We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tasteful and clean hotel”
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This seems to be the only hotel outside the Medina where one can actually stay. We looked at two other hotels before we found the Barcelo and were getting desperate. At first, we thought, the room was a bit expensive, but it was lovely decorated and seemed very clean, so we decided to take it anyway. This turned out to be a good decision, everything was working in the room (including the TV and the shower) and we had a great night sleep. Probably the best hotel we stayed in on our entire trip through Maroco (the most expensive as well though).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 670 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

The first day when I arrived to the lobby and checked in, I asked the receptionist for someone to help me out with my luggages, but the only thing he told me is that the person in charge to carry them was not there! So I did it for myself, but twice time going up to my room and then going down again for the rest. Shame on you Barcelo! The room was fine an clean. The breakfast not special at all. What I really didn't appreciate is that the staff don't smile and as well as the Spanish managers whom didn't find them present, just looking around without smiling. For me is terrible! Well, to summarize, lack of service and hospitality, lack of leadership and commitment from the Spanish staff, and lack of motivation!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Expert-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wether a member of the front office team, the cleaner or the maintenance worker every single staff member I encountered during my stay greeted me with a smile & asked how I was. The customer service at this property was phenomenal. The hotel facilities modern and some great areas to relax in the lobby. Food was fantastic although I didn't know what I was ordering most of the time as they did not have an English menu but that's half the fun! The lobby Internet was fast and easily accessed. The spa was great and had some very well trained friendly staff. Being a part of the tourism industry myself I guess I'm extra critical but I would hands down stay at the Barcelo Fes Medina again and have no qualms about recommending it to friends or clients..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chanelleheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A modern business hotel. Nearly everything OK. Wi-Fi primarly in the lobby and on some other places but not in all rooms. Nice breakfirst and dinner.
Good location, not to far from the Medina. One problem: the airconditioner was set for winter and did only deliver heat or nothing. So we had 26 degrees in the room even with an open window

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SM0EWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

despite high price, the hotel is really excellent, located in a good position. Breakfast is great: lot of choice, even espresso is ok!
Maybe because it is new, rooms are clean and tidy, the bath is large enough
We had a really nice staying there

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice and clean facilities. I found staff friendly and tried to help but sometimes a lack of expectations or miscommunication. Lobby internet was superb but rooms were another story. Some rooms lack of good internet coverage if you're trying to surf the web looking for different activities or sight seeing. Food is good as well as local restaurants. Relaxed environment and modern facilities giving you the feeling of clean and open spaces. Great location for tourism.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter than lower ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoniopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Better than average hotel but nothing outstanding, certainly not worthy of 5 star. Buffet breakfast was good as was dinner, the staff were not particularly helpful although the hotel is in a good location close to all of the sights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.4 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#55 of 100 in Fes
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#21 of 100 in Fes
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#43 of 100 in Fes
511 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
1.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $62 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Fès Medina hotel has been created as a haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. The hotel is situated within the Imperial City of Fez, Morocco's first imperial city, which has been declared a world heritage site by UNESCO. A brand new hotel that combines comfort and functionality which can be seen in its modern rooms decorated in a contemporary style with designer furniture. Barceló Fès Medina hotel has a 300 m² business centre, a health and beauty centre, a spa with a fantastic Hammam (Turkish bath), a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi connection and the magnificent international restaurant Azahar, where you can also sample a typical Moroccan dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing