We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Very Good--Peculiar Showers”
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms (and AC that worked really well, much to my wife's chagrin!). It's in a good location and has a very acceptable restaurant.

It also has peculiar showers.

The shower pan is sloped so that at the end that's away from the shower head it is level with the floor. It has a European style shower which took me a little while to get used to. Anyhow, if you stay in the shower for very long with the water running, it overflows from the shower pan and leaks way out into the bedroom. We thought there was something wrong, but when the technician came up to examine it, he said it was a design flaw and all the showers in the hotel were like this. So we simply confined ourselves to rinse-soap-rinse showers for the duration of the trip.

Otherwise the place was very good. I had a real, honest-to-goodness USA-style hamburger for dinner one night with some of the best French Fries I 've ever had. I know, I should have been "eating native", but I was getting a little tired of tanjines.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 652 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed there one night on the way to Marrakesh. The place was good and very clean and the stuff helpful, although sometimes not very comfortable with too many questions and requests. We booked a double room and we found a twin; they changed it to a double immediately. Breakfast was overpriced and we had instead breakfast in the local cafes opposite the hotel. They could improve a bit with the provision of maps etc. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view of the new city. Taxis did not seem to know where it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour on a half board basis. Room minimalist no tea or coffee facilities nor tissues for ladies make up in bathroom. Room service expensive. Reception had no money changing facilities and told us banks opened at 9.00 am when in fact they opened at 8.15 am. Breakfast very poor and if you came down late hot food was cold. Breakfast juices so watered down as to be tasteless. No tea unless you asked for it. Evening meal was terrible. Soup was tasteless even after heavily salt and peppering. Avoid at all costs. Dishwater from kitchen would have been tastier. Free wifi but no concession made with keyboards on computers. Arabic keyboards or another with Latin alphabet but impossible to use as simple things like @ sign possible to find. For an alleged 4 star hotel a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is smart and modern, with a light and airy reception and lobby area. The rooms are a good size with large beds ( 2 pushed together) adequate bathroom and fairly efficient air conditioning. What really let's this place down is the service. Housekeeping is sloppy, replenishing of shower gel etc hit and with grey, thin and frayed towels. We had an issue with the toilet,,which was not fixed whilst we were out for the day, necessitating a further discussion with a dismissive reception manager. Eventually the toilet was fixed but the bathroom left dirty afterwards. Safe deposit did not work and was never fixed during our stay.Standard breakfast with watered down juices and no fresh fruit. Bar staff try their best but are clearly not well trained.

This hotel purports to be a 4 star international hotel. It is not and could and should do much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a new hotel and they could do so much more with it.
Its a nice hotel, but some basic things are missing. No conditioner in the room, no iron in the room, not garbage can in the room. These things are basics at a hotel.
In order to qualify as an upscale hotel - they need to add things like robes.
The other downside to this hotel was the rock hard beds! What is it with Barcelo resorts and hard beds?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahmed9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were disappointed with the basic room and facilities offered at this hotel. Food quality was poor and bar prices high in comparison with other hotels we stayed at in Morocco on this trip.
This was "travelodge" standard but pretends to be 4 star. Good location with some restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent a weekend in this hotel , the location is pefect , in the city center , the medina and its attractions is 10 min away. The hotel is new , the furniture is good, the staff was welcoming and helpful. the only (-) is that we had to pay extra fro the parking
I strongly recommend a stay here for a weekend to explore fes , or business . it's a very good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sla34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#45 of 100 in Fes
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#17 of 100 in Fes
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#61 of 100 in Fes
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $65 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing