We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding vacations at the palais farej”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“Outstanding vacations at the palais farej”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are really grateful to our friends who recommended us this nice palace .the staff was very professional friendly and warm !! Always at our disposal with a large smile .
A Perfect location to discover authentic Fassis heritage and historical treasures . We enjoyed every day the haute Moroccan cuisine .we spent 5 days at this palace and we almost had every day our dinner at the hotel restaurant called the terrace . The view was magnificent !!!
Just want to thank all the staff there . We had memorable vacations

Room Tip: We had the vizir suite !!! a very nice view on the pool ! Very well equipped and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    63
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
304
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel, with typical Moroccan decor of Riads, has an elevator, very accessible by car. Close to Medina and new town. Little lonely at night, only 27 rooms. It was not at full occupancy during Ramadan. The service was good, everyone is genuinely trying to make your stay comfortable. The staff mostly speak French. But we were able to manage with English.

If you are looking for traditional setting for your stay, I would recommend it. The facility is very new.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is pretty unfair to rate this hotel with anything below excellent. But it's the time when anyone can say anything about everybody. So we were looking forward staying in this hotel as we wanted best as possible on our last stage of honeymoon. And we've got it. At the end our expectations were very much exceeded. Yes it is a five star hotel with all amenities that you usually get. It has great location, overlooking and outside of the medina (just on the wall of it) so you can walk around feeling completely safe and without feeling being locked up in your hotel after sunset. During the day you can wander around medina on foot since first entrance is just around the corner. Hotel is a marvelous piece of architecture and interior design it has great combination of traditional Moroccan and contemporary style. But all this is you get very often in every other five star hotel - great location, very well build and designed building, nice spacious rooms and good breakfast. But what is great about this hotel is service and warm hospitality. Shortly after booking we got e-mail with transfer offer and instructions how to get there if going by yourself. When we get there beautiful entrance with palm trees in front and nice scent air inside welcomed us. On the reception Mr Nacer greet us and told us that we will feel like at home. And that was true. He is one of the best people I've meet that works in tourism and I work as a tourist professional as well. He is great, informative, pleasant, kind and highly professional who took us for a hotel tour after check-in. Since they had available room and it was our honeymoon they upgraded us for better room. We settled in our room which was by the way spacious, superb apartment with separate shower and bath, two separate toilets and did I tell it was huge? Very well maintained, neat and clean (important for Morocco), spotless, twice a daily visited by cleaning staff. You get free minibar beverages and nice view of old medina. After an hour or so we've got a surprise - it was a cake for our honeymoon! We were already frenetic. On the top floor there is a hotel restaurant with a beautiful view over medina with really excellent food and price that goes along, with general manager keeping an eye on the guests, staff and taking care for everything needed. Breakfast was very good with top quality food selection. Breakfast staff had stone faces when we were waited every day for them to set up everything but we were in the middle of Ramadan so we respect that and at the end we weren't in a hurry - it was our vacation! Since Fes lacks of seaside Palais Faraj gives you very nice and clean pool and most beautiful experience was sitting in a hotel atrium-foyer after exhausting sightseeing, cooling down, listening muezzin call to prayer from nearby mosque while sipping mint tea. So all in all this hotel has everything that goes along with 5 star but it has so much more. And it is in all those "small" things that hotel staff did for us which gives you feeling that they take care for you throughout your whole stay. Lady at the reception (so sorry that we didn't remember her name) even ran one day to the pharmacy because of the language barrier and bought us medications, without us leaving the room.
Everyone can find something to complaint about like white tiles on floors don't match my sneakers or staff member that brings you coffe in the morning is not fluent in english but this is Morocco, the best hotel in Fes and wider, it has great architecture, design, superb furniture, superb cleanliness, spacious rooms, excellent food, great pool but more important hard working managerial staff. They will do anything to feel you welcomed and like home. This is what I don't experience very often in other hotels and this is true five star attitude in given circumstances. It is definitely the best choice for our honeymoon that we could make.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyblueeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Palais Faraj has an excellent location that allows easy access to the historical town of Fez. Once arriving at the hotel,I had a very great welcome in the reception and I was recognized as repeated guest. the charming welcome was as warm as I expected. the authenticity of moroccan hospitality is perfectly reflected in this hotel. the breakfast was very good during my stay and the pool is clean and roomy .It is the best hotel in fez in terms of service,ambiance,architecture,accessibility,food....I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've been in Palais Faraj Suites & Spa for 5 days and have had a great time, one of the best hotel ever seen with nice friendly people taking care of me until getting me to the room, rooms are quite big with a beautiful concept and decor including a perfect comfortable bed.
The Spa & Swimming pool is Excellent and you really feel a welfare by just entering them.
I will surely be back to this palace and suggest everyone to do so.

Special thanks for the personnel in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benabdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is stylish and presents as a traditional Moroccan palace. It is located on the edge of the medina. After being ignored when we arrived, our greeting was rushed and cold, with our questions unanswered. We had booked the junior suite for 3 nights, but it was more like a standard/superior room, quite stuffy, cluttered and very small. Breakfast was simple. Dinner was pricey by Moroccan standards, but the food was tasty and the restaurant staff were friendly, even though their English was limited. On my last day I had a facial and found the therapist to be very rough and am sorry I didn't notify the spa manager. I was not impressed by this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfaraj, Directeur général at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Madame,

We thank you for having chosen Palais Faraj for your stay in Fez.

We took note of your valuable observations and assure you that we’ll do our best to improve the reception service, especially the greeting at arrival.

We are also launching English training for our restaurant and spa teams.

We are surprised to see that you find the Junior suite a little bit small. Although it is the smallest unit in the hotel, it has an area of 40sqm.

Please accept our apologies and sincere regards; we hope we will be able to welcome you another time in the future.

M. Khaled Souli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Palais Faraj is well located just outside the Medina and within easy walking distance of all the attractions of Fez. Fez has many beautiful Riad hotels within the walls, but this choice was made due to the large swimming pool, plus the delights of a rooftop bar and restaurant.
Like many hotels in Morocco, the hotel offers a standard of interior design, service and space that would cost very much more in the UK. Room 22 was a large suite with full size sitting room, very large bed, dressing room and bathroom, decorated with traditional handmade moroccan tiles on floor and walls and a painted wooden ceiling. The room has a brilliant view over the medina, possibly the oldest walled mediaeval city in the arab world. The hotel also has a nearby mosque, as do most places in Morocco, and several others very nearby; the call to prayer is not synched so you are unlikely to need an early morning call.
We were welcomed to the hotel with tea and biscuits, and given a brief tour. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, some speak English but in Morocco it is a huge bonus if you can speak some French (unless of course you speak Arabic ). The hotel has a large swimming pool in a beautiful central courtyard, tiled in restful dark blue. Bizarrely there are no changing rooms so go down in the very nice gowns provided in your room.
The hotel will organise guides and trips out in taxis to wherever you want to go. A guide is a must for the first trip into the medina; even more of a labyrinth than that of Marrakech, you are extremely likely to get lost, hot and bothered without one until you have got your bearings. Be very strict about your level of interest in shopping and tell the guide what you want to see in advance. And tell them you dont want to go carpet shopping, unless you actually do. Another bonus of having a guide with you is that you wont get hassled by all the others who want to be your guide; don't underestimate the value of this.
The hotel has a rooftop restaurant, Les Amandier. The views are exceptional, the food is good but expensive for Morocco although similar to an averagely priced meal in the UK, around £30 a head. Very good Moroccan wines are made in the region. If you have been sightseeing all day, Les Amandier is an excellent way to spend the evening. The only slight irritation about the hotel is that the bar is enclosed; it has excellent views over the nightlit city and needs a terrace for evenings. Obviously in a Muslim city most bars will be in hotels, and this could be the best in town. Breakfasts are very good, taken in a tastefully decorated, air conditioned rooftop restaurant.
This is a luxurious hotel with a great pool, beautiful interiors and a good restaurant: recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Medina, as high up as possible. The hotel has three floors, the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Property: Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing