We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Medina & Spa
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were part of a tour group and spent 2 nights at this hotel. We had a lovely, spacious, modern and clean room with a balcony overlooking the pool area.

A shopping centre was "just up the road" and this was very convenient.

I would be very happy to return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Public areas are attractive but that is as far as the hotel goes. The room was small and dark. we had problems with the lights, electrical sockets, hot water (or lack of it), room keys that failed and lifts that broke down. Staff and management were undertrained and inefficient at best and unconcerned and offensive at worst when asked to rectify problems. Do NOT use the laundry, they put creases down the seams of trousers. Breakfast was mediocre. The saving grace was the evening meal in the restaurant: this was a totally different scene, excellent food, well cooked and served by polite professional staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of morocco with Voyages Jules Verne.
The room key card was constantly failing which meant constant return trips to reception, along with many other guests on the tour.
We were having to conact housekeeping each evening for new towels and toiletries which had not been replaced.
The fire evacuation details were missing from the back of the door and if you left your room early or returned after dark there was no lighting on the landings or emergency lights,
If you ordered a bottle of the cheaper wines ( all the drinks were extremely expensive) you were told that wine was not available, then if you said not to bother ,miraculously, a bottle was found matching your original requested price.
The restaurant staff refused to accept credit cards only cash. then at checkout time, people were being accused of not paying their bills, fortunately we had an excellent tour guide who was familiar with the staffs tactics and very soon sorted the problem.
The staff appeared to be inexperienced, slipshod and untrained which ruins a potentially excellent hotel.
We reported our comments to Voyages Jules Verne on our return ,stating that we agreed with many other peoples comments on Trip Advisor, but the Customer Services man was dismissive of Trip Advisors comments and the people who write them, even though our opinions of this hotel matched those of many others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights during an escorted tour through Morocco. The location is good, there's a mall that is a short walk up the road with stores and a food court. It's a very nice looking hotel but the bar & restaurant are extremely expensive & overpriced. One day for lunch I had a salad with tuna and a beer and it cost me nearly $22. The beer was a small bottle, she brought the wrong one and wasn't really understanding me too well. Then when it was time to pay I gave her cash and she had to make change and she decided to take extra from the money I gave her and she said the extra was for her to make change. Needless to say, I didn't eat there again. It was very charming though, outside overlooking the pool. The pool is large and there is food/beverage service at the pool.

The rooms are very spacious and the king bed I had was very comfortable. There was a balcony overlooking the parking area. The room had a safe, mini-frig, hairdryer, no iron, no clock radio. The bed had one of those soft, thick comforter/sheets on it. I didn't notice a regular single sheet on the bed. You need to use your key card (or similar type card) to keep the electricity on. If you need to charge something while out of the room you will need to a room key card or some other type of card in the slot or the power will be shut off once you remove your card. I used my AAA card and it worked fine. The room does not have WIFI, it's free in the public areas but VERY slow - hit or miss really. There is one public PC in the looby and the connection was better.

The staff was cordial and friendly, not overwhelmingly helpful but did a good job. I was there 2 days and the money exchange had very little to exchange, they said they needed to go to the bank but the next day they didn't have any smaller bills or coins to give. It's very helpful to have coins while touring for tour guide tips & bathroom tips.

Breakfast was included, it was a very large room with basic offerings. The scrambled eggs were very runny and a bit spicy, they had cereals, yogurts, meats, cheeses, several types of croissants, pastries and some other Moroccan/European type hot tiems. It wasn't great but good enough. The coffee was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeytravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was at the hotel for an exhibition and the welcoming was good, the personal also, they put us in a good rooms, big and very clean but were missing some stuffs like the shampoo and the shower gel but when I asked for them, they were quick.
The only thing was the food and the breakfast which was not at the level of a 5* hotel.
in general it's a good hotel that I recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonidas23_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room adequate. Except when returned after day out no towels. Phoned reception, a girl with hardly any English did not know what we were on about when she came to the room. Head housekeeping arrived very apologetic and brought us towels and special toiletries. Breakfast very poor, cooked food cold, been hanging around too long. Service, well one person on duty. This hotel is situated not far from a main road and the noise at night if you have the door/window open is bad. The rooms at the back overlook air vents from kitchen and barking dogs not far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice room and a good pool but the food and service were really disappointing. Only one veg with main mean (squash) and suites were only tinned fruit. We ate early (having been warned in advance that food might run out) and had adequate meals except for the veg. but I did notice food was running out when we left. This is simply not good enough for a 'quality' hotel. The service was dreadful. A waiter even pushed my wife's arm out of the way when she had a fork of food heading towards her mouth so he could reach a used plate!

Room Tip: Rooms were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lebaron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#50 of 100 in Fes
670 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#21 of 100 in Fes
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#60 of 100 in Fes
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Arabesque
Riad Arabesque
#44 of 100 in Fes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Medina & Spa

Address: Avenue Allal El Fassi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $99 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Fes, next to the shopping center Borj Fez, the Palace has an outdoor pool and a snack bar with panoramic views of the Jbel Zallagh Hill and the ancient medina. It features a luxury spa center.The Palais Medina & Spa, immersed in an Andalusian garden of 5 hectares, offers rooms and spacious air-conditioned suites with breathtaking views of the medina or the gardens. They are all equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.Guests can enjoy international and Moroccan cuisine in one of the 3 restaurants of the hotel. There is also a piano bar and a nightclub.The hotel also offers spa Daniel Youth which offers a heated indoor pool and a range of beauty treatments. Enjoy a relaxing comfortably on the large terrace of Palais Medina overlooking the garden.The hotel is located between the historic town and the new town and 30 minutes drive from Fes International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing