We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina Fez”
Review of Dar Lalla Kenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Lalla Kenza
Ranked #16 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Medina Fez”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you arrive at medina Fez you're completely lost. At least I was. When we arrived at the hostel, we already knew that the family, who was running the hostel, were very nice. They gave us a map so we could find our way in medina Fez. During the days we got a lot of advice from the hostel. They gave us directions, got us a tour guide and food for the first day, when we were tired! The breakfast was nice to see and eat, the sweetness, the trade-mark of Fez!

This hostel definitely provides the necessities to enjoy Fez!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
34
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hostel is an old beautiful riad, with rooftop, terrace with nice view. Dorm room was good, with hot water at any time. It is located few minutes from Medina ( Old Center) . Staff is really friendly and helpfull. I felt great out there. Breakfast was served when i ask about it, so that I ate when I wanted for this. It was very comfortable. Overal it is a nice place to spend time in historical site of Fes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloLoco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay, especially if you want to experience Moroccan culture. The riad is located in the old Medina and its great location will be helpfull if you want to explore the old Medina! Ben, the owner of Dar Lalla Kenza is a great guy, and he will help you with whatever you need. He arranged all kinds of things for us, like a guide, which is nice because it safes you time! The breakfast is nice, especially if you like sweet things! You'll get mint tea and various pastries and French bread with honey, as well as olives. The terras is amazing, it's a place to relax from the hectic pace of the Medina. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean. We loved Morocco and especially fes, and we can't wait for summer to commence, since we will then be coming back to Morocco!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelosttravelgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Dar Lalla Kenza for several nights in January 2013 and really enjoyed my stay. The guesthouse/hostel is easy to find (if you follow online instructions) and is well signed posed when you get close.

The manager Ben is really helpful and friendly, the breakfast is great with a lot of variety plus the showers are perhaps the best in Morocco (well in this price range!)

There are 2 communal areas where you can meet other travellers and the building itself is beautiful and kept very clean. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathbeard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recommend this hostel 100%, Ben, the manager is very friendly and the hostel is very clean ( something that I did not expect it. I always stay in hostels and most of them are dirty) I was impressed with cleanness and the decor. Inside the hostel, it looks like you are in a palace!
For sure I will come back and stay there!

Room Tip: I really liked the top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We only planned to stay in Fez for 3 nights but then extended our stay because it is such a wonderful place, we couldn’t believe the beauty and atmosphere of this old family house when we came in after a very exhausting flight. The young business owner Ben and his amazing family made it a very personal and amazing experience. Sitting on the rooftop enjoying the great (!!!) food his mother prepared, looking over old Fez creates a very unique experience and a great start into the adventure of getting to know the country and its people.
We felt very welcome in the house and there was always someone we could turn to with questions or just to chat or learn new things about life in Morocco. Ben even managed to arrange a trip to the desert for us where we had a wonderful time and gave us valuable advice on how to continue our trip. THANK YOU BEN!!!!
On top of that we had a fantastic room that was huge (with table and couch..) very clean, nicely decorated and with a private bathroom and a shower that was always hot.
The breakfast was also very very yummy, with 3 different kinds of bread, cake, jam, coffee, tee, olives… (unbelievable for this price!)
We are very grateful for the time we got to spend with Ben, his friend Pedro and his very kind family. We will definitely come back soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Riad is a jewel. You walk through an ancient mud-colored passageway - and enter a marvel of tiles, lamps, Arabic archways, an old family home. To show us the way, Ben (the son and owner) emailed to pick us up at the train station right after my booking. That alone charmed me! Since the house was filled with travellers he offered to arrange a dinner party for all and hired local musicians with traditional instruments - accompanied with pastilla cooked by his mom. Splendid!
Ask Ben to arrange a tour with Ali, a friend + excellent guide.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs rooms with bath. A bit cooler but with a high ceiling and beautiful decoration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderLustig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#53 of 99 in Fes
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Lalla Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla Kenza

Property: Dar Lalla Kenza
Address: 5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener R'cif, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fes is the scientific capital and one of the four Moroccan imperial cities.It has been selected as the oldest World Heritage Site by UNESCO.Meet Fez and it's modest people.walk in its narrow alleys, against a backdrop of magnificent old buildings, where life on the streets of the medina, is like a kind of open-air museum offers .Dar Lalla Kenza is an old traditional house built around 150 years ago, and it had been restored lately by a Moroccan family in which you will be hosted as kings and queens.Riad Lalla Kenza presents to its guets a delicious Moroccan cuisine. all the food is homemade and ingredients are bought every morning fresh and clean. breakfast is served at the Panoramic terrace with a wonderful view over the rooftops of the old city of Fez.Take a look at guest house and book accommodation for your stay in Fez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dar Lalla Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing