We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Fizz in Fez” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Fes
University Park, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Fizz in Fez”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

When you are tired of the hubbub that is Morocco, in Fez, the Barceló Fes Medina Hotel is a welcome respite. They had a lovely pool with attentive waiters and bartenders who knew how to make great drinks and provide good service. It was so relaxing and revitalizing--really helped prepare for the next day's adventures!

Room Tip: Not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    197
    122
    38
    21
See reviews for
88
178
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great position and quite close to a shopping Mall and a few western restaurants (Pizza Hut, Macs, Burger King).
Hotel is quite modern.
Rooms are adequate, but no tea/coffee making facilities.
Floors are tiled and my bedroom looked as though the floor had never been cleaned. To justify this claim, just after arriving, I spilt something on the floor and got a tissue to clean it up. After a few wipes, the tissue was black with muck!
Breakfast was ok but the staff were aweful. I asked one to clean my table before she laid it so she got a napkin, wiped the table, then threw the napkin on the floor. Talk about service with a smile!
With some staff training, and an efficient cleaning service, this hotel would be a lot better.
There is a small pool just off the main lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of Gate 1 travel, hotel was ok. Room was standard, and bathroom was average. A/C was working perfectly!! Pluses are it is centrally located and restaurant offered pretty good breakfast. Downside - staff not as friendly, tried to call the front desk to inquire about something, placed me on hold for a long time, tried to call again, same thing happened. Need to have another wastebasket in the room ( the only one was in the bathroom)!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Barcelo Fes Medina hotel is clearly a property with more ambitious aspirations than it is able to deliver. Whether it is a work in progress or a simply stuck in its current mediocrity remains to be seen.It has a superb location and well designed lobby and nice enough contemporary rooms but does not have the infrastructure or staff to support the hotel to the level that one expects from a Barcelo property.We were travelling with a group and as luck would have it when rooms were assigned we were given what on first glance was a truly superb suite. After the reduced size of our previous accommodations, in Casablanca and Rabat, that was a luxury not to be easily dismissed by other short comings of the hotel. Unfortunately in the end the additional space just became more floor for the flooded shower to occupy.The bed however was lovely and the linens the finest of our Moroccan experience. The selection and quality of the pillows was terrific.The bar, located off the lobby, initially seemed quite engaging but the service was sporadic and the selection of options, particularly soft drinks, was erratic.We enjoyed a few glasses of outrageously expensive Moroccan wine and our friends seemed to like a nationally produced beer.The real problem however was the restaurant. It served quite possibly the worst buffet I have experienced. There was pasta but no sauce, chicken with significant amounts of bone and skin but almost no meat, dishes that appeared early in the serving but were not replaced when they ran out. If you arrived towards the end of the serving time, breakfast or dinner, there was quite likely almost nothing left and no effort made to accommodate you. This food was so unsatisfactory that even though both breakfast and dinner were paid for as part of our tour many of our group found local fast food instead.The pool, promoted so prominently in the hotel advertising, was cracked and dirty. Requests for a pool towel went unheeded and finally I went into the pool shed and rooted through shelves to find a towel. I couldn't bring my towel from my room as it was needed for the shower flood.The snack bar at the pool was not ever staffed during our stay. We had two nights in this location and I was saddened to see a property that has so much promise in so many ways provide such lack luster and substandard accommodation.

Room Tip: If you can book a suite it is probably worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
973 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of things. Many restaurants and a mall within walking distance. The hotel is very average with basic rooms. After checking in we found that the electric sockets and hair dryer were not working. They sent someone to fix it right away. When we asked for additional towels, they never came. The staff at the front desk spoke very basic English and would get frustrated if you ask questions. The pool is a little run down with missing tiles and the water was very cold.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area.

The staff are very kind. Always smiling and attending to your needs.

The rooms are very nice and comfortable.

The breakfast and dinner are very good.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elif1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I came to Fès with my family and we really enjoyed a lot. The staff fantastic, we had many doubts about the city and the things to do and the lady in the reception recomended us many things to do. We had a fantastic evening at the spa, a little small but very nicely decorated. The restaurant food could be better, but the waiters were very nice so we left very happy.

¡Absolutely a hotel I will recomend!

Room Tip: You should ask for the rooms view Medina, great views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyfer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#46 of 98 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#31 of 98 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#52 of 98 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#34 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#77 of 98 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Property: Barcelo Fes Medina
Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Barcelo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing