We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention to detail and staff training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Medina & Spa
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs attention to detail and staff training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was looking forward to staying at this hotel and have been disappointed across the board with hotel service and attention to detail. Front desk workers are rude, do not show any caring about guest concerns, and do not pay attention to detail. Simple things like requesting a twin bed - non smoking room with two keys. Was checked into a room with one bed, one key. Had to go back to the desk and sort it out - got a new room but only one key - so had to return to desk again for second key. On the second day returned after touring to find no keys worked for the room. Desk staff tried to blame it on us having them close to cell phones which they were not ... then blamed housekeeping staff ... what's up with that? Restaurant service ... slow, again no attention to detail - offer soup but no bowls or spoons, bread basket empty had to ask twice to Some areas grubby. Very little English spoken by staff. Like I said over all little attention to detail and staff needs training from front desk to food and beverage servers!

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor - it is over the kitchen area and very noisy. But overall not well insulated and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralie0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    138
    91
    34
    30
See reviews for
87
154
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colmar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A nice hotel, but why are they already letting it fall apart??? Some lights didn't work, some areas grubby, poor service in the breakfast area, and, worst of all, wifi didn't work in the rooms! Shame.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsteph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall impression of the hotel is average. I stayed there for 2 nights during the business trip and for that purpose it was ok. Still I think it is overpriced and not at 5 star level.
The location is really good, close to the Medina what is the place you should visit of course. But I was surprised when asking the town map from the reception they did not have this. They suggested to take a taxi to the Medina although it was less than two kilometers away from the hotel. This is better option if you miss the map. But to my question if this is dangerous to stay in Medina during night when it is dark they said no, knowing that we missed the map. I have to say that we did not feel very secure out there.
The room was big in size but without a balcony, bed was comfortable.
There is no bathrobe in the room, from the toiletteries I had only shampoo, ordinary soap and body lotion. Not even shower gel, not speaking about sewing kit. There was no bottled drinking water in the room what is not nice if you arrive late in the evening.
Free WIFI did not work with my log in name, I had to use my colleague's .
We ate in Moroccan restaurant at the hotel one evening and it is many times more expensive of course than in town but felt more safe to us. It was interesting but not the best Maroccan cuisine experience during our stay. Still worth of trying.
Pool area was the best experience of the hotel. There can be shortage of pool towels, but all the rest was lovely and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask a room with balcony and with the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

After a morning in the smelly, filthy medina, it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel. Our room was a decent size and had a view of a nicely landscaped area. Beds were a little too firm and pillows a little too flat. Disappointed there was no iron. The pool and deck area are lovely. Lunch at LePool was slow but the sandwiches were very good. We had dinner at the hotel one night through the tour which was a very nice buffet (and I am not a fan of buffets) and we were able to eat out on the patio. Only disappointment was the American flag was hanging upside down. It took two tries to get it right. Can't rate the value as it was part of a tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Initial impressions of the hotel were very good. Bright. modern, newly built hotel set in it's own grounds just outside the old part of the city and within easy walking distance. However ....

Our room was very small and offered little in the way of comfort. Some of the party were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony but most of us had small uncomfortable rooms ... bit of a shame as we stayed here for 3 nights.

Breakfast ... the worst we had in our tour of Morocco
Restaurants ... avoid ... several in the group were convinced they were ill because they ate from the buffet at dinner ... some were confined to their rooms for the whole stay!
Hardly anyone eats in the restaurants ... the town is close at hand ... so as a result the service and quality of the food is awful ... avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony ... and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a grueling day in the Medina of Fes what a wonderful surprise to come to this immaculately clean and friendly hotel. I wish I would have cancelled my tour and just stayed there. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms sparkling clean and the pool and bar was paradise. Its the only hotel in Morocco that we had that got it all perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is away from it all. The lobby and decorations are beautiful and impressive. The staff were wonderful. There were two restaurants, both were good.
There was also a pool.
Definitely a hotel I would revisit. No down-side here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1.0 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#66 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Medina & Spa

Property: Palais Medina & Spa
Address: Avenue Allal El Fassi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Fes, next to the shopping center Borj Fez, the Palace has an outdoor pool and a snack bar with panoramic views of the Jbel Zallagh Hill and the ancient medina. It features a luxury spa center.The Palais Medina & Spa, immersed in an Andalusian garden of 5 hectares, offers rooms and spacious air-conditioned suites with breathtaking views of the medina or the gardens. They are all equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.Guests can enjoy international and Moroccan cuisine in one of the 3 restaurants of the hotel. There is also a piano bar and a nightclub.The hotel also offers spa Daniel Youth which offers a heated indoor pool and a range of beauty treatments. Enjoy a relaxing comfortably on the large terrace of Palais Medina overlooking the garden.The hotel is located between the historic town and the new town and 30 minutes drive from Fes International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing