We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Fes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Lalla Kenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Lalla Kenza
Ranked #10 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Best Hostel in Fes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed in Dar Lalla Kenza for 3 nights, and it was perfect. The hostel was very clean and organized, and the service was excellent. Ben, the host, was very kind and had a great sense of humor. The inside of the hostel was BEAUTIFUL as it gave a true Moroccan atmosphere. We often went up to the terrace in the evening to soak in the Moroccan night and relax our tired feet. Every morning their was breakfast (delicious pastries, jam, coffee, and mint tea) waiting for us. If you're ever going to visit Fes, I highly recommend staying at the Dar Lalla Kenza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
34
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecinek, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great place! Very good location. Beautiful moroccan riad. Very clean. You can rest and relax on the terrace or in patio. Internet and computer free access. From there view over the old medina. Staff and Ben will take care of you! Highly recommend! :)

Room Tip: We had a double private room. One nite we spent downstairs, very nice, very morrocan, and second in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaczis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxed, beautiful stay in the medina look no further. Dar Lalla Kenza and the host, Ben offer a sanctuary from the hectic medina all at a good price.

Ben's hospitality is unmatched; we were offered mint tea in a gorgeous room when we first checked in. He showed us to our room (dorm style) which had it's own bathroom and shower. He also offered to help us to find places to eat and singlehandedly organized a trip to the Sahara.

Dar Lalla Kenza offers

- Free Breakfast, with heaps of pasties and bread with spreads. Fueling us for our long walks in the medina.

-OFFICIAL tour guide. The medina is a maze and the tour guide is very knowledgable and polite. He will go into detail about the history and culture of Fes, showing you mosques, madrasas, tomb of Idriss II, and the tanneries (which is impossible to find on your own). If you are unfamiliar with Islam or Moroccan culture, he will not be offended with any question you ask. He will take you to artisan shops, I bought a baby camel leather jacket dyed in the famous tanneries for a fraction of the price that I would have paid for a jacket of the same quality in the states.

-Daytrip to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss Zerhoun. Ben will help you plan your day trip to these must see places.

- Trips to the Sahara and other scenic places in Morocco. Again Ben is so helpful with planning your trip. He knows the time table of the buses and trains in his head and will make sure that any trip will fit your needs and comforts.

-Good WiFi: The WiFi at most places is only accessible on the first floor. But at Dar Lalla Kenza, my phone picked up the wifi at the top floor in the dorm room.

-Hookah and Mint Tea: At night relax on the roof (amazing view of the mountains and medina) with some nice tea and hubble bubble.

I've heard people complain about initially finding this place but if you follow Ben's directions it is easy to find. The hostel is located at the outskirts of the medina near R'cif square. This makes it easy to explore the medina by yourself because all throughout the medina are signs taking you to R'cif square.

The staircase in the directions has the word "hostel" painted on the wall. These are the steps you need to take, after that there are signs in the medina that will take you to the hostel. The walk through the medina is less than 1 minute.

Overall this place is a must if you plan to stay in Fes. The hospitality of the host, Ben and the overall atmosphere is unmatched. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Fes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed in Dar Lalla Kenza for 4 nights, such a great time! The place and the staff is friendly and easygoing, i went in Fés alone and in this hostel i never felt alone. You will feel the true moroccan atmosphere, and the view from the terrace it's amazing. If you are planning a trip to Fes, this is the right place. The mainly reason to come back to Fés for me it's to see Ben and Zara again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azaffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I don't want to sound snobbish, but we did book stay at the dar, yet the atmosphere and the approach of the host was very hostel like.
We were travelling with a child and on a tight schedule (as we want to do and see things, not hang out in the lobby) and were starting our day with an hour late breakfast. Our room was never cleaned during 4 days of stay, and in fact, there was no service whatsoever.
There was loud music played in the lobby until late hours, yet people were shouting at us when our two year old laughed loud at 8 in the morning.
Ben, the host, is a great and warm hearted guy, but I think he needs to understand that some people expect an appropriate service at the prices paid. It just didn't meet our expectations. Seems like having both types of accommodation under one roof (hostel and dar) does not work well...
Having said that, location is great and the views from the roof top simply stunning,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for two nights. I really enjoyed staying here. I went there alone, so I thought I would feel a bit sad in Fez. But the owner of this hostel was really nice person, his name is Ben. He is a very friendly and easy-going guy. When I was in a common room, he always talked to me. That's why I could enjoy a lot rather than feeling sad. I have never stayed at a nice hostel like here where owner is really friendly. If you would like to make great Morocco friends, you should definitely choose here to stay. The reason why I would like to visit Fez again is to see him again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZ5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great value for money - We stayed here two nights in the dorms and would recommend it for the price. On the second night the owner, a young friendly guy named Ben, made a big dinner party for everyone in the hostel - the food was really good genuine Moroccan cuisine and better than we had in a lot of restaurants.


We did have trouble finding the hostel so be warned if you are catching a taxi ask them to drop you off at the R'cif square and follow Ben's directions from there. We made the mistake of telling the taxi the hostel name and he left us on the opposite side of the medina - We were lost for 1.5 hours which made for a really tiring trip. If you do get lost dont ask locals just call Ben, at the hostel, and ask for directions.

Room Tip: Private rooms are meant to be really nice. We stayed in the dorm and it did smell a bit from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wazher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#65 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Zohor
Dar Zohor
#72 of 209 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#34 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Lalla Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla Kenza

Property: Dar Lalla Kenza
Address: 5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fes is the scientific capital and one of the four Moroccan imperial cities.It has been selected as the oldest World Heritage Site by UNESCO.Meet Fez and it's modest people.walk in its narrow alleys, against a backdrop of magnificent old buildings, where life on the streets of the medina, is like a kind of open-air museum offers .Dar Lalla Kenza is an old traditional house built around 150 years ago, and it had been restored lately by a Moroccan family in which you will be hosted as kings and queens.Riad Lalla Kenza presents to its guets a delicious Moroccan cuisine. all the food is homemade and ingredients are bought every morning fresh and clean. breakfast is served at the Panoramic terrace with a wonderful view over the rooftops of the old city of Fez.Take a look at guest house and book accommodation for your stay in Fez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dar Lalla Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing