We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/30
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$367
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$44
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,299
$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$117
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
$86
$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
669
82
20
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
82
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelrooftop restaurantinternational menuambassador suiteturn down servicetrue palacefamily vacationold palacebreakfast staffsitting roomwould highly recommend this hotelfour seasonsmoroccan restauranttop floorthe hotel offersluxury hotelmoroccan palace
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 783 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Originally, we had booked into the Sofitel Palais as we had heard it was thee best and unmatched hotel experience in Fes..
However, when we arrived the lobby seemed a little dark and dingy. My son didn't like it at all as we had arrived from a a very new big bling bling hotel from another city. Even though the doorman was very sweet and showed him around, my son just didn't take to it, so the only other 5 star hotel in a similair price was Palais Faraj. We took a petite taxi there hoping he would settle down and approve.
We spontaneously walked into the hotel to be greeted very warmly by Nasser the hotel manager who pacified him and allowed us to choose our room.
Each and every corner of the hotel including our suite without a doubt is the epitome of aesthetics. The hotel has a very cosy riad type feel lots of beautiful cosy corners (library, bar etc..)
*The bed quality was divine with the finest bed sheets
*The bathroom was fantastic, even my hydrophobic son wanted to have a shower under the rainfall shower head
*The sitting area gorgeous overlooking the Patio
The detailing in the room the tiles, the cornicing, the granite, the furniture, the handicrafts were exquisite and unique.
*We ate at the restaurant every night (ranked 2nd best in Fes). Yes that too lived up to it's reputation.
*On the weekends the bar had live guitar singers singing to requested songs which wass very sweet of them.
*Service and friendliness factor from staff was appreciated.


Didn't try the Spa so can't comment.

The only negative would be the one previously cited, i.e. improved concierge service/ advice on getting a guide from the hotel or better shopping recommendations

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Palais Faraj on April 26-27 and loved it. We were in suite #21, which is gorgeous and huge (sitting room, walk-in closet/dressing area, massive bedroom, massive bathroom, good-sized terrace). The room was beautiful, decorated with traditional cedar/plaster/mosaics. We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies, both of which were delicious.

We drove from hotel to the souk, but it was a very manageble quick drive (less than 10 minutes). I'm not sure how accessible it is by foot.

If you are planning to stay here for several nights and want to have dinner somewhere other than the hotel, I'd suggest researching in advance and making reservations - unlike other cities, it's a bit more difficult in Fes to walk out of the hotel and find something to eat. That said, the restaurant at Palais Faraj is very good. The staff was fantastic and did a great job of making my husband's 30th birthday dinner very special. The restaurant on the top floor has a great view overlooking the medina. The decor inside is modern (matches the bar next door), but the food was more traditional (pastillas, tagines, etc.). If we had been in Fes for more than three nights, I would've explored another restaurant for a change of scenery - not because the food isn't up to par. Breakfast is served in another (bigger) restaurant. There is loads to choose from.

We did not use the spa facilities but have heard from others that it is top-notch. Our only constructive criticism about Palais Faraj is that the hallways are a bit dark - in the grand scheme of rating a hotel, this did not negatively impact our experience one bit.

Overall, we both would recommend Palais Faraj without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

As we passed through the arched gateway into the Palais Faraj we were a bit anxious after just checking out of a different five star that was a huge disappointment. Aha! Palais Faraj to the rescue. After entering the reception area and immediately being offered and enjoying a delightful Moroccan tea we were given a tour of the hotel and premises. The facility shows the attention of a superbly managed five star hotel. Everything from the reading library to the terrace cafe, the restaurants to the terrace bar are maintained and staffed professionally. We were and ready to relax. We were on the tail end of a long journey and needed a place that would provide us a nice atmosphere where we could kick back, read, sort through our pictures, enjoy the pool, enjoy the views from the many terraces and eat a well prepared lunch and dinner. We made two visits to the spa for enjoyable treatments with black sands and oils followed by a massage; what more do I have to say, we went twice! The staff are professional, attentive, and energetic. They are led by a superb individual, Mr. Mederic Fauchillle the General Manager. Many thanks for a fabulous stay in Fez.

Room Tip: If you book a massage I highly recommend you request the young lady who manages the facility if she's available. I have had massages all over the world and she is a noteworthy professional masseuse.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acruzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the Palais Faraj in Fes with a group of 10 people in November of 2012. The staff were professional at all times and courteous to my group. I needed some help behind the scenes with my group and hotel management was professional. The architectural details were amazing, food fabulous and plentiful, bar quiet and inviting. We stayed three days and loved every minute of our stay. Hotel is central to everything in historic Fes. Luxurious, inviting, welcoming, and perfect.

Room Tip: Many rooms are two stories. If you have trouble with stairs, then as for a single story room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Palais Faraj was lovingly restored by its current owner Mr. F. Driss in 2008 and the renovation is a labor of love. The architecture, exquisite tile work, chandeliers, hand woven rugs and attention to detail make it one of the best luxury experiences! The staff is attentive and the food in the restaurant is the best in Fes. Mederic Fauchillle the General Manager was everywhere making sure that all his guests were taken care of. Three master chefs in the kitchen prepare local cuisine and a must have is the Traditional Moroccan Fes salad which is an assortment of 9 salads exquisitely prepared. The spa and hamman are luxurious and fit for royalty. We visited the spa/hamman twice during our three night stay and found the staff to be well trained and extremely professional, our spa therapists were Raja and Sophie and they were great! Our suite had a terrace that overlooked the Medina and it was just breathtaking. Fes is an amazing city and this Riad elevated our experience over the top!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews