We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“quiet luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quiet luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Away from the tumult, Palais Faraj sits alone. It has a wonderful staff and a multitude of beautifully appointed nooks where one can sit and relax after day of sightseeing. Our duplex suite was amazing and worth the price. Hotel is appropriate for those who appreciate luxury and don't require to be in the midst of everything. Lovely pool area. A chance to see how palais living once was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    50
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
262
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
298 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had been touring Morocco for almost three weeks and decided we need a little bit of luxury - and we were not disappointed with our 3 night stay!

Wonderful meet and greet at reception, shown to room (upgraded) and then tour of the hotel's great facilities.

Beautiful pool area (but get there early for a lounge), great restaraunt on upper terrace and wonderful breakfasts.

The room we had (#19) was amazing - separate dressing
room, 2 toilets, massive lounge room, huge bedroom with lovely bed and great ensuite. We loved it all - especially the little extras like the delivery of fresh fruit and free mini bar.

All up 3 great nights, 2 wonderful dinners (wished we had stayed in for our 3rd one too) and a great base from which to explore the Fes Medina and all it has to offer. Could not recommend more highly if you want a little Moroccan indulgence!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Palais Faraj in Fez is a Paradise. The quality of service is excellent. The food is perfect. The place is extremely calm, cool and beautiful. We adored our stay there and will come back for sure as soon as possible. Everything was just PERFECT.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on Borj Sud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location and stylish Moroccan Riad. It had a real sense of elegance and impact when you arrived - us at about 1930 at night. I wanted this place to be great but it let itself down, overly complicated checkin process for people who clearly just want to get to their room after a day in 40+ degree heat, the rooms air conditioning had not been turned on so the room was really hot for the first night ( the air con was only in the lounge so took a while to cool the bedroom). Lovely restaurant on the rooftop. Had high expectations which were not quite met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpe156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are really grateful to our friends who recommended us this nice palace .the staff was very professional friendly and warm !! Always at our disposal with a large smile .
A Perfect location to discover authentic Fassis heritage and historical treasures . We enjoyed every day the haute Moroccan cuisine .we spent 5 days at this palace and we almost had every day our dinner at the hotel restaurant called the terrace . The view was magnificent !!!
Just want to thank all the staff there . We had memorable vacations

Room Tip: We had the vizir suite !!! a very nice view on the pool ! Very well equipped and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel, with typical Moroccan decor of Riads, has an elevator, very accessible by car. Close to Medina and new town. Little lonely at night, only 27 rooms. It was not at full occupancy during Ramadan. The service was good, everyone is genuinely trying to make your stay comfortable. The staff mostly speak French. But we were able to manage with English.

If you are looking for traditional setting for your stay, I would recommend it. The facility is very new.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is pretty unfair to rate this hotel with anything below excellent. But it's the time when anyone can say anything about everybody. So we were looking forward staying in this hotel as we wanted best as possible on our last stage of honeymoon. And we've got it. At the end our expectations were very much exceeded. Yes it is a five star hotel with all amenities that you usually get. It has great location, overlooking and outside of the medina (just on the wall of it) so you can walk around feeling completely safe and without feeling being locked up in your hotel after sunset. During the day you can wander around medina on foot since first entrance is just around the corner. Hotel is a marvelous piece of architecture and interior design it has great combination of traditional Moroccan and contemporary style. But all this is you get very often in every other five star hotel - great location, very well build and designed building, nice spacious rooms and good breakfast. But what is great about this hotel is service and warm hospitality. Shortly after booking we got e-mail with transfer offer and instructions how to get there if going by yourself. When we get there beautiful entrance with palm trees in front and nice scent air inside welcomed us. On the reception Mr Nacer greet us and told us that we will feel like at home. And that was true. He is one of the best people I've meet that works in tourism and I work as a tourist professional as well. He is great, informative, pleasant, kind and highly professional who took us for a hotel tour after check-in. Since they had available room and it was our honeymoon they upgraded us for better room. We settled in our room which was by the way spacious, superb apartment with separate shower and bath, two separate toilets and did I tell it was huge? Very well maintained, neat and clean (important for Morocco), spotless, twice a daily visited by cleaning staff. You get free minibar beverages and nice view of old medina. After an hour or so we've got a surprise - it was a cake for our honeymoon! We were already frenetic. On the top floor there is a hotel restaurant with a beautiful view over medina with really excellent food and price that goes along, with general manager keeping an eye on the guests, staff and taking care for everything needed. Breakfast was very good with top quality food selection. Breakfast staff had stone faces when we were waited every day for them to set up everything but we were in the middle of Ramadan so we respect that and at the end we weren't in a hurry - it was our vacation! Since Fes lacks of seaside Palais Faraj gives you very nice and clean pool and most beautiful experience was sitting in a hotel atrium-foyer after exhausting sightseeing, cooling down, listening muezzin call to prayer from nearby mosque while sipping mint tea. So all in all this hotel has everything that goes along with 5 star but it has so much more. And it is in all those "small" things that hotel staff did for us which gives you feeling that they take care for you throughout your whole stay. Lady at the reception (so sorry that we didn't remember her name) even ran one day to the pharmacy because of the language barrier and bought us medications, without us leaving the room.
Everyone can find something to complaint about like white tiles on floors don't match my sneakers or staff member that brings you coffe in the morning is not fluent in english but this is Morocco, the best hotel in Fes and wider, it has great architecture, design, superb furniture, superb cleanliness, spacious rooms, excellent food, great pool but more important hard working managerial staff. They will do anything to feel you welcomed and like home. This is what I don't experience very often in other hotels and this is true five star attitude in given circumstances. It is definitely the best choice for our honeymoon that we could make.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyblueeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 93 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Property: Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing