We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Fes
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is modern, very nice and very well located. There is a shopping mall with Carrefour and a McDonald (the only one in town) just across the road. The hotel is located on a promenade with a fountain at one end and wide tree-lined pedestrian walkway in the middle. Very nice to take a stroll on the walkway which is also dotted with beautiful flowers. A number of good eateries around. We had Seafood Spanish Fried Rice at a little store 'Fish Snack' close to the hotel. At about 4.5 euros, it is the best palleta we had in Spain & Morocco. Breakfast at the hotel is average though. All in all, a great place to stay in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    179
    113
    35
    19
See reviews for
83
166
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel was good. Not so great and not poor at all. The service was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean. The location of this place is great. The breakfast at this hotel was nice, not a great deal of selections but its ok. I love this city. This is Morocco’s gem. This is a vibrant city. I would definitely go back to this city and I would stay at this hotel again. I really liked it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iDreemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After being in several hotels in Fes over a year now. Barcelo is by far the best located hotel next to the shopping mall with fast food chain restaurants and all other restaurants available on walking distance. Also taxi station in the corner if needed. Hotel staff was very costumer friendly orientated. I was surprised by the number of languages the staff can talk. Rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. Normally I have always pillow fights in hotels. But it seems Barcelo has a variety on the room for everyone. Other hotels I stayed in had life bands playing at the pool sides or inside which generated unpleasant noise after a days work.. I haven't heard any noise. Room made's are also very silent in the morning which enables extra morning sleeps! Hotel restaurant provides several meals including foreigner selections. Breakfast was also nice and maintained. ( as I always sleep in). Staff also seems to be friendly in providing new food on the buffet. To make this long story short. I already booked my room for my next visits this year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurocommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Located in the French area of Fez, this hotel is comfortable, clean and very western for those who like the creature comforts. The bistro food is average but if you are un adventurous it is adequate. Shops nearby for bottled water and banks for changing monies. Overall more than satisfactory for your stay in Fez. Very safe with good wifi.

Room Tip: Room 228 overlooking the pool. Can use the stairs. May need assistance with a wifi router for intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California (San Francisco Area)
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Barcelo Fex Medina is in nice, clean and convient/safe location. We stayed here for two nights with our tour group. The only problem we had as upon arrival, we couldn't get our room door open so I went back to reception and they send a bell boy back up with me and the problem was resolved (user error :-) ) All the staff was quite pleasant and efficient. The only thing I found odd was that I was unable to mail my postcards from the hotel - but not a problem, they told me where a street drop box was that was close by. The hotel was in an upscale area and we ladies felt quite safe walking around. There was a small shop behind the hotel that sold postcards, maps, drinks, etc. I also noticed a public bus stop on the street right behind our hotel as well but didn't have time to investigate it. We were on the Tours Bus and tt was a 5-10 min ride to the old medina. We had dinner in a family run hotel/resturant that evening it was home made and delicious. From the outside, you would never find it and looked awful but once you entered it ws clean, beautiful with vaulted ceilings, moroccan tiles - amazing. They had a guide meet us on a main street and walked a block to/from the resturant (Resturant Dar Hatim (S.A.R.i) email: darhatim@gmail.com (no website). I would not go into the medina at night by ourselves. Walking out of the medina our group (34 people) was approached by a few children that were looking to either pick pocket & beg. Our tour group consisted of older adults but were well travel so passed the word and watched out for each other and got back to the bus without incident.

Hotel rooms were clean, quiet, and beds were comfortable. We had a street view but you could not hear any noise in the room - so good windows! Free wi-fi, mini-bar/refigerator, In-room safe, hair dryer, seprate small room for toilet which was great because we were friends so one can be getting ready why the other was on the toilet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very well located hotel near a mall and Carrefour where you can buy water and other necessities. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms are large, missing soap and other amenities. Wi-Fi was poor, we had water leaks in the bathroom, auxiliary shaving mirror was missing screws to hold it in place, bar attached to wall where mirror was located was almost falling down. Small details but unacceptable for this beautiful hotel. Most Barceló hotels are excellent.
Breakfast was not good as expected. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops within blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterbach, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upscale hotel in a great location in the new town. Reasonably priced. Bed was huge and the hotel was clean. Staff was friendly and multilingual.

Water pressure for the shower was a bit weak but the temperature was fine. Wifi signal in my room was a bit weak so I had to walk into the hall to use Skype.

Didn't try the food or pool (though the pool looked nice).

They do have a shuttle to Fes Airport, but it is a bit on the expensive side. That being said, not having to deal with taxis in Morocco is always nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#42 of 96 in Fes
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#38 of 96 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#32 of 96 in Fes
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#49 of 96 in Fes
3.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#66 of 96 in Fes
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Property: Barcelo Fes Medina
Address: 53 Boulevard Hassan II, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing