the Faraj. It's definitely one I would go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gisella81london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After a disastrous experience staying at a Riad in the Medina it was an absolute delight to walk through the doors of the Palais Faraj! We had spent a sleepless night in the Medina in Fes and just wanted somewhere clean, safe and secure! Palais Faraj offers that and lots more From the friendly professional greeting in reception to the well appointed rooms with complementary soft drinks in the fridge, amazingly comfortable beds and pillows and a room with a view over the fabulous pool. Drinks on the rooftop terrace in the evening followed by dinner in the restaurant with views over the Medina. Breakfast was amazing, and very expansive with even a choice of cooked eggs - all included in the room rate.
Palais Faraj was €40 per room more expe since than the Riad - well worth the extra Euros.
We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good, there is a lift so all floors are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMF1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can't say enough about our experience at this hotel. Our room was great with two bathrooms and a separate sitting room (ideal for putting a child that is 18 months old, so that you can sleep). The roof top bar and restaurant provide an amazing view of the city. The spa was specular (just what the 'doctor' order after a couple long days on the road). The staff and management make your stay memorial and they are very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#14 of 100 in Fes
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda | à côté de BAB ZIAT, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $192 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing